We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinema full of character with sound and picture quality as good as any modern cineplex”
Review of Alhambra Cinema

Alhambra Cinema
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Alhambra screens current films daily in magnificent digital quality.The best of the World's theatre, ballet and opera are relayed live by satellite several times a month.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 21 February 2017

What a fantastic place! We enjoyed a great rainy afternoon in the Lakes watching Sing. With free coffee and comfy chairs we loved the character of this traditional cinema. However, don't be fooled by this. The picture and sound is as sharp as any modern offering. Stick this on your things to do on a rainy day in the Lakes. You won't regret it!

1  Thank The4Gees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMRENNIE65, Owner at Alhambra Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Delighted you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free coffee"
in 23 reviews
"comfy seats"
in 17 reviews
"step back in time"
in 12 reviews
"picture house"
in 7 reviews
"latest films"
in 7 reviews
"blast from the past"
in 6 reviews
"great film"
in 5 reviews
"picture quality"
in 4 reviews
"sound quality"
in 4 reviews
"paper tickets"
in 3 reviews
"film festival"
in 3 reviews
"little gem"
in 11 reviews
"retro feeling"
in 2 reviews
"sat upstairs"
in 2 reviews
"sweet counter"
in 2 reviews
"multi screen"
in 2 reviews
"balcony area"
in 2 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Was planning a cinema evening with my family but arrived early. Decided to wander the streets and do a bit of window shopping. My wife needed the loo so we walked back to the cinema. It was open but the previous performance was still showing so she niopped in to use the loo - when she got a real telling off! "The toilets are not for the public". Fair enough, but no chance at all to say "we're paying customners tonight". Very miserable grumpy lady there, it put us right off.
We decided instead to go to the theatre on the lake and a good move that was, fantastic place I can highly recomend it.

Thank Colin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMRENNIE65, Owner at Alhambra Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Sorry you were not made welcome to use the toilets on your visit. It is our policy to make these available to all visitors whether customers on not - this should never have happened.
Please accept my apologies and when you are next in Keswick please introduce yourself and pick up two complimentary tickets by way of compensation. I do hope you call again.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

A super old cinema, just like cinemas used to be. Tiny foyer, free coffee/tea (how many cinemas offer that these days?) comfy seats, plenty leg room, together with up to date films and a ticket price of £7. What a bargain! Definitely worth checking to see what's on if your in the area but also for the 'time forgotten' special feel of the place.

Thank MrsMac349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMRENNIE65, Owner at Alhambra Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Glad you enjoyed the experience - come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

When staying at Keswick, I always check on what's on at this cinema. It has a regular programme of up-to-date mainstream films, and occasionally (once a month?) something interesting of more specialised interest.

Thank richardhamilton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMRENNIE65, Owner at Alhambra Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Very glad you enjoyed your visit - our web site will keep you up to date on our current programme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Go take in a movie here just for the experience! Tom, the theatre manager who has been running this theatre for the last 20 years is a vey interesting fellow and more than happy to provide you with a tour, just ask. You also get the treat of free coffee, tea or hot chocolate to enjoy while watching the movie. What more could you ask for ?

Thank esmirelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMRENNIE65, Owner at Alhambra Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Glad you enjoyed the visit - we are now well into our second century and don't plan to change the formula!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alhambra Cinema also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Alhambra Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing