We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Dinner on Keswick”

Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments
Ranked #138 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Family Dinner on Keswick”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The family enjoyed a lovely dinner at Morrel's in Keswick.
We had been aiming for a 7.30pm reservation following a recommendation by a friend. We were very politely told that a table at 6 or 8 was available. We chose 6 and our expectations were managed when informed the table would be rebooked for 8pm.
Our two children at 10 and 7 are usually very good with 'proper' food and so two mushroom risotto starters were ordered for them. The children weren't overly keen when the dishes arrived as they were quite heavy with saffron and parsley. Noticing the children's unease our waitress volunteered chicken goujons and chunky chips. The kids agreed and promptly demolished the lot.
My wife and I enjoyed our three course table d'hôtel with a pleasant Malbec.
We paid £20 each for our 3 courses and the kids were only charged for their risotto and not the replacement chicken dish.
Service was attentive but discrete and belied the overall cost.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We have just returned from a week staying in apartment 1, as previous reviewers have said this is an ideal home from home with all the comforts you could wish for in what must be the best location in Keswick. Free wi-fi, good controllable heating (which you need at this time of year!) and a real feeling of being at home.
The best thing about the apartment though is the owners and their commitment to their guests. Whilst we were staying the apartment above (privately owned) suffered a leak which caused water to come through into the bathrooms. As soon as we informed Karl and Errol of this, they could not do enough to help and did everything they could to resolve the problem, keeping us informed through every step. Once the problem was resolved we were invited to dine free of charge in the restaurant as their way of saying sorry for the disruption (which was entirely out of their control).
The restaurant is of course fantastic with the same level of service we received from Karl and Errol along with comfort, atmosphere and top quality food.
We had a great holiday in Keswick and this was in no small part down to our hosts and their superb commitment to their guests.
Without a doubt Morrels will be our first option for future visits to Keswick, it's hard to believe that there is anywhere better to stay in the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADCottenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. It is a wonderful location, so convienent for town, lakes and hills.
The apartment is well appointed, and although now showing signs of age, is a comfortable home from home.
We stayed in the 1st floor, 3 bed apartment number 1. This has 3 good sized bedrooms, one of which is en-suite. The kitchen has everything required and allows easy self-catering. We were able to prepare an evening meal that ultimately fed 7 easily.
There is free wifi, a drying cupboard and washer/dryer machine.
This apartment is owned and run from the excellent restaurant below, so any issues can be dealt with easily.
We will be visiting again.
If there is a slight niggle, noise is an issue. You are close to the main road, and the garbage/recyclers start very early. Obviously this is not the fault of the owners, nor can they do anything about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MytholmroydDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a spotlessly clean and very comfortable apartment in a great position. The parking on site is also a great advantage. I would definitely like to stay here again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zena36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed here with friends, excellent idea, much cheaper than separate rooms in a b&b or hotel, and could chill in the lounge area together. Spotlessly clean and every facility provided. Top quality furnishings and towels, tea towelss, washing up liquid etc etc supplied. Loved it ! And fab restaurant underneath

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

These apartments are stunning. Every detail is fantastic, spotlessly clean and spacious. Rooms are lovely. Cannot really think of a bad thing to say really. Without a doubt would recomeend staying here.
We stayed the weekend in the 3 bed apartment for a family 60th and it was great. Location is perfect short stroll to the waterside and 2 seconds from the nearest bar.

We also booked the restaurant which was lovely, there was a large group of us and they didn't struggle at all (have booked to eat here again at Easter)

I would recomeend these apartments to anyone they are stylish and comfortable a stylish home from home!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona200980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at Morrels Apartments in Keswick in Sept 2005. We totally loved it. It had just been refurbished and was decorated in a nice luxurious but laid back style. Very relaxing.

The kitchen had everything we needed, and more. The lounge had a gorgeous leather suite and the 3 bedrooms were large and very well designed.

In fact I proposed to my girlfriend in this apartment as the place just suited the moment perfectly. It's situated directly above a very nice restaurant (food is lovely - but you'll need to book!). The building is placed at one end of Keswick town, which is perfect as it's not right in the 'busy' centre but still only a minutes walk from the first bar / bistro.

One thing that really impressed us was the amount of thought and detail that has gone into this property. Even down to the fact that the owners have sound-proofed the appartment so that even though placed directly above the restuarant, we never heard a thing from them - and it was packed most nights!

Keswick seems to be going through a transformation, keeping the old English 'tea and scones' style Lake District life but adding a modern touch. When we stayed in the town some of the road areas were being almost pedestrianised which makes browsing around the shops much more relaxed.

Other than Morrels Restaurant (which we highly recommend) there are plenty of others to choose from ranging from traditional English to pizza parlours, Italians, Mexican, Indian and Chinese.. oh and a great fish and chips place too!

My fiance did have a small accident on our last morning, by temporarily losing her engagement ring. After getting over the initial panic (!) we called the owners of Morrels who were able to come out to us immediately and help us find the ring. They were extremely helpful and couldn't have been nicer about it all.

We stayed in Morrels for a week and really didn't want to leave. We are definitely planning to return. I've added some photo's - so check them out to see how fab this place is!

James
[-----------]

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JimmyJam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#97 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#61 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.5 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#5 of 33 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cafe Bar 26
Cafe Bar 26
#106 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments

Property: Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments
Address: 34 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments Hotel Keswick
Morrels Luxury Holiday Apartments Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing