We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good workout”

Catbells Lakeland Walk
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cornwall
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good workout”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Rather crowded at the top and a tricky descent on the northern side. But a good hard climb in spite of Wainwright saying it is for grannies and children!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rands9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    168
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bring the sticks if you have dodgy knees! ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

First time up Catbells, the walk is a steep climb for a mile up stone steps with some climbing at the top. You need to use hand holds in places to pull up. At the first false summit by the memorial we went left where there is a path, rather than climbing up the middle - an easier route. We saw walkers of all ages 4-80. As long as you are reasonably fit it is possible, just take your time - the views from the top made it worthwhile. It is all uphill and downhill so we took sticks and used them. After descending down the steep stepped path we went across to the Lodore Fells hotel on the other side of Derwent Water and had a nice Borrowdale cream tea. The scone came with two slices of Borrowdale tea bread. We should have shared it and just got an extra tea - but we had one each so we'll have to do another walk now!

Helpful?
2 Thank Trave11er101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gentle wak”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If like me you are slightly disabled this is a doable walk. It is very pretty and doesn't suffer from the insufferable fell walkers of little patience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ex-Tyke-Baz
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Catbells is often touted as "fun for all the family" ... it is, provided that the family is fit, able-bodied, and properly equipped for the climb. The paths are becoming "polished", probably due to the huge number of visitors now being spurred on by peripatetic TV presenters adopting a very casual approach to what is a fairly tricky climb in places, if the ascent is made from the Keswick side. The views from the summit, on a fine day, are truly magnificent, Be aware, though, parking on the adjacent roads is very limited. Best tackled by boat or bus from Keswick to the start of the climb

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Appenazow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great walking area”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing to dislike, typical Lakeland weather with sunny spells, views were outstanding despite the odd wet flurry. Thoroughly enjoyable walk, did our own thing there, didn't use a Wainwright, just ambled, rambled and enjoyed immensely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank irhillsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catbells Lakeland Walk also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Buttermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Catbells Lakeland Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing