We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we had hoped!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We don't usually do camping but thought we'd give it a go to try and bring the cost down from our usual visit to Keswick when we stay in B&Bs. After a lot of research as to which site to stay at we liked the sound of Castlerigg Hall and the fact it had views, wifi access and newly refurbished wash rooms was what made us choose this site! We arrived and was pleasantly told to go set up our tent then return to reception to check in so we followed the instructions on the map, chose a spot and paid for 2 nights.
Really wished we had just paid for one and checked into a B&B the second night there was no hot water at all in the mens wash room, my partner said he tried every tap plus he said the lay out was pretty shocking! Also we both tried to access the internet on several occasions in The restaurant and around the reception area and although we logged on fine the wifi is not strong enough to receive or send messages or emails and trying to access websites felt like the 90s when the internet first came about and you had to wait for the modems to start up! As for the views they were pretty spectacular when you wondered around the site and from certain caravan pitches but you don't get them from all tent pitches so be warned if you are going at a busy time you may not get a pitch with a view!
Also we stuck to the no making noise between 10.30pm and 8am but many didn't and with it being school holidays there was quite alot of noisey unruley children up at the crack of dawn and up till late!
The another annoying thing was not being able to access the path that led to Keswick from the tent area even though there is clearly a gate in the bottom left hand corner instead you had to walk right to the top of the site to get out then join the path and come back on yourself, surely putting up a style wouldn't hurt!
If you are a regular camper who can cope with any of the problems mentioned above then you would thoroughly enjoy this site but unfortunately for us we have been put off camping full stop as we would much prefer to pay double and stay in a little B&B with guaranteed hot water and creature comforts!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor.

Our washroom layout is in the same style as 99% of other campsites although we have installed privacy cubicles in all our washrooms. The taps are sensor controlled and sometimes require a few moments in quieter times for the hot water to come through. We are looking at improving our washrooms this winter and extending our shower facilities.

Did you raise your WiFi connection problem with our reception? We have had no other feedback about not being able to connect although we accept connection can be slow due to our rural location and is why we offer this service free of charge.

We have not put a style through the hedge onto the footpath as our guests security is our priority. We accept that it does take another 5 minutes to walk out of the main gate and back onto the path.

I'm sorry that you found the children on the park to be unruly. Certainly this is the first complaint we have heard and speaking with our wardens they have said that there has been a lot of laughter on the play area and children engaging in sport but were all quiet by evening.

We accept that not all pitches have views but we make this as clear as possible in all our literature and website. We do have guests who do look for sheltered areas and don't require a view.

Yours sincerely

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    49
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
93
180
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
guildford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed here on the last 2 nights of our trip around the ssottish highlands and had a great time. we were fortunate enough to enjoy a whole week of sunshine and every site we stayed at was nice but this one deserves a particular mention. the welcome from the staff was lovely and the site was exactly what we wanted. the shower and toilet facilities were top drawer and it had a couple of adjoining cafes / pubs which were friendly and convenient. Great views and only 25min walk from Keswick town centre, all in all a great site and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for your post and I'm very pleased that you have chosen our park to recommend.

I'm delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found everyone welcoming.

We have been working hard throughout the season trying to maintain everything in good order and keeping the facilities clean and tidy.

We hope that if you are touring again you consider us as a stopover or longer stay.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've been coming for more than 15 years to the Campsite and we turned up yesterday to be met with the most awful attitude and customer unfriendliness ever.
2 ladies were on who aren't normally on reception and the older lady was very rude, condescending and blatantly aggressive in her manner.
We turned up as 3 adult males and a teenager. Because of this, we were told we were a risk by the older lady.(Despite the same party having been booked onto the site many, many ,many times in the past). She told us she wasn't prepared to take the gamble with us and when we explained that we are on the site's computer, have been so many times we have lost count, and that the adults were Search & Rescue personnel, and the teenager was one of the sons, and we were looking for a 1 night pass through as we were on a charity fundraiser. The lady's words were "I don't care and I want a security deposit off you if you intend staying"
WOW!!!! We are such a risk that its not even in their terms and conditions that a security deposit is now required for "At risk" people...
Needless to say, this has left a massive massive bad taste in our mouths and now we will always source alternative accommodation.
We have recommended people to go there so many times and had the other 2 ladies been on who are normally on, they would have seen us and realised we are regulars and there would never have been a problem...just like every other time we have been.

All it takes is one or 2 people to undo many many years of great positive things to have come from that site and this lady has single handedly alienated some of their most loyal customers within 3 minutes.. Well done you!

I'm rating this as 1 star for the sheer disgusting attitude and dis-courtesy shown to their guests... I don't care if she was having a bad day, people who are willing to give money to stay at the site and who can be looked up on the computer as existing customers (Which she didn't do even after letting her know), should not be treated this way.

As visitors, we have a choice on a lot of parks around Keswick, and it's out of sheer loyalty that we have been coming for in excess of 15 years, and not always as this group, sometimes with our partners as well, and this isn't once a year either...sometimes this is twice a month for most of the year.

Maybe the owners should consider that they aren't the only site in Keswick, and not the best site at that, and perhaps advise their staff to see their customers as customers / guests and not scum.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
20 Thank Dinara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Sir, thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.

Unfortunately we have thousands of people staying over the course of the year and it is impossible for all our staff to know all our customers.

As you may be aware we only accept families and couples and don't take groups. We do on occasion ask for a deposit against making noise at night and disturbing others. (in tents even loud talking can be annoying, as sound carries easily) We brought in the no group policy however that is only to try to ensure that everyone gets a peaceful nights sleep. Those who have been asked have usually been happy to do this as they appreciate the difficulties in trying to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay.

We don't always get it right and we had to ask some to leave only a few days before your stay but I'm convinced our receptionists are doing their best, sometimes in very difficult circumstances.

As you correctly point out we are not the best site in the area. We are a four star park but are continually reinvesting in our service and product and hope to improve on this in the next few years.

Thank you again for your feedback which will be fed into our next management review meeting.

Your sincerely

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here from 5th-12th July in a holiday home many heartfelt thanks to David Jackson for sharing his beautiful home with us , stunning scenery , friendly and helpful staff , excellent clean well equipped site , lovely restaurant and good food, so sad when we had to return home but will be returning next year

Room Tip: Holiday Home was beautiful and clean with superb views of Walla Crag and Catbells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review.

Thank you for your valued custom and I am delighted to read you have had a wonderful holiday.

Since the 50's my family have been welcoming visitors first to our farm and then as a caravan and camping park as we gradually developed the park. Over this time it is very rewarding to see families returning and introducing their young families to our park and enjoying the beauty of the Lake District.

I think you must have been in holiday hire 4 which does have some great views and is probably our most popular caravan.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Yours Sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Castlerigg for 4 nights, arriving midday on Sunday through to midday Thursday. We were greeted by friendly staff at the reception who explained what to do and we went and pitched out tent before officially 'checking in'.

The facilities on site were fantastic; having never camped before, I was a little wary with choosing a campsite, but there was no need!

We pitched our tent in the main field and, in hindsight, could probably have done with finding a slightly flatter area as some parts are quite sloped. However, that said, it wasn't a problem. There weren't many tent campers there when we first arrived, but as we got further into the week, quite a few more people had arrived. Even with the increase of people, the fields wasn't crowded.

There is a well stocked shop behind the reception and a restaurant on site. There is a campers kitchen/lounge where you can spend time indoors if you wished. In here, there was a chest freezer available for everyone to refreeze their ice blocks, free of charge.

The toilet/shower block in the campers field were very good, they were clean and had private cubicles housing the shower, changing space and sink. They also had hairdryers which required tokens (bought from the onsite store for 50p) which lasted a good length of time, around 8mins - I have long hair that takes a lot to dry and found that 1 token was fine. The block also had a pot wash room with 4 sinks and draining boards, and an area with lots of different recycling bins, so you can do your bit for the environment.

There were several dogs on site enjoying their holidays, which were all well behaved.

Additional facilities (although we didn't use them) were microwaves and hobs in the campers kitchen (which required tokens from the store) and a laundrette room (I assume they also used tokens). Another shower/toilet block was close to the campers kitchen.

Aside from the stunning views over Derwent from the site, there is the added bonus of having LOADS of rabbits hopping about :)

Location wise, it was perfect for us. A quick drive or walk in to Keswick and easy for us to travel around the Lake District.

I'd definitely recommend this site and look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest, may I take this opportunity to thank you for the detailed review you have posted and I'm very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Camping can be a wonderful way to enjoy the outdoors and I'm delighted that your first camping experience was a such positive one.

I shall pass on your comments to our staff who do work hard to ensure a warm welcome and that all the facilities are kept clean and tidy.

We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you for your recommendation.

Your sincerely

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAST AYRSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

just had long weekend at the site on arrival we we greeted by lovely lady at reception who booked us in fast and sent us to get pitched up unfortunately we took wrong turning and ended up in the wrong pitch it was a bit of a tight spot to say the least but phil hooked us up to the site jeep and drove us to settle into new pitch a lovely wee view of the lake and surrounding hills like something you only see on a post card. lots of rabbits bopping around we sat for ages just watching the rabbits. went for a meal on the sat night food of a good standard as of the shop well stocked the man even came out the shop after me and shouted we have the Scottish sun if you prefer that to the English one. got to mention the lady at reception wish a knew her name she was very helpful as to what shops to visit for certain items in Keswick and the local attractions overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for your feedback on our park.

I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to assist with helping you onto the pitch.

I shall pass on your comments to the receptionists, I'm not sure who it was but we have just taken on a new receptionist and have still to get her a name badge, so it was possibly her. We have a large number of leaflets in the reception and enjoy informing guests the places to visit in and around the Lake District.

The rabbits are certainly entertaining and we are just in the process of fitting some extra bird boxes around the park.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your meal in Food at Jiggers. The good weather has seen many enjoying the restaurant balcony recently.

And I'm pleased that I met you as it was me who offered the Scottish Sun.

We hope to welcome you again and thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely.

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We only stayed one night at Castlerigg in a motor home as it was a stop off point for watching Tour of Britain the next day.
It's really well signposted and easily accessible.

I would of gladly stayed a lot longer though, the spot given had beautiful view of the lake, but I believe that viewed is shared wherever you park. It also helped that day was a really nice day.

The grounds are really well maintained and had clean and modern facilities.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked a lively environment and the shop was well stocked with everything you need in case you run out.

There was also a really nice public footpath through a stream and woods which leads in to Keswick, takes about 20 minutes to get there but worth it.

We will no doubt visit again, may take the tent next time to mix it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Visitor, may I thank you for the review you have left and I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

We certainly have had some very good weather, although it is wet today. The view of the lake from certain parts of the park is, we feel exceptional, and is ever changing with the different light. You can also see another Lake (Bassenthwaite) from certain ares of the camp field.

We have worked hard on providing a full range of products in our shop and use a local farm shop supplier only 15 minutes drive from our park.

I hope you enjoyed the Tour of Britain. It came past our lane end and the crowds of spectators were amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely.

David Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#11 of 12 in Keswick
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Castlerigg Hall Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Also Known As:
Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing