We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet n windy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wet n windy”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A good site well set up and easy to find. Views are spectacular and lots of facilities. Little pricy but you get what you pay for. We were on 51 camper and awning. Very wet in this section and as it does not get the sun quite boggy. Long stretch to the electric hook up. We were with toddlers and they had a run around looking at the rabbits. We were to bed early but they are hot on the no noise! Staff perfunctory not over welcoming nor rude but could have been more cheery and chatty. The toilet block was very clean with underfloor heating and lots of loos and sinks. 4 shower cubicles and you could hire a bathroom if you felt the need. Water from the sink was hot or warm so maybe brush your teeth with standpipe or bring water to the bathroom. Not particularly geared up for children. The water cut off at the sinks and it is on the Eco system where you have to wave your hands under for a dribble.
You can go for a walk into keswick from outside the hotel next door called the heights. This pub also offers food. (See review for the heights).
All in all best bits are the view and the showers and loos. Handy location but don't head here for a knees up or even loud chat after 10.30!

Room Tip: Avoid 46 - 51 unless you are not using any awning as very muddy(think Somme/glasto).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PugsleyHeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    49
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
90
172
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights, its a fabulous campsite with amazing views and lovely showers. There is a lovely little campers kitchen with toaster and kettle for free and wifi. There are only two free sockets for charging phones etc so might have to wait and in the evenings it can be taken over by children. Be aware though the prices are expensive! You get charged per person to stay in a tent and then on top of that charged for your car! We got charged nearly 13 quid just for the car! Keswick is not far away but beware if you walk it is a long walk up the hill back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights. It's a great location and very convenient for the town of Keswick. The facilities were good but the showers could have been warmer. The only real negative was the loud Mancunians in a nearby pitch who disregarded the campsite curfew and continued chatting and laughing at loud volume until after midnight, a full two hours after the curfew.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Beware - the prices are per person, and your also charged for your car, costing me 41 quid for 2 nights...woman on the reception 'Sharon' was very rude and useless. We were told it was a short walk into Keswick town centre, but they don't tell you it's downhill, and uphill on the way back, so it seems to take forever. Daddy long legs are everywhere but don't seem to bother you too much, pitches are good but boggy in places. Shop was lovely, very friendly staff, great choice of products. Awesome views. All in all, great camping trip, would return but not for a while. Hope this helped,

Chris

Room Tip: Overflow pitches for tents are on a huge slope, so try and get in original tent field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in our campervan for 4 nights. Not all pitches have a view but there's a large lawn with a nice view of derwent water which is usable by all.

Keswick is a mile and a half (locations all along the bridle path just outside the park. Useful for food etc.

Toilet and shower facilities are nice and the site was clean. Friendly and not too overcrowded even in peak season.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Good camping, good facilities and great view. Stayed for 2 nights for a weekend of walking. Located 20 minutes from the centre of keswick. Pub nearby. Shop on site. We would return to this site in the future.

Room Tip: Camping pitches are on more level ground near the toilet block (didn't smell near there!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I'm not really a fan of camping but thought I'd give it a go in a wooden pod. They are great. They are basically a wooden tent, you take all the usual camping gear but you don't have to put anything up when you arrive. It has doors, windows, decking and a heater. There were 2 adults and a 6 year old in our party and the family pod was plenty big enough. The site is great, there are 3 toilet/shower blocks (that I saw!) There is a restaurant on site, a shop, laundry. You can take your tent or caravan as well if you don't fancy a pod. You can walk down into keswick, there is a path to take on your left after you turn left out of the campsite. Its a bit steep to get back up though we foolishly did it on our bikes - took a while for the adults to recover! We didn't eat at the restaurant at night but went for breakfast - it doesn't open till 9am so no point getting up early. The food is good but to be honest we all had cereal and both times we had to go back and ask for more milk - they hadn't given us enough - though they were fine with that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Castlerigg Hall Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Also Known As:
Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing