We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent campsite”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Castlerigg for just one night but were both very impressed with the site. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming on arrival and the views across the site are stunning. The facilities are all excellent including a well stocked shop and superb toilet/shower block, quite possibly the nicest I've ever seen at a campsite! We had a great pitch, no view, but plenty of space between us and the next tent and the walk back from the toilet block gave us the stunning views we were after. I will definitely return and would highly recommend. Great location, excellent staff and altogether a top notch camping experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest, I'm delighted to read you had a 'top notch experience' on your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback on our facilities. We have invested heavily in these over the past 15 years and have plans to improve these further this winter, planning permitting.

I'm pleased to read you intend to stay with us again and enjoy the wonderful scenery that the Lake District has to offer.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    43
    10
    11
    4
See reviews for
87
160
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just about to finish another 14 days camping at Castlerigg Hall. That's 4 weeks so far this year with another 2 booked in October...can't believe only three rainy days in those four weeks .... Spent most of the time enjoying the peace and quiet of the park, enjoying the views and local wildlife .......Thanks again for the hospitality of the owners and staff at Castlerigg Hall.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjP15243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for your valued custom and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

The weather has certainly been superb and our camping field is looking in wonderful condition.

I'm pleased you had a quiet relaxing time and that the wildlife has been a source of pleasure. We are members of the David Bellamy conservation scheme and have been busy with a new planting scheme which provides habitat and food for the wildlife.

We look forward to meeting you again in October and hope the weather is as nice and with the added attraction of the Autumn colours to enjoy.

Yours sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is my 2nd time staying at this site.

The site itself is lovely and the restrooms and toilets are some of the nicest on a campsite I have ever been in. They are always nice and warm so if you are camping you can go in for a wee heat.

The facilities on the site are also good. There is a small restaurant if you don't want to cook which serves nice food but not much of a choice. There is also a shop for any necessities you may need.

There is a hotel/pub just outside the campsite which is small and basic but okay to spend a little time for a wee drink. Even though it was a hotel the bar didn't seem to open until 6pm and was closed on Sundays. The pub is nothing to do with the actual site though.

Every day and especially at night there were loads of cute wee rabbits on the sight which were nice to look at.

The site is very near to Keswick town and even thought I have not done it yet I have been told there is a nice scenic walk to the town which takes about half an hour.

I will definitely be back at this site the next time I am in the Lake District.

Room Tip: If you are camping make sure you are in the main camping area otherwise it is a short walk to the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac_killie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review and I'm pleased to hear you have had a lovely time.

As you mention we now have heating in all three toilet buildings and in our campers lounge. We are now looking at trying to improve the smaller of the toilet buildings for next season with underfloor heating.

Our franchisees in the restaurant have been looking at the menu choice and are about to start a new menu with more choice which will be available to see on the website www.foodatjiggers.co.uk

We would definitely recommend the walk into Keswick which is a quiet 15 minute woodland walk before another 10 minutes through the outer parts of Keswick.

We look forward to you visiting again and hope the weather stays as sunny as it has been for the past month.

Yours sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Top class site with hot water and kitchen / lounge plus cafe for those not wanting to cook. Views are good. Fields slope a bit so chose your pitch carefully. Recommended. Reception helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and recommending our park.

We built our Campers Kitchen in 2000 following inspiration from other parks abroad.

It is very popular particularly when the weather is inclement.

We spent some time this winter giving it a face-lift. which has been appreciated by many guests.

We hope to welcome you again to Castlerigg Hall in the future.

Yours sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The campsite is wonderful - clean ample facilities, beautiful views, friendly staff, quiet location, lovely shop and only a 25 minute walk into the centre of keswick.

It was my first camping trip for many years and I was delighted by the quality of the site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Visitor, I'm pleased to read your return to camping was a memorable one and that you had a wonderful time.

Thank you for your review which we appreciate and that you used our shop which we have been busy stocking with many quirky gifts as well as a wide range of local produce.

We hope to welcome you again to Castlerigg Hall soon.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a brilliant campsite the facilities are excellent and the site was not overcrowded, guess it would be different during school holidays, site shop was very well stocked and found all staff to be friendly, they advertise themselves as 'the site with a view' and yes are some good views from certain areas of the site need to be picky where you pitch, also flat tent pitches are few and far between most do slope so you need a good look around first. It is only a 25 minute walk down to Keswick but beware to walk back is uphill and after doing a 10 mile hike that is the last thing I wanted.

Jiggers, choose to eat here one night, OK it is cheap and cheerful and fills an hole when you're hungry and don't fancy going down to Keswick, I ordered Steak Pie with Chips and Veg the Pie was very nice but Chips were nothing to write home about and the veg was overcooked, my wife ordered Quiche with new potatoes and salad, I have an issue with them here (which my wife asked me not to make a point of) we were the 2 couple to be seated and after we ordered 2 ladies behind us both ordered the Quiche, the lady taking the orders then came back to us and said that they had run out of the quiche so my Wife changed to Steak Pie, she then went to the 2 ladies who ordered Quiche and told them she only had 1 Quiche left, so how's does that work we ordered before them but they got the last quiche available, very bad service there Jiggers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to review our park.

I'm sorry to hear you haven't had the best experience in Food at Jiggers. I will address the points you have raised with our franchisees this week to see what has happened in this case.

We do market as the park with the view, but not from all the pitches and we do make this clear in on our website and brochure. We are in the heart of a National Park and we have to create screening to prevent the park being obvious from the surrounding fells.

I'm pleased that you found the staff friendly and amenities excellent. We do try to keep improving our service and quality of the facilities and are currently looking at some improvements for next season.

Although it can be busier at weekends and in the school holidays we do limit the number of tents on the park, and with the trees providing separation, feedback from guests is generally positive.

Thank you again for your feedback and hope you consider staying with us again.

Yours Sincerely.

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This campsite was brilliant ,location,scenery and the rabbits bobbing around. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced .the only gripes i have are there is no sockets for you to use your own hairdryer and the showers dont stay on long enough but all in all it is a brilliant site

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairet1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for honest feedback on our park.

I'm delighted to hear you had an enjoyable weekend break with us.

I am sorry that the press button showers have a short timer which are factory set and we cannot adjust them however we are aware of this and are looking at alternatives for next season.

With regard to the sockets near the showers we will look at this to see if there is a way of providing a socket somewhere in the shower building as an alternative to using our hairdryers.

As you say we try to keep our prices reasonable in our shop and are in some cases cheaper than the supermarket 2 miles away. We have increased the stock over the years and the camper van and caravan gifts are proving particularly popular.

We certainly have a great location with many scenic walks for the park and only a short distance into Keswick.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Castlerigg Hall Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Also Known As:
Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing