We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pit stop”
Review of Twa Dogs Inn

Twa Dogs Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twa Dogs Inn
Ranked #157 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Sunderland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pit stop”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We visited here 3 times on our stay in April.It was on route of cinder track which we took quite often on way back from a days walk back to our campsite Burns farm.So it was a great pit stop.
I have to say this place was jus my cup of tea.The staff I found a lot more friendly than other pubs we have gone to in lakes,We ate there for sunday lunch which I found lovely. We had the added bonus of the folk band. Which I found very entertaining,We were sat next to the open fire and as we were staying in a tent, We were grateful for the warmth. I cant fault this place in anyway, It has a old charm to it, and to change any of that, It wouldn't be the Twa dogs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Twa Dogs Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
My wife and I have been licensees of the Twa Dogs Inn for 14 years. In that time we have won 12 awards from Keswick Tourism and 3 National Awards from Marstons Brewery.

On reading your comment on Tripadvisor we were deeply hurt and saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at the Twa Dogs Inn.

I hope that you do return in future, your comments have been taken on board and improvements will be made.

Best wishes
Peter Harding
(Twa Dogs Inn Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    31
    19
    17
    31
See reviews for
19
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

stayed here one night and one night was enough , how they can charge £70 a night is beyond me the rooms are shabby and dirty they need a major overhaul. our freeview box was stuck to the tele with blue tac
beds were uncomfortable and our group all woke up the next morning with nice little bites all over our bodies..!!!
They allow dogs 2 stay so i dont think the flea powder gets used very much !!!
On the plus side was the owners were very friendly and hospitable and the food was quite good and at breakfast they were always coming round asking if you wanted anymore toast tea of coffee . such a shame really it has the makings of a great place if they would just invest some money and clean n revamp the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kh1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just returned from a great four days walking break in Keswick with my partner. Booked the Twa Dogs before reading the reviews, which actually helped us to be pleasantly surprised and would stay again. We liked the idea of staying in a pub for a change instead of a more formal guest house/hotel. No its not plush but we found it more than adequate. Good location 15 mins walk from centre, with ample parking. We found it to be a cosy and welcoming local pub, walls full of local art, pics and sport memorabillia. The hosts and staff appeared genuine, friendly and down to earth. I'm really fussy about cleanliness and the place and room were fine. Piping hot shower, soaps, hand/bath towels, tv, tea/coffee(needed own hairdryer). Helped by fresh air, walking and evening tipple at the bar we had the comfiest, quietest night sleeps in ages. Didnt loose any sleep over a slightly bobbly blanket. Ate at the pub twice main meals £8-9 half chicken and packed full steak n ale pie, prices on a par with other places. 8.30am breakfast suited us and wasnt overpowering for a change, the usual juice, cereals, toast and cooked+(veggie option) although got the impression listening to others not to be to fussy which made us chuckle. Thanks Twa Dogs, it was our cup of tea.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

On our way back from Ambleside to west Cumbria decided to stop of and have some food with our two young kids. It was open and serving food (although it was only 17:30) so thought 'why not'. Bad mistake. the whole bar area just looked dirty, the toilets were no better and the outdoor platy area looked like someones back garden that hadn't been looked after in about 10 years (with a duvet hanging alongside the swings). Food all seemed frozen, veg was washed out and overcooked and there was just a general dirty vibe to everything. The way it was served, even down to the condiments and place mats looked like it was a scene from 1975. Staff put the food down and walked away (no enjoy your meal), didn't come back to ask if it was ok. The food wasn't even that cheap!

Didn't hang around, home printed signs everywhere made you feel uncomfortable:
'anyone found taking or dealing drugs will be reported to the police' - behind the bar
'please treat this toilet with courtesy' - in the toilets (obviously)
'anyone found damaging any the fixtures will be asked to leave and made to pay' - in the toilets

Definitely in need of a visit from the Hotel Inspector.

Roughest pub in the lakes...probably

Room Tip: Don't bother - go to the chippy instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our party stayed at the Twa Dogs in July 2012 after cycling from Whitehaven. The bikes were stored in a secured area.We thought the accommodation was average although it could do with a makeover. The location is a good 20 minute walk. The staff were very helpful and the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwm2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

THis place wants some money spent onit to bring it up to date .Even though it costs seventy pounds a night for two ,This does not represent value for your money.The room was dingy,the shower lukewarm,breakfast basic,and last but not least you had to have breakfast at 8-30, or not at all.We wiil not be stopping here again!.

Room Tip: Go straignt past this Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was a fair inn. Basic rooms. With en suite bathrooms. Clean sheets and towels. The towels were small though. And that hot water was warm enough but not hot.

We paid 70 pounds for a twin room.

The breakfast was basic but ok. Nothing to write home about.

You could get dinner there as there is a pub downstairs. We didn't try it so I can't comment on it.

We left it til the last minute and didn't book and they had room.

They had off street parking.

No WiFi available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
3.0 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twa Dogs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twa Dogs Inn

Property: Twa Dogs Inn
Address: Twa Dogs Inn Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Twa Dogs Hotel Keswick
Twa Dogs Inn Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing