We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful pasta, excellent ambience”
Review of Bel Cibo - CLOSED

Bel Cibo
Price range: US$24 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful pasta, excellent ambience”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a lovely meal on the last night of our stay. The ambience was excellent and made for a lovely evening. Starters were delicious and followed up with the carbonara that was really special. I could have eaten it all night. Nice wine and excellent service. If we had found this place earlier in our trip we would definitely visited again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    39
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent risotto!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

would suggest booking as it's quite small and a couple of tables are near the door. However the food was very good (risotto excellent!) and staff very friendly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank roger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have had some hit and miss meals in keswick so decided to use trip advisor to do my research today instead of trailing round on foot. I picked Bel Cibo because the food sounded great and we were not disappointed. Everything was freshly cooked to order. The varied menu had something for all of us, 2 adults and 3 fussy children! The pizzas were lovely and thin and the pasta perfectly cooked. My carbonara was very rich but the chunks of bacon meant it remained well balanced. The main courses are pretty substantial and although the puddings are small by comparison they are also relatively cheap. The coffee was delicious.

The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We ate here on the last night of our stay in Keswick. We both had Lasagne for our main course and we both said it was tasty but the pasta was soggy and overcooked. This was a shame as it could have been a very enjoyable meal. The wine we chose was lovely and the prices are reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy M, Owner at Bel Cibo, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you thought our lasagne was tasty… we have had many comments from other customers saying how much they enjoyed their lasagne.

However, you also said that the pasta was ‘soggy and overcooked’. I’m sorry you felt this way, but our lasagne (made properly) is baked in the oven for at least 1.5 hours on a low heat. This means that it is impossible to cook the pasta sheets al dente.

I am a little disappointed that you felt it necessary to post this on TripAdvisor rather than mentioning it to a member of staff on the evening. Had you done that, this could have been explained far less publicly.

I hope you decide to visit us again, but maybe try a different dish next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bloody lovely!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Fri 20th Sept. Well, arrived in Keswick and fancied an itlaian. Having walked past earlier we thought we would try it. Well, we got there and asked to see if we could have a table for 2. No table available at the time but within 5mins one had become free. Sat down to a nice bottle of pinot. Then order two pasta dishes but one was asked for slightly different than that on the menu and was no trouble at all. Meals came and were piping hot and suited us excellently. Then we had a couple of puddings (sweets for those who are posh!!! Lol). Perfect. Finished off with a coffee each. We could not fault our evening, meals, drinks, ambience or service. Even the bill was acceptable at £52.00. Would we go again? You bet we would and got a business card to book next time. Quality night. Thank you, we had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayneRoome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Cibo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing