We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yurt at Hollows Farm, Grange”
Review of Hollows Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollows Farm
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yurt at Hollows Farm, Grange”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The owner, Simon at Inside Out Camping could not have been more helpful. Before the trip he made numerous telephone calls to let us know information and answered any queries we had. On arrival we were pleased with the Yurt, it was just as described and shown on the website. There was enough crockery and cutlery, logs for the log burning stove, fresh bedding on the beds – luxury compared to camping! There was even a solar powered light and fairy lights which were so pretty in the evening. The skylight enabled you to look at the stars from the comfort of your bed, beautiful. On Sunday the heavens opened, in true Lake District style, and it was so nice to lock the door and leave the Yurt without the bother of packing away a wet tent in the rain. It really was “Glamping” and we may never camp again!

As seasoned campers we knew what to expect. If you think luxury camping you would not be disappointed. If you’re expecting the amenities of a B&B with hot water on tap, maybe this is not for you and this is perhaps the reason why some Yurts have received poor reviews?

Finally the location of the Yurt was superb. Grange is a stunning little village in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale. There are some fantastic walks, both long and short, from Grange and it is near to the legendary Shepherds Cafe. The open-top bus from Grange into Keswick is great fun for young and old alike! We had a great stay and would certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank MummyTBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in the woodland campsite for 15nights through May/June. Off peak its quiet and perfect for people wanting to get away from the hussle. In peak periods (w/e and bank hols) it gets busy. This isnt really an issue as the woner is very selective about who uses the site. I loved the place, crowds or no crowds.

It was clean, well kept and the owner was polite and helpful. The farm hand (Mat) was a legend, full of local info and a fountain of knowledge. A true outdoors lover.

The toilets are nearest to the woodland site and the showers are a 4min MAX walk from there. The walk is not a problem at all. The showers are clean and hot.

All in all a great place that I will be revisiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived on saturday morning and pitched our tent then headed out to the hills for some walking. We got back at about 5pm, (were able to park right next to our tent which was great), and headed for a shower. The shower block has 4 powerful showers and plenty of hot water. The toilet blocks were fine and did have a light so we could see in the dark!
Overall a basic, but good campsite that we would go to again. the only downside was that it was a bit of a trek to the nearest pub for our evening meal so we had to drive.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just got back from a visit to the above. Well having worked in this area for nearly a decade I make myself a promise not to go anywhere near the Lakes on a bank holiday weekend. At first my fears were put to rest as we turned up on a Friday and it was virtually empty apart from a couple of tents on the family field. This soon changed however.

At about 10:30pm we got some late arrivals. Not unexpected on a bank holiday Friday night, but this bunch, which numbered in excess of 50 people kept the whole place awake until gone past 2.00am despite having been spoken too nicely. At no point did anyone from Hallows Farm seem to be bothered about this. They did seem more bothered about camp fires as the numerous signs kept telling you. There were 3 showers for the whole site only 2 cubicles and 1 communal urinal for the Gents. I can't believe that either the National Trust, LDNPA or Allerdale Borough Council think this acceptable

The number of people using the site was only a concern with the number of toilet facilities, No hot water at the wash up and toilet block, no external lights which a number of people had fun with as they fell up the decking to get in to the toilet block, The sceptic tank is obviously too small to cope with the number of visitors and there is lots or "organic" material on the campsite side of the river. Location is stunning, but for £6.00 pppn this place was turning over £600 to £1200 per night this weekend not including the Yurts and external light on the only toilet block would be safe and also helpful. .
So did I enjoy my visit YES as always to Cumbria and the Lake District? Campsite DEFINATELY NOT for a number of reasons. I hate to think I have been contributing to the pollution in the river and encouraging bad practice in such an environmentally sensitive area. No enforcement of the 6 metre European rule. It seems that any number of people can stay here and pitch just where they want to. With a number of high visibility cases of death and injury on campsites throughout the UK, even over this weekend, what we don't need are more GLAMPERS killing each other through carbon monoxide or setting fire to each other.
For a £1 pppn less we could have gone to the notoriously bad National Trust site at Stonethwaite for what facility or service we got from this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LZandSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A Nice back to basics campsite. If you are looking for a basic campsite with wonderful views then this is for you.

The site has no shop or any shops near it but it is great for walkers, dogs etc.

I would reccomend staying in the open field rather than the woodland field as you get more room and can take your car on, the toilets are a little far away but its only a 3 minute walk from your pitch.

There is a great pub 2.5 miles down the river that serves good food and drink that allows muddy boots and dogs, which is great after a walk.

The wind can get quite bad so bring windbreakers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank remimoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Had a really good time. laura greeted us with acup of tea and homemade cake and made us feel really welcome. The room was clean spacious aned without a tv which made a nice change. the breakfast was excellent. All the guests shared the same table which I wasn't sure about but it worked out really well. Grange is a pretty village with an excellent teashop. The purpose of the holiday was to walk and all the works we did were close to the farm. I would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajhp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

A lovely peaceful site with gorgeous views on all sides. We arrived on 29th May (bank holiday weekend). Stayed for 1 night. At £6 per person per night it was very cheap. We stayed on the bottom field. Very good drainage. We knew this as it was a struggle getting the tent pegs in! The toilet block was on the top field and it WAS a struggle going over the rocks to the toilet, especially as it had been raining. Very slippery and muddy. There is a flatter route but when your bursting for the loo, you go the shortest way. There are a couple of cold water taps on the bottom field so why can't they have a toilet block? The toilet block:- qiute clean, plenty of toilet roll, no hand dryer or paper towels to dry your hands. The showers:- a bit of a walk but worth it. Loads of hot water, nice & clean and there are four showers. The only thing that was missing was maybe a small bench to put you shower gel, shampoo etc on. There were three coat hangers on the back of the door which was a good thing. I would return to this site but may try the top field next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.1 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollows Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollows Farm

Property: Hollows Farm
Address: Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hollows Farm Hotel Keswick
Hollows Farm Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing