We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The accomodation was idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Main Living Room
Outside area for dining
with greenhouse for pottering and shed for bikes.
Our 1st entry in the visitors book by our very 1st guests
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
Master Bedroom before refurbishment Autumn 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
prif1
2 reviews
“The accomodation was idyllic”
Reviewed 20 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The accommodation was very relaxing. Old world charm with modern amenities.
The garden was lovely and given the weather we could enjoy sitting outdoors.
The house was very clean and spacious.The only issue was that the nearest shop was over 10 miles away. It would help overseas visitors if the address is given from the beginning as we were under the impression it was in Keswick.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
Thanks Pri for coming to stay. Thanks for your feed back and whilst the map shows the location i have now updated the listing to clearly state that the nearest supermarket is 11km/7 miles. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilporth...
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality”
Reviewed 28 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Nice place great base to see the lakes if you do find a problem Rebecca and Fraser are there to sort it if you want holiday in lakes just book it and stop looking elsewhere
Many thanks
Neil Julie Betty

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Glad you had a good time. Hope we will see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSJ2012
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Accessible and a beautiful building”
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The Old Chapel is a beautiful conversion, great for those with mobility issues. The downstairs bedroom and accessible wet room were perfect for my mum. The light through the stained glass windows of the vaulted living room was a delight and although it was June we made use of the lovely wood burning stove when the weather was less than kind!
In the village the farm has an honesty box for milk, eggs, jams, vegetables and sometimes cakes too. We also loved Mae’s tearoom and art gallery a five minute drive away in Uldale.
The third bedroom is accessed by a steep spiral staircase and has bunk beds, do it won’t suit everyone. But overall this is a beautiful building, really well equipped and accessible so we really enjoyed our stay a d would like to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thanks for staying at The Old Chapel and i am pleased you had a good time. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey_Ha...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another PERFECT stay....”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We are just packing up after a beautiful, sun kissed, perfect week at The Old Chapel. Yet again Rebecca and Fraser have exceeded our expectations and provided our family with a relaxing week in perfect surroundings.
We have quite literally been all over The Lake District in the past seven days using Ireby as a base, and had a tremendous time!
We would heartedly recommend The Old Chapel to any family with a disabled member, such a well-appointed place with every single need catered for so well. Our Livvy has LOVED it, and so have we!

Just book it...but not before we book it again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Thank you! Glad you had a great time. See you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thanks Robert. I am glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaryG3705
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Pretty converted chapel but sadly lacking views other than a row of houses opposite. It had a tiny patio with what looked like a large garden but sadly as a wheelchair user I was unable to access this as had a flight of stairs from the patio to the garden. However the property was very spacious and comfortable for me to move around in and had a wet floor shower and shower seat. Would have been nice to have the owner on hand when we arrived to show us around etc. The house was cold and we had to hunt around for literature on heating and white goods. We didn't have any contact with the owner until the following evening. This aside we enjoyed a lovely holiday. Grasmere, Keswick and Ullswater are to be recommended and enjoyed eating in The Snooty Fox and The Pheasant in Keswick.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2018
Thank you for your review of The Old Chapel. I am sorry you felt disappointed that you were not greeted on arrival. My husband and I both work shifts in health care so it is not possible for us to greet all our guests and do note that we will not routinely visit the property in the listing. We do however make our telephone numbers available so guests can call us if they need anything.

Thank you for your comments regarding the access to the garden. It is possible to access the garden with a wheelchair from the back but I accept this is not ideal. I have changed the wording on the property listing to make this clearer for our future guests.

I hope these two points did not detract from your stay too much and am pleased to read you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing