We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
155
192
82
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
192
82
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssupply ear plugssteak pieparking permitthe pubmarket stallsnoisy at nightper daycentral car parka lot of noisean evening mealsunday roastopen firegreat central locationlight sleeperwould stay againate heretop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a traditional pub and hotel right in the centre of Keswick. Ideal spot to stay and/or eat if you're touring the lakes.

We weren't staying there, but we did enjoy a lovely lunch in their restaurant.
Excellent service and excellent food at a reasonable price.
Well-kept beer and cosy bar: we particularly appreciated the weather forecast print-outs on display on the bar. Very useful, as the weather can be changeable.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Y Bwchan

Thank you leaving a great review and for visiting the Kings Arms Hotel.

It’s nice to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and were looked after by our team. Thank you for highly recommended us on tripadvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to the
Kings Arms in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After reading some very good reviews on trip advisor we decided to dine at this establishment.
The hotel and decor of the place was excellent,however the food was very poor.
I chose the starter of a half rack of ribs with sweet chilli coating,I can only compare what came as to a dried pigs ear. Not one to complain I decided to soldier on hoping better was to come,unfortunately not. My main of gourmet burger and twice cooked chips came next. The chips were harder than nails.
My wife's meal was also poor the mash she received was flavourless and hard.
When paying for our meal I felt I had to tell the supervisor about this and was told that they were changing the menu soon (oh that's ok then) !! All the supervisor was interested in was waving the pdq machine in the air trying frantically to get the payment through.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iancarroll67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Ancarroll67

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit with us.

At the Kings Arms Hotel we are well known for our home-cooked food, we aim to use fresh local products to get the best taste and flavours from our meals, which we are praised for from one off and returning customers. I would like to apologise, that from reading your review, it appears our meals were not up to our usual standard.

I hope that you will not let this experience put you off visiting us again at the Kings Arms Hotel

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the refurbished Kings Arms ,one night only after a visit to Theatre by the Lake, a birthday treat for my husband. Hotel very smart and comfy, lovely toiletries, and the food is excellant, staff friendly,it was easter weekend so needless to say it was busy in the restaurant,but by no means full and this is where our stay wasnt so comfy , firstly our prebooked table for 5-30 wasnt ready, the service was rather erratic ; half an hour passed before our starter came, delicious, our main was also excellant,but we didnt have dessert as it was almost 7 so we were rather concerned about time limit for theatre, breakfast service was a bit disorganised too, again food fab, We would certainly return to Kings Arms , but we hope the staffing in dining room are better organised,.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the main street BUT no noise disturbance ,windows well glazed and lovely thick curtains no worries
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth A

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us. We take all reviews seriously and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch there today . We had steak pie which was served up in a traditional metal pie dish which was a great start. The pastry was light and buttery, but best if all , it was CHOCK full of Huge chunks of steak. Well done to the chef.Amazing .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rockchic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Rockchic91

Thank you for your great review. We love to hear our guests feedback and are please to hear that you were satisfied with your meals.

We are extremely lucky to have such a fantastic Head Chef and we hope to welcome you back time and time again to enjoy our delicious home-cooked food.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

we have been several times to the kings arms , the staff are fantastic rooms brilliant , the food well that just gets better and better.
we have recommended the Kings Arms to our friends and they too have been going back to the hotel.
Gary the manager is so approachable any problems and they are sorted , this is a fantastic place to stay look forward to staying there in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mickrunner

Thank you for a fantastic review and for recommending the Kings Arms Hotel to your friends. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you are planning on returning in a few weeks time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews