We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC SITE & LOCATION”
Review of Hollows Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollows Farm
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC SITE & LOCATION”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Just enjoyed a 3 day stay in Hollows Farm, Borrowdale, fantastic site & location, I stayed with my wife, three year old daughter, eleven year old son and our dog
The site consists of two fields, one with level walking access to the toilets but a longer walk to the showers or, the first field you come to on the site which is midway between showers and toilets. Facilities are basic but they are there, which is what camping is all about, as for SAS training being a requirement to get to the toilets, my three year old managed quite easily umpteen times a day, sometimes saying she needed to go just so she could have fun climbing over the small rocks on one of the tracks. ( there is another flat track just a little further down the lane) the river is nearby and is shallow and safe and the woods are great for kids to explore, bearing in mind that this is one of the cheapest sites in the area,the showers are free and very hot and powerfull, ( unlike other sites) I would not go anywhere else in Borrowdale, in fact we are already planning our next visit, as already stated the site could not be faulted.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GRANTS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

My wife and I enjoyed three perfect nights at Hollows Farm, a real, working sheep farm in the midst of what is surely some of the most spectacular scenery on Earth. Guests are welcomed at the door by the host, Laura, with the plain spoken, down to earth friendliness that is characteristic of the people who live in this area. The guest rooms are in a 17th century farmhouse with 2-foot thick walls and windows that look out onto the picture perfect landscape of Borrowdale. The farm is a great base for hikers. A hearty English breakfast is served 'family style' in the oak beamed sitting room. Laura is more than happy to fill your flask with hot water for tea or coffee, and you can head right out from the farm into the Borrowdale fells, including High Spy, Maiden Moor, Dale Head and Glaramara. At night you can dry your clothing and boots (yes, it rains a lot here) in the farmhouse kitchen. Relax in the sitting room and plan the next day's hike, catch up on your reading or watch a bit of TV. Open the window of your bedroom at night and you will fall asleep to the sound of the beck running behind the farm and sheep bleeting in the field in front. Quiet frankly, I found this place to be as close to Heaven on Earth as I can imagine. If you love the Lake District, or even if you love just the idea of the Lake District, you will probably agree with me after you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsman0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed in the B&B for a long weekend. This is a heavenly spot, with stunning scenery, on a working farm.
The landlady was pleasant and the breakfasts very good.
The decor is a little old fashioned, but then it is a traditional Lakeland farmhouse!
A fantastic base for some great walks.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Celiamargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2008

If you are looking for a place to experience the outdoors then this is it. Facilities are basic, but they ARE available - toilets, washing up sinks (cold water only) and hot showers available in a converted barn by the farmhouse. Was there in June with family and ok, the midges can get a bit annoying, but if you take along some Avon skin so soft and spray this on liberally, they leave you alone! Was there last week too, and the midges weren't so bad as the weather was cooler. This site is not for you if you want to have a shop, and entertainment provided - you make your own entertainment here. However, there are lots of lovely walks for most abilities, pubs and cafes within a short distance. The river is closeby and great fun for kids - keswick has a shop selling inflatable boats, which give hours of amusement for little (and big) kids alike! The site is a National Trust site and is slightly sloping, but it is great for kids as people tend to pitch their tents around the edges, leaving a large area to play ball, frisbee, etc in the middle (except for really busy times such as Bank Holidays and some weekends when it can be quite crowded). Barbecues are permitted, and dogs are welcome. I have been camping in various parts of the UK since I was a child, and have never found a more beautiful place (even when it rains!) and visit as often as I can.

  • Liked — Freedom to come and go as you please
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank walkers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We have just had the worst camping experience we can remember(and we have had many, )this site was,dirty,noisy and overall dangerouse, there was no lighting ,no paths to faciliteis,and a total lack of even the basics such as toilet paper in the ladies toilets,soap for hand washing,and the so called paths you are suposed to follow are really dangerous,if you want a midgy infested site then this is the place for you,we booked for two nights but could only last one before gladly packing uo and moving on, the reason I have named my review SAS training is if you dont have SAS training DONT even think of going hear.

  • Liked — Going Home
  • Disliked — All Of It
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank dinjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
977 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stybeck Farm
Stybeck Farm
#1 of 1 in Thirlmere
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollows Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollows Farm

Property: Hollows Farm
Address: Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hollows Farm Hotel Keswick
Hollows Farm Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing