We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite in beautiful surroundings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

We came for a week in June this year with our tent and our two dogs having been recommended by a friend.

The campsite itself was awesome!! Lovely large camping field with trees and shrubs. Spectacular views across Derwent Water and of the surrounding mountains. The campsite was extremely peaceful during the week and even on the Friday night it wasn't too noisy even though it was busier.

There is a well stocked shop on site with everything you might want as well as a helpful reception area with leaflets and very friendly people on reception.

We ate at the on site restaurant one night and then again for breakfast on the last day. It's competitively priced and good service.

Shower blocks were the best I've ever seen on a campsite. Always clean and you never needed to queue for anything. They were warm and the showers were always hot. Sometimes a bit too hot. We were fortunate to stay during a spell of super hot weather and a cooler shower would have been awesome . There is also a campers kitchen. There are toasters and microwaves you can use for some money but also a deep freezer you can use for free (helpful for refreezing your ice bricks).

Our dogs were made to feel very welcome. There are dog walking areas on site but also some excellent walks directly from the campsite. I especially liked the secret tunnel through the campsite into Keswick. There is also a handy dog wash if your dog is particularly grubby and need a hosing down. This is also heated.

I will definitely be coming back. Best campsite I've ever been too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We were in a touring caravan on pitch no 2 with a stunning view over derwentwater. Smooth check in and were guided onto our pitch by a helpful member of staff. Facilities excellent, spotless showers and toilets, great kitchen area for campers and free wifi which worked very well. The site is really well located for walks to Keswick, the stone circles and walla cragg (none of these were difficult walks). We had done some homework and had recommendations on what not to be missed, we saw beautiful scenery. Only complaint was that we didn't have more time! Keswick is great for bars and restaurants, we chose to eat in most nights, shopping in Booths supermarket in Keswick, only because having been out all day we wanted to make the most of the site. I would highly recommend the site, we absolutely loved our time spent here and will visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here over August Bank Holiday in our Touring caravan.

As all the other reviews have said this is a fantastic site,with great views, our pitch ( no 7 ) was level with electric and fresh water hook up, pitch also had drainage for grey water.
Wifi is free, ok for e-mail but a bit slow for anything else, I personally would pay extra for a bit more speed. TV reception is very good, showers and toilets facilities were clean.
The shop on site is well stocked with all the essentials that you will need.
This site is very dog friendly as is the cafe on site ( jiggers ), we had breakfast at jiggers which was good.
We would definitely return to this site, and would also recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had pitch no 7 that had a nice view, also next door no 6 and number 5 had good views.
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 963marka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We have stopped there a couple of times the site is very clean the staff very helpful amenities are well kept and clean the 1030 curfew on noise was good I would highly recommend this site but it is on a rather large hill side but taxis are readily available £4 to Keswick town centre hope this helps regards

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasteriggHall, Owner at Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your stay here at Castlerigg Hall.

It´s always a pleasure to receive feedback, as it gives us a lot of motivation to go on working hard to ensure that we are providing as good a service as possible.

As you say we are on a hill which has plus and minus points. The plus is that it gives us great views and it is a nice downhill walk through the woods into Keswick. The downside is that it is uphill all the way back. As well as the taxi's there is the 555 bus route which stops close to our park although the taxi is usually the cheaper option and brings you to our gate.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Yours sincerely

Mr D Jackson
Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for the first time recently in our motorhome. The camp site is well run with excellent amenities. The toliets were always clean and showers hot. The grounds are kept very well with organised staff but not always the most friendly I am afraid to say. The staff around the site didn't break in to a smile most days and similar picture in the shop. When we arrived after a 7 1/2 hour journey the chap in the reception couldnt work the computer which was a bit annoying after a long journey where we just wanted to get settled. So overall nice campsite but staff need to be a bit nicer, up to date with computers and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank RAC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A beautiful location, looking down over the lake.
The staff here are friendly and helpful with a very well stocked site shop and restaurant/cafe serving breakfast & dinner with good vegetarian options.
Very clean toilets and showers.
A great location for walks & close to Keswick, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kelly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed at this park for five years so have reasonable experience from which to draw. Campsite well maintained, facilities very good, cleanliness excellent. Just two disappointments, reception and Jiggers restaurAnt. As the welcoming face to the park, a smile would be appreciated from the reception staff. We are there outside school holidays so the site is not at full capacity and yet on the majority of occasions that we have had dealings with reception staff they have been surly and appear to be inconvenienced by our enquiries. This is in marked contrast to the helpful and cheery chap working in the outstanding shop on site. The restaurant outlook is lovely, however we have come to realise that it really isn't worth a visit. The service is excruciatingly slow, again we felt as if we were causing an inconvenience. The soft drinks are a joke. We ordered a glass of fanta (we were served a glass containing a shot of orange squash topped up with flat economy lemonade) along with a glass of coke ( this was also flat having been poured from a large plastic bottle) - the prices in no way reflected that we were going to receive sub standard products. With very little effort these two areas could be dramatically improved. At first we thought our disappointment with reception and Jiggers may be as a result of pressures that we were unaware of however after numerous visits to the site and there being no improvement in either area we would recommend that you dine out off site and direct any enquiries to the cheery guy in the shop. Our recommendation to the site owners would be to reconsider the franchising of Jiggers and invest a little more money into the training of your front line staff. A smile and a little friendly banter at the end of a long car journey,are a great starting point for an enjoyable holiday,

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
23.8 mi away
Newby Bridge Country Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Castlerigg Hall Rakefoot Lane, Keswick CA12 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlerigg Hall Caravan and Camping Park 4*
Also Known As:
Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing