We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”
Review of Hunters Way

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunters Way
Ranked #142 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location is a little bit out of town but that was fine for us as we don't mind a stroll. Our room (a double en-suite) was very spacious, comfortable and clean with a good selection of tea, coffee and biscuit as well as complimentary Kendal Mint Cake which was a excellent touch! The bed and pillows were also very comfy.

Breakfast, although only served within a half hour window, was plentiful and very tasty.

The only things that let this B&B down are the lack of parking and the shower. After a day of walking I really look forward to a hot shower but I found the temperature and pressure were poor. This would not put me off staying here again though.

All in all, a great little B&B offering very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattd_2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

An average bed and breakfast in a good location. The room was small by some standards with an ensuite but the hand basin was actually in the bedroom. The breakfast was good with vegetarian options. Our welcome wasn't particularly warm and we did wonder if we were going to be allowed in! Although the dray was ok, there are better places close by.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank wayneghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we stayed as part of Contours Walking tours; our bags were transfered ahead while we walked there. Downside: We hit unseasonably hot July weather - in high 80's and 90's - and no B & Bs or guesthouses have a/c. Not a deficiency but something to definitely be aware of if you go in the summer.
The owners were terrific, helpful, friendly, sat and talked with us for half hour during breakfast (it was hysterical to see Liz, I think her name was, drinking her morning tea from an Angry Birds mug). They helped us with our laundry, she even folded it against our protests. Very good breakfast. Everything you could expect in a B & B. Very good location, lovely building in the midst of many lovely buildings. We'd definitely stay there again. Nice, well done room, typical bathroom for a renovated B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location is good and the breakfasts were good. Bed was worn and not very comfortable. Really didn't need any help with anything so had minimum interaction with the hosts. It was pretty warm during our stay and it would have been nice to have been able to open more windows but only one window in the bay was operable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTMac2160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Liz at the Hunter's Way was most welcoming and helpful from the time we arrived until we left the next morning. When we did not have enough correct change for the launderette down the street, she unabashedly pulled out plenty of coins and insisted that we not worry about paying her back. When we came back with wet clothes (but clean!) from the laundry, she offered to dry them. When we came back from a great dinner in town, not only had she dried them, but she left them out for us in a neat and folded stack.

Liz and her husband put on a great, "as you order" brekkie with all of the usual fixings. When we asked for our eggs scrambled dry, there were no sidelong glances, just accommodation. And, the seating we had was premier: looking out over the flower-line Eskin Street - rife with statuesque and ornate historical houses almost all offering B&B services.

Finally, when we were getting ready to leave, they arranged for a special cab service for us, as we had to made last minute changes to our itinerary.

Thank you, HUNTERS WAY for a wonderful and restful stay!

Room Tip: Room 1 was the only one we saw. En suite bathroom.....comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As a couple with a young child (age 3) we wanted comfort and a quiet atmosphere, Hunters Way delivered this. The owners were very friendly and keen to make sure our stay was comfortable. The room was cosy and met all our needs. Breakfast was freshly made to order and our son was provided with children's cutlery and whatever he asked for. They are located close to the centre of Keswick but away from any noise that may occur at night. We would look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My single room (6) was small but very comfortable with lots of little thoughtful touches - eg. dressing gown, shoe polish and sewing kit, hairdryer. Attention to detail followed through the whole stay - eg. a bookcase full of books and some board games available to borrow, umbrellas for guest use (came in very handy!), basket of sweets in the hallway, postcards to 'buy' for a donation to mountain rescue.
The bed was very comfortable, TV, kettle, luggage stand, info file in the bedroom.
Breakfast was great - lots of things to choose from including some nice child friendly items such as little boxes of raisins, cereal bars, plus cereals, Muller light yogurts, fruit bowl, Belvita fibre biscuits, plus choice of cooked breakfasts. I had Vegetarian (hash browns, tomatoes and mushrooms, egg, beans, toast, vege sausage) and a large cafetiere of fresh coffee to myself!
Hunters Way very much has the feel of a guest house, which I like when I'm travelling alone - I don't like to feel I'm sleeping in someone's spare room!
I couldn't get parked immediately outside the B&B but it was very busy with the jazz festival - gotnparked just round the corner.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
784 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Way

Address: 4 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunters Way 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hunters Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Way Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing