We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good overall stay,but not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights sat/sun in room 7. It was a very dark room as it had a very small window which overlook a bar and night club, hence the earplugs in the room.
We stayed with our dog and did read the website that said dog beds and water bowl provided.
good job we took out own ad there was nothing in the room unlike the Skiddaw which we have
stayed in with our dog.

I cant say I had much sleep over the weekend with the noise of the nigh club and the fact if you shut the window you couldn't breath every my dog was panting. I much prefer a quiet place but I do understand staying in the main street in Keswick would be noisy but I have to say the Skiddaw hotel next door was much better and cheaper.

Room Tip: not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay at the Kings Arms Hotel.

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t get the chance to make use of the dog bed and water bowl that we supply; these are given out to guests upon request, as not everyone would appreciate a dog bed and bowl in their room upon arrival. If this had been mentioned to a member of staff at the time of your stay, they would have happily supplied these items to you.

As the Kings Arms hotel is situated in the town centre, and being an historic building, noise can seem more apparent than if you were in a newly built hotel or in the middle of the countryside. We do our best to deal with this and try to ensure our guests have as pleasant stay as possible.

I hope you can see that the noise is out of our hands but we do our utmost to provide comfort for our guests with double glazing in all the rooms.

We hope that this experience has not put you off returning to the Kings Arms in the future
Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Had a few drinks here and we both loved it! Modern and clean facilities, with the main pub being cosy and welcoming. Drinks were fairly priced, and a wide range of gins and whisky. We didn't have a meal here, however the menu looked plentiful. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent in here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Cf1234

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent visit. It is always lovely to hear customer’s comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Ate her after arriving and seeing a lot of people inside. Roaring log fire and fashionable decor. Chairs and low tables in the bar area not comfortable but at least we had the people watching view out the big window. Hubby had the pumpkin tagine which he said was good and I had a jacket potato which was very disappointing for a lunch snack. Was cooked in the microwave and the beans seemed cheap ones.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear S V

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit to the Kings Arms Hotel.

It’s nice to hear that the welcoming atmosphere of the Kings Arms enticed you in to join us for lunch. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your lunch; I can assure you that all of our meals are made from fresh, local produce. If you had brought this to our attention at the time of your visit, we would have happily replaced the meal for you.

I hope that this experience will not put you off returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a traditional pub and hotel right in the centre of Keswick. Ideal spot to stay and/or eat if you're touring the lakes.

We weren't staying there, but we did enjoy a lovely lunch in their restaurant.
Excellent service and excellent food at a reasonable price.
Well-kept beer and cosy bar: we particularly appreciated the weather forecast print-outs on display on the bar. Very useful, as the weather can be changeable.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Y Bwchan

Thank you leaving a great review and for visiting the Kings Arms Hotel.

It’s nice to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and were looked after by our team. Thank you for highly recommended us on tripadvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to the
Kings Arms in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After reading some very good reviews on trip advisor we decided to dine at this establishment.
The hotel and decor of the place was excellent,however the food was very poor.
I chose the starter of a half rack of ribs with sweet chilli coating,I can only compare what came as to a dried pigs ear. Not one to complain I decided to soldier on hoping better was to come,unfortunately not. My main of gourmet burger and twice cooked chips came next. The chips were harder than nails.
My wife's meal was also poor the mash she received was flavourless and hard.
When paying for our meal I felt I had to tell the supervisor about this and was told that they were changing the menu soon (oh that's ok then) !! All the supervisor was interested in was waving the pdq machine in the air trying frantically to get the payment through.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iancarroll67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Ancarroll67

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit with us.

At the Kings Arms Hotel we are well known for our home-cooked food, we aim to use fresh local products to get the best taste and flavours from our meals, which we are praised for from one off and returning customers. I would like to apologise, that from reading your review, it appears our meals were not up to our usual standard.

I hope that you will not let this experience put you off visiting us again at the Kings Arms Hotel

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the refurbished Kings Arms ,one night only after a visit to Theatre by the Lake, a birthday treat for my husband. Hotel very smart and comfy, lovely toiletries, and the food is excellant, staff friendly,it was easter weekend so needless to say it was busy in the restaurant,but by no means full and this is where our stay wasnt so comfy , firstly our prebooked table for 5-30 wasnt ready, the service was rather erratic ; half an hour passed before our starter came, delicious, our main was also excellant,but we didnt have dessert as it was almost 7 so we were rather concerned about time limit for theatre, breakfast service was a bit disorganised too, again food fab, We would certainly return to Kings Arms , but we hope the staffing in dining room are better organised,.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the main street BUT no noise disturbance ,windows well glazed and lovely th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth A

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us. We take all reviews seriously and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch there today . We had steak pie which was served up in a traditional metal pie dish which was a great start. The pastry was light and buttery, but best if all , it was CHOCK full of Huge chunks of steak. Well done to the chef.Amazing .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rockchic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Rockchic91

Thank you for your great review. We love to hear our guests feedback and are please to hear that you were satisfied with your meals.

We are extremely lucky to have such a fantastic Head Chef and we hope to welcome you back time and time again to enjoy our delicious home-cooked food.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
783 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £105 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing