We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little campsite”
Review of Hollows Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollows Farm
Newcastle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful little campsite”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well my boyfriend and I wanted to stay in the lakes for the weekend and came across this campsite on google, not really expecting much we drove down to hallowsfarm outside Keswick. One word I can describe the scenery on the way is wow! We drove up a tiny lane to the campsite and were greeted by a lovely man with cool hair who have us the option of two camps- either one were you can have your car beside the tent or one were you could park up at the car park (right next to the camp) so we picked the second choice as it was much nicer. Woodland field was surrounded by trees and gorgeous views then with a short walk you reached a river which we had a swim in to cool down. We thought all in all the campsite was great value in a stunning location toilets were clean showers were a short walk away but also very clean the owners were lovely and helpful and we even heard him singing away when cleaning ha. When we went it was just the right amount of people no rowdy groups and some family's. Also some glamping tents but we didn't look inside. Oh and some very friendly ducks that come to the campsite to get fed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebeccam9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a beautiful little campsite! We stayed in a yurt hosted by inside out camping for our honeymoon and had a great time. The campsite is in an amazing location in the heart of borrowdale and is so peaceful. Next to a river leading to derwent water and 4 miles from Keswick, it's perfectly located. The nearest pub is a beautiful 2 mile walk along the river in rosthwaite.
Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KT1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

After negotiating a very bumpy bit of road you find yourself in the most beautiful of locations. The yurts are great, really cosy with everything you need. Very close to the river which is ideal for paddling in. Other campers pitch up alongside so there is always something going on. The ducks visit every morning and evening to collect all your leftovers. Toilets/washing up area very close but the showers are about 10 minutes away. Not much fun in the rain, but don't suppose camping is much fun in the rain anyway.
One negative: the farm should sell milk. Driving to keswick for milk that doesn't keep a day in a warm yurt is not on. Perhaps the farm should cater a little more for the campers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rosies21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this wonderful place at the last minute and were fortunate enough to get a room. We found it was very friendly and on arrival Laura not only made us a cup of tea but we got chocolate cake too!! The room was fantastically traditional and very comfy, with tea & coffee making facilities, an on-suit shower room and a view to die for. We started the day with cereal, fruit and a big farmhouse cooked breakfast, around a traditional dining table with the other guest, it’s a great way to meet people. Altogether a fantastic weekend experience and will definitely be back for a longer stay and some walking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Well all I can say is I like it so much I just keep on returning there year after year for well over 20 years now... just cannot fault the site its camping as it should be, can be busy at times but that's because its so good, showers are great just what you need on camp toilets do the job they are supposed to do, and the young man that takes your camping fee is very nice guy nothing a problem here at the best camp site in the lakes.

Room Tip: Tip from me is pitch your tent have a shower go for a walk and just enjoy yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dood2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My sister and our two girls aged 6 and 9 decided to leave the men at home and go camping...without the tents :)
We stayed in a yurt on this campsite (courtesy of insideoutcamping) and had the most amazing time! Weather was amazing and the location is breathtaking - yurts are located beside the hill and toilets are located just behind which was handy with two little girls! The yurts have everything, 2 double fouton beds, wood burner (weather too nice to use) stove including unlimited gas usage, ALL crockery, cutlery, linen etc. tripod BBQ which was fairly easy to set up and best of all solar powered lighting with fairy lights all around the 16ft interior - it was amazing!
The yurts are about a 2 minute stroll from the river/lake which was full of excited if a tad cold children jumping from a Tarzan swing :) ducks paddled alongside them lol. Grange village is tiny but delightful tea rooms to find and can be accessed with a 5 min walk, bus stop at the end into either Keswick or borrow fake if you don't fancy taking the car.
Overall fantastic "camping" experience without the work - definitely return if only to explore more of the amazing scenery!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy here, but really enjoyed our stay on the farm. Had to walk a short distance through the woods/down a lane to toilets/wash up area/showers but we were there for only onenight and no big deal. The showers were actually the best we've come across while camping this trip - really hot, loads of pressure and very clean. Would definitely return if in the Lake District again!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pesti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
603 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
940 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,052 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollows Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollows Farm

Property: Hollows Farm
Address: Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hollows Farm Hotel Keswick
Hollows Farm Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing