We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondered when Basil was going to appear”

Bar Lounge and Conservatory - Skiddaw Hotel
Ranked #95 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wondered when Basil was going to appear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ate at the conservatory on a quiet Sunday night.

Since no staff appeared to take my order, I placed it at the
Bar. Food selection was poor and overpriced. Choice was not taxing, only a cold seafood selection and pie and mash.

After waiting on the food for an hour was astounded to be told that the order was being processed. Which neither answered the question or addressed the problem.

Had I not already paid would have left long before then.

Staff attitude stinks and frankly is beyond retraining. The only solution in my mind would be dismissal.

Looking around on the night mine did not appear to be the only problem.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 92002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    13
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High Class Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Lovely bar area high class but comfortable, the staff were very friendly. Good choice of beers. I would certainly recommend this is worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria, england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very overpriced with meagre portions.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Totally overpriced, I had the steak and ale pie which had been warmed up in the microwave and was very stodgy with a handful of frozen chips! My husband had the cumberland sausage which was about the size of 2 link sausages and not remotely local, 11.50 and 11.75 respectfully. Lots of staff but the service was pretty poor, would definitely not recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elizaj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
809 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel has a great location in the main square at Keswick and is good if you want to people watch . That is handy because the service is poor and my food was not good . Keswick was busy when we went out to eat and most restaurants we tried had waits of up to an hour for a table . We spotted an empty table and were allowed to sit there with the dirty pots from previous diner . H ad to ask three times for table to be wiped and our first order was lost so had to order again. half hour wait positioned with us when we sat down and food delivered around that time . I assume that some of their staff finish their shifts as after our food was served the next staff member we saw was the barman who took our plates . I complained about food standard and in particular the broccoli that was uncooked - pity you didn't tell me earlier when I could have done something about it was the response . As we were on holiday I did not taken it further but food and wine are overpriced - my roast pork was mass produced , veg frozen and staff attitudes lousy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Best Cumbrian meat pie in the universe, and all the other dishes we sampled were excellent and very reasonably priced

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank john316hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Lounge and Conservatory - Skiddaw Hotel also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Bar Lounge and Conservatory - Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing