We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times and it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food in the restaurant is lovely and service is very good. Will definitely come back - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Elaine

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending us on tripadvisor.

We love to hear that our guests have been looked after and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    169
    74
    40
    22
See reviews for
74
255
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was the first time me and my wife have been to the kings arms.We looked at the menu which was outside and decided to go in for our tea.We got a few drinks from the bar and the staff were very friendly and helpful.We went down into the restaurant and got show to our table.As soon as we sat down the staff came straight over with the menu and also a bottle of water to have with our dinner.I picked the recomendation of the day which was chicken supreme.My wife picked the home made steak pie.When the food came it was nice and hot and looked very nice.
The chicken was cooked perfect and and the whole dish was very tasty.My wife had the pie with chips and veg,the pie was huge and packed full of steak.The veg was also cooked perfect.I had to help my wife finish off the pie.I would really recommend the food here and also the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Robbie

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to dine with us during your stay. I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service on offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights sat/sun in room 7. It was a very dark room as it had a very small window which overlook a bar and night club, hence the earplugs in the room.
We stayed with our dog and did read the website that said dog beds and water bowl provided.
good job we took out own ad there was nothing in the room unlike the Skiddaw which we have
stayed in with our dog.

I cant say I had much sleep over the weekend with the noise of the nigh club and the fact if you shut the window you couldn't breath every my dog was panting. I much prefer a quiet place but I do understand staying in the main street in Keswick would be noisy but I have to say the Skiddaw hotel next door was much better and cheaper.

Room Tip: not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay at the Kings Arms Hotel.

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t get the chance to make use of the dog bed and water bowl that we supply; these are given out to guests upon request, as not everyone would appreciate a dog bed and bowl in their room upon arrival. If this had been mentioned to a member of staff at the time of your stay, they would have happily supplied these items to you.

As the Kings Arms hotel is situated in the town centre, and being an historic building, noise can seem more apparent than if you were in a newly built hotel or in the middle of the countryside. We do our best to deal with this and try to ensure our guests have as pleasant stay as possible.

I hope you can see that the noise is out of our hands but we do our utmost to provide comfort for our guests with double glazing in all the rooms.

We hope that this experience has not put you off returning to the Kings Arms in the future
Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Had a few drinks here and we both loved it! Modern and clean facilities, with the main pub being cosy and welcoming. Drinks were fairly priced, and a wide range of gins and whisky. We didn't have a meal here, however the menu looked plentiful. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent in here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Cf1234

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent visit. It is always lovely to hear customer’s comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Ate her after arriving and seeing a lot of people inside. Roaring log fire and fashionable decor. Chairs and low tables in the bar area not comfortable but at least we had the people watching view out the big window. Hubby had the pumpkin tagine which he said was good and I had a jacket potato which was very disappointing for a lunch snack. Was cooked in the microwave and the beans seemed cheap ones.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear S V

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit to the Kings Arms Hotel.

It’s nice to hear that the welcoming atmosphere of the Kings Arms enticed you in to join us for lunch. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your lunch; I can assure you that all of our meals are made from fresh, local produce. If you had brought this to our attention at the time of your visit, we would have happily replaced the meal for you.

I hope that this experience will not put you off returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a traditional pub and hotel right in the centre of Keswick. Ideal spot to stay and/or eat if you're touring the lakes.

We weren't staying there, but we did enjoy a lovely lunch in their restaurant.
Excellent service and excellent food at a reasonable price.
Well-kept beer and cosy bar: we particularly appreciated the weather forecast print-outs on display on the bar. Very useful, as the weather can be changeable.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Y Bwchan

Thank you leaving a great review and for visiting the Kings Arms Hotel.

It’s nice to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and were looked after by our team. Thank you for highly recommended us on tripadvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to the
Kings Arms in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After reading some very good reviews on trip advisor we decided to dine at this establishment.
The hotel and decor of the place was excellent,however the food was very poor.
I chose the starter of a half rack of ribs with sweet chilli coating,I can only compare what came as to a dried pigs ear. Not one to complain I decided to soldier on hoping better was to come,unfortunately not. My main of gourmet burger and twice cooked chips came next. The chips were harder than nails.
My wife's meal was also poor the mash she received was flavourless and hard.
When paying for our meal I felt I had to tell the supervisor about this and was told that they were changing the menu soon (oh that's ok then) !! All the supervisor was interested in was waving the pdq machine in the air trying frantically to get the payment through.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iancarroll67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Ancarroll67

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent visit with us.

At the Kings Arms Hotel we are well known for our home-cooked food, we aim to use fresh local products to get the best taste and flavours from our meals, which we are praised for from one off and returning customers. I would like to apologise, that from reading your review, it appears our meals were not up to our usual standard.

I hope that you will not let this experience put you off visiting us again at the Kings Arms Hotel

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing