We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint cottage in isolated area”
other travellers have booked this property
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Sitting room with log burning stove Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Barn Cottage entrance and parking
Sitting room with log burning stove
Sitting room
dining area in sitting room
overlooking garden
sitting room comfortable arm chairs
sitting room
downstairs entrance hall
Entrance hall        and front door
Kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom twin beds
bedroom
entrance hall
bathroom
outside in winter
storage biar
sitting area outside
Garden and seating
View from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gerrydrum...
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage in isolated area”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was in a lovely location and the owners were very attentive. The log fire was cosy in the evening and the central heating was effective.
The bedroom seemed crowded with two beds but the cottage was satisfactory in all other respects.
There are plenty of walks in the area and interesting places of interest to visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday we do try to give our guests an enjoyable visit thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripMahaj...
Weston Super Mare
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in beautiful quiet surroundings”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at this lovely comfy cottage in a scenic quiet location. It is well equipped with all one needs for a great holiday. Our host Joyce welcomed us with a yummy chocolate cake which lasted all week. The kitchen has everything you need and the comfortable twin beds ensured a good night's sleep after long walks and hikes. The living room has a TV and there is good WiFi and mobile network. We had great weather and did not need heating. But a combi boiler is available to heat the radiators and a romantic wood burner is also there to use.
Great location to visit the northern lakes and hike up Catbells, Red Pike and the Langdales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you you were great guests and I am so glad you enjoyed your Holliday , Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity G
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magnificent hideaway”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A fully self-contained cottage in a delightfully picturesque and quiet rural setting.
Although giving the impression that you are in the middle of nowhere, with a car, so many places in the Lake District are so easily accessible for day trips.
The owners, Joyce and Arthur, who live next door, are willing to help you if required but respect your privacy.
A wonderful place to stay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you I am so glad you enjoyed your visit having come so far to see our wonderful Lake District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the barn cottage, and were made to feel very welcome with some delicious chocolate cake that Joyce had made for us. Loved the wood burning stove and used it every day and it warmed the place up a treat. The barn has all the things you need and is well equipped. The garden is very nice and enjoyed watching all the birds, just wished we had a bit better weather to sit out! There is no phone signal as yet but there is WiFi which is very handy. A good base for exploring the north lakes and fellwalking, and is in a nice quiet part but still close to Keswick and Penrith. As a couple we would have preferred a double rather than two single beds, although we do understand that this is to cater for singles as well as couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hegglehead we loved having you .
Come back in the summer and sit out in the sunny seat near the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca T
Tenbury Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaited us at this lovely little converted barn in the unspoiled rural valley”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our half-term at Barn Cottage. We arrived to a warm welcome and a great carrot cake! The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we (and the dogs) needed for a relaxing break in this stunning part of the Lakes. The log stove kept us really snug in the evenings and there were plenty of free logs available to top it up with. The location is fairly remote but this suited us fine. We recon that Mungrisdale was around 10 minutes away and the A66 a further 5 minutes drive. We really enjoyed our meal at the Pheasant at Bassenthwaite and the Old Crown at Hesket Newmarket brews and serves some fine beers. We have booked again for next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you Rebecca I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay you were very nice guests and it will be great to see you again next year, Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We made a short notice booking to celebrate my 50th birthday. Despite being plagued with inclement weather, it did not dampen our spirits. The extremely warm welcome included a homemade chocolate cake for the extra mile. The dog friendly cottage was as advertised, with the log burner and constant supply of logs being worthy of particular mention. The surroundings were ideal for our two working cocker spaniels, who were clearly in their eulement and enjoyed their stay. Yes, it's a country cottage, it might have the odd fly, but I am struggling to understand how a previous review reads damming and there was absolutely no evidence of rats as reported. I suppose one cannot please everyone. So if you are looking for peace and tranquility in a dog friendly cottage, I would not hesitate to recommend Barn Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your review I am so glad you and the dogs enjoyed your birthday treat. The weather was terrible but I hope you were warm and cosy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic to read so many lovely reviews of our favourite cottage from all the nice people who have enjoyed staying in Barn Cottage as much as we have over many years. Thank you for letting us enjoy this peaceful, warm, cosy cottage yet again. Lookin forward to seeing you and that view again next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing