We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem of a Restaurant!”
Review of Magnolia Belgian

Magnolia Belgian
Ranked #51 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little Gem of a Restaurant!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in Keswick in a pub and are more Bistro/restaurant style folks. We struggled to find anywhere in walking distance not serving the usual pub style grub until we came to Magnolia. I had the Pate which was home made with warm clarified butter and fig chutney. My other half had whitebait(cooked to perfection) He then had fish pie, I had Salmon, hollandaise and new potatoes with cucumber ribbons and sunblush tomatoes...All served in a lovely atmosphere by efficient staff....Worth a visit!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandralily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    114
    33
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delightfully laid back and friendly . . . . . .”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited this delightfully laid back and friendly eatery/bistro after a particularly wet an windy day walking in the Northern Lakes.
The food was well cooked, well presented, plentiful and delicious.
I opted for the white-bait starter, a very generous portion, followed by delicately battered, (tempura?) fish/chunky chips and "crushed" peas. My partner opted for chicken liver pate, followed by chump of lamb and Mediterranean vegetables, again plentiful and tasty.
My partner enjoyed the house red wine throughout the meal which she said was fine, I, alas, am tee-total and therefore am unable to comment on the wide variety of beers on offer.
Finished the meal with ice-cream an espresso coffees.
Left the establishment feeling well fed, satisfied we had enjoyed good value for money and looking forward to a return visit when next in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank siefgried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would visit again”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely bar with a really nice relaxed atmosphere. The food was great and the portions were huge. Great choice of beers on offer too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Need to book”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Found this on our last night in Keswick - fantastic! Food was lovely, live music, very reasonably priced. Highly recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clairmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth trying but could improve. Huge choice of beers.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We ended up here for a meal after finding most other places fully booked on Saturday night. My starter of gruyere cheese quiche was very tasty, though a bit heavy-handed on the salad dressing. I had salmon main course, which was a nice big piece and juicy, though the hollandaise sauce was very sparse and no veggies with it which is a bit measly when it costs nearly £16. My partner had the tomato soup starter, which he said was really good, extremely hot and with tasty rustic bread. He then had the 8oz steak which was a bit overcooked for medium/rare and a little tough, not the best of quality, and his sauce was far too peppery, though the chips and veg with it were good. I had a lovely white Chardonnay house wine and he had a very good Trappist blonde beer from the vast selection on offer. Decor could do with livening up a bit and seating rather basic. The staff were very friendly and good service considering it was such a busy evening. Worth trying this place even though it doesn't look very exciting from the outside. If they improved the food a little and gave better value for money, and made the decor a little nicer, this could be a really good place for evening meals. Would be a good choice just for drinks, especially for those who like European beers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia Belgian also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Magnolia Belgian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing