We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Immaculate Rooms”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a night just before Easter passing through Keswick on our way back to Scotland. We checked prices on Internet which were higher than the stand by walk in rate so worth doing both. Receptionist gave us the keys to 2 rooms for us to inspect. Both equally immaculate but one had slightly better view that we plumped for. Breakfast was good. Pub downstairs good too. Rooms a wee bit small that we saw but otherwise would return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Polly

Thank you for your lovely review and for deciding to stay at the Kings Arms Hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and facilities satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the near future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    169
    74
    41
    23
See reviews for
74
257
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morell, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and were welcomed by a lovely staff and our room was comfortable and modern. The bed was really nice and the bath robes an added bonus. Breakfasts were included in our rate and they were very tasty and the proportions were generous. As it is right in the middle of town, we were close to all amenities, but we really had little outside noises in our room!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CoCo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear CoCo17

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay with us.

I’m pleased to hear that you that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were welcoming and looked after by our friendly team. We hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms Hotel in the ear future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

So- Gail and I took her parents to the lakes for a couple of days and whilst in Keswick decided to have an evening meal in the kings Arm's- I have eaten here before and the food has always been good- they used to do a huntsman's lunch(ploughman's) which was excellent- anyway the bar was full so we went down the stairs into the restaurant-- service was good- but I was a bit annoyed when I went to the bar and ordered a pint of Guinness-the barmaid tried to charge me £4.10 when it was on the drinks list as £3.80- only 30p but not on. pricy enough for Keswick- I digress- the food choice was good and the meals chosen were as follow- rump steak- well cooked and presented- Steak pie- served in a....metal dish of sorts- pie was good- Pork pie- again served in a metal tin- pie was ok, but hardly any filling and did not taste as good as it sounded on the menu- finally the Ribs..3no and very well cooked but far to big and it needs to be explained- Gail thought they were something from the Flintstones- so overall ok food- good service- a bit overpriced for the food- lots of other places to eat a lot cheaper for same quality-don't get me wrong it does a job and as I said the food was good- would I eat there again......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Ian M

Thank you for your review, I’m glad to hear that you decided to return to the Kings Arms restaurant on your recent stay in the Lakes.

I’m pleased to hear that you found the restaurant and service to be up to standard, though surprised to read your comments about the food being overpriced and like something from the Flintstones. All of the meals on our menu are reasonably priced and are served fresh, if there were problems with your food we would have been happy to rectify these at the time.

I apologise for the incident at the bar, your comments are appreciated and we will take this up with the team to ensure mistakes like this don’t happen again.

We hope to welcome you back to the Kings Arms Hotel again on your next visit to the Lakes.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed for one night at the Kings Arms for work and the room was lovely and spacious with a lovely decor. Breakfast the in the morning was lovely. I would love to go back with my husband for a romantic break later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Allison

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you and your husband on your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times and it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food in the restaurant is lovely and service is very good. Will definitely come back - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Elaine

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending us on tripadvisor.

We love to hear that our guests have been looked after and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was the first time me and my wife have been to the kings arms.We looked at the menu which was outside and decided to go in for our tea.We got a few drinks from the bar and the staff were very friendly and helpful.We went down into the restaurant and got show to our table.As soon as we sat down the staff came straight over with the menu and also a bottle of water to have with our dinner.I picked the recomendation of the day which was chicken supreme.My wife picked the home made steak pie.When the food came it was nice and hot and looked very nice.
The chicken was cooked perfect and and the whole dish was very tasty.My wife had the pie with chips and veg,the pie was huge and packed full of steak.The veg was also cooked perfect.I had to help my wife finish off the pie.I would really recommend the food here and also the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Robbie

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to dine with us during your stay. I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service on offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights sat/sun in room 7. It was a very dark room as it had a very small window which overlook a bar and night club, hence the earplugs in the room.
We stayed with our dog and did read the website that said dog beds and water bowl provided.
good job we took out own ad there was nothing in the room unlike the Skiddaw which we have
stayed in with our dog.

I cant say I had much sleep over the weekend with the noise of the nigh club and the fact if you shut the window you couldn't breath every my dog was panting. I much prefer a quiet place but I do understand staying in the main street in Keswick would be noisy but I have to say the Skiddaw hotel next door was much better and cheaper.

Room Tip: not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay at the Kings Arms Hotel.

I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t get the chance to make use of the dog bed and water bowl that we supply; these are given out to guests upon request, as not everyone would appreciate a dog bed and bowl in their room upon arrival. If this had been mentioned to a member of staff at the time of your stay, they would have happily supplied these items to you.

As the Kings Arms hotel is situated in the town centre, and being an historic building, noise can seem more apparent than if you were in a newly built hotel or in the middle of the countryside. We do our best to deal with this and try to ensure our guests have as pleasant stay as possible.

I hope you can see that the noise is out of our hands but we do our utmost to provide comfort for our guests with double glazing in all the rooms.

We hope that this experience has not put you off returning to the Kings Arms in the future
Kind Regards
Leah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing