We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Keswick Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keswick Park Hotel
Ranked #135 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is more like B&B but non the less it was a good place to stay.
It is located by the park and at the start of the pedestrian start of the town so everything is within walking distance even the lake!

The staff are friendly and welcoming and are more than helpful with local information. We had the executive room which is on the top floor (3 rd floor ,no lift) it is in old world decor with four poster bed and dark wood. The view of the peKs is great and nice and light in the room. The bathroom with its jacuzzi bath is perfect for the aching muscles of the long walks,also offering toiletries .

The breakfast was really good with full cooked or continental .

The only concern is the parking. Whilst they have space at the back of the property for 6 cars you may find it a problem otherwise and need to find a place along the rd out front.

Good value for money, nice and quiet and a nice beer garden out the front with full bar.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view but be aware there are no lifts if you don't do stars. Room 6 is good nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Keswick Park recently for 2 nights and can thoroughly recommend it. The location is really great within walking distance of the centre of Keswick. We stayed in Exec Room 1 which was a good size and a lovely room with a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath. The cooked breakfast was really good and the staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Special thanks to Linda for looking after us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a night out in keswick as a late birthday treat. We stayed in July in exec bedroom 1 which was the only one we could book for 1 night only through the website. On arrival we were met by friendly staff, however all parking on site had gone and we had to park a 10 minute walk away down a dodgy looking back street with police warning signs up so not a great start. The room and hotel in general were very clean and tidy and there was plenty of clean towels and toiletries provided. The room was very dated with dark wood and floral wall paper and swirly carpets it really could do with a revamp. It was also quite noisy at night with some sort of drunken arguement going on at 3am outside. Not the hotels fault but I've read similar reviews so might be a regular weekend occurrence. The hotel is central for the shops, restaurants and bars which is what we were there for if you are going for the lake it's about a 20-30 minute walk. Breakfast was lovely we had full English and cereal / juice was available. Overall ok but dated and a bit pricey for one night when you have to book a more expensive room especially as lots of other room were free on the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphrobiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went with my girl friend for a 3 night stay, close to city centre very convenient. The service was great very friendly and helpful, Tong the owner suggested a few sights to see as well. Best thing for me though was the over all cleanliness of the whole place I'm a little bit OCD about neatness and general hygiene so I usually expect to be able to find some place I'm not happy about when staying in guest houses, but this one surprised me it was very clean, made the whole trip a lot more enjoyable for me. The beds were also quite comfortable, wasn't too expensive either our room was around £40 odd per night. Nice to be able to come back to a clean comfortable room after a day spent wondering around in the lake district.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked into this wonderful hotel by finding the number in an old "Motorcycles Welcome" book, rang whilst travelling and arranged over the phone, planning it to be our first night stay on a 4-5 day motorcycle trip. When we arrived we were greeted by Tong, the new proprietor, who made us very welcome. We decided to stay there for 3 nights and made it our base for the next few days riding. A new, young team (including Bob who is on the "youngish" side), that cannot do enough for guests make the stay feel like being at home. The facilities are comfortable, cosy bar, nice dining room for breakfast (awaiting a new chef for evening and other meals), close to the town centre, stunning mountain views from our first floor room, limited parking, but our first night had ample apace for 6 cars and 7 motorbikes. Drying room for our wet bike gear was a godsend.

If you are looking for a base to explore the lakes, or a group of motorcyclists looking for a bike friendly home from home, then this is the place. We will certainly recommend to our friends and return again! Try it, it is value and quality rolled into one...thanks Tong and Bob!

Room Tip: The rooms are all a little different, but well equipped and very clean. Discount worth having for 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Walking a round of the Lake District with my friend and arrived in Keswick soggy wet through. Met at Keswick Park by Linda who gave us a warm welcome and hearing her say " yes we have a drying room" was a godsend!!. Soon out of our wet kit showered and ready to take on the town which is only a very short walk away. Beer festival was on ( no tickets available for months before) and Keswick buzzing but we were well catered for in the host of local pubs with excellent food and ale. Good night sleep other than local oic calling to his mate in Ambleside at 3am!! but he soon wandered off down the road. Good breakfast in the conservatory and then off ( IN DRY KIT) over Skiddaw and Little Man to Thelkeld for our next nights stay. Top notch place to stay, in a handy location and Linda there to make you feel at home. We left well satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardystock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
297 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and traveled through the UK last week, and one of the highlights of the trip was staying at Keswick Park Hotel. The reason? Bob Marshall's wonderful hospitality!

It seemed the whole of Keswick was booking up before I had made my reservation to stay there. Luckily, I called Keswick Park and spoke with Bob (during his breakfast service). He was so helpful and friendly, and I quickly reserved our room.

We arrived in Keswick on a warm, sunny day. Bob was at his desk when we arrived, and he asked where we had parked. As we had parked on the street (there are about 5 spaces off-street as well), he gave us a parking disc and told us how to use it.

After we put our bags in our room, we made use of the beautiful beer garden in front of the hotel. Bob poured our drinks and gave us tips on where to eat that night. He really made us feel welcome, and we wish all small hotels/b&b's had people like Bob running them!

Here's a quick low-down of the hotel:
--Great location, an easy walk to the center of Keswick
--Good breakfast
--Awesome beer garden (plus an indoor bar if the weather isn't agreeable)
--Severely out-of-date (but clean and large) bedrooms (change the grandma duvet covers and wallpaper please)
--Wonderful customer service

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#55 of 175 in Keswick
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#60 of 175 in Keswick
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#63 of 175 in Keswick
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Park Hotel

Property: Keswick Park Hotel
Address: 33 Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Newly Refurbished in 2017** Keswick Park was built in 1880 as a traditional Lakeland/Cumbrian slate house near the centre of Keswick. In the 1970’s it was converted to a comfortable Hotel/Guest House. It is conveniently located for bed and breakfast accommodation only 200 metres level walk from Keswick town centre the “Queen of the Northern Lake District” in Cumbria. The guest house has 16 bedrooms, all en-suite, and can accommodate up to 33 adults. We have five flexible twin/king rooms with en-suite bath and shower, four double rooms (two with king sized beds) all with en-suite showers, two single rooms with en-suite showers and three executive rooms that have en-suite Jacuzzi Baths and four poster beds. We also have two family rooms available; one for three people, and one for four people. Free WiFi is available to all guests. All our rooms have been recently refurbished and feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and an en suite bathroom with a bath, shower or a combination of both. A varied breakfast is served every morning. Choices include fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts, preserves and tea/coffee. A cooked breakfast is also available, together with egg benedict, smoked haddock and a lighter option. Guests can enjoy a good choice of beers and ciders, and a complete selection of single malt whiskies. Tea, coffee and cakes are available throughout the day. Free car parking is available at the rear of the hotel, however spaces are limited and on a first come first served basis. Keswick Park operates a Smoke-Free Policy. A fine of up to £500 will be charged if anyone is found to be or has been smoking in any of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Keswick Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Park Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing