We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canoeing, skinning squirrels and making fire!”

Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide a range of canoeing and bushcraft activities to suit all ages, abilities and requirements - families, couples, individuals and groups are all welcome.Whether you choose a leisurely canoe session on Derwentwater, a fun-packed bushcraft day, or a week long classic canoe expedition in Scotland, we will ensure you have an incredible, unforgettable experience.For private coaching for small groups and individuals, please call us to discuss your requirements.Our aim is to deliver quality, hands-on, educational and fun outdoor experiences which give our customers a greater understanding and knowledge of our local area and the skills to enjoy the outdoor environment in a low impact way. All specialist equipment and instruction is provided, you just need to bring a sense of adventure!
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were in the Lakes on a climbing trip but as the weather was poor we decided to attend the Canoe and bushcraft day. It was really fun and better than we were expecting! We brushed up on our canoe skills and canoed to different areas of Derwent Water which is very beautiful. We picked wild garlic and were then taught how to skin a squirrel and prepare trout on sticks which we then cooked on a fire for lunch. The food was delicious and it felt great to have prepared it ourselves. We headed to another cove to learn how to make fires with flint and with sticks and were able to boil hot water to make tea.
Paul guided us through the day but it still felt like we were exploring the Lake ourselves and we learnt lots oh historical facts along the way without realising it! It was incredibly relaxing being out in nature in picturesque surroundings and it felt so rewarding to have achieved everything we did. Paul and Claire were great and I would thoroughly recommend these activities to anyone.

Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
openboater2, Owner at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Guys, so pleased you enjoyed the day - love the pictures by the way! hope you enjoyed the rest of you holiday. stay in touch and all the best . Claire and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've been canoeing with Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft three times now and each time has been excellent! As there is five in the family, mum and dad went in a canoe together (proving to be no dream team), the two eldest children went together, and the youngest went with Paul and the previous time with Shaun . We always feel safe with Paul and Shaun guiding us around the Lake and thankfully non of us have ever capsized! We still wear waterproofs just in case though! Each session lasts for a good couple of hours and we have breaks every now and then where we learn some Bushcraft skills. Paul and Shaun never fail to impress us with there knowledge of the area and the wildlife around us on the Lake, they're top guides! Claire is always there to welcome us back after our venture with a smile. Overall, it's always a top afternoon out and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to have a fun experience which is both unique and special, thanks Claire, Paul and Shaun :)

Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our first time canoeing and it was a very good experience. We had a lot of fun and learnt quite a bit. We will definitely be doing it again :)

1  Thank RiaD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
openboater2, Owner at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your time on the water and first time canoeing. Thanks for booking with us, and make sure you come and say hi next time you are here. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We booked the "Canoe the View" activity in advance of our holiday in the Lake District. Communication was excellent and very straightforward. Claire was extremely helpful in answering any questions. The actual activity surpassed my expectations. We are a family of 4 with two boys aged 8 and 10 years and we have minimal experience of canoeing. The 'instructor', Paul, was fantastic and put us all at ease, very quickly on the water. When some of the 'littler' arms became tired in the middle of the lake, Paul tied two canoes together to form a raft/catamaran whilst other people persevered in their two man canoe. Hot drinks and biscuits were provided when we reached our island destination...and tasted all the better for being stirred with a freshly whittled stick! There was also a little time to explore. The children's enthusiasm was maintained on the return journey, by hoisting sails on the canoes and using the power of the wind! This was great fun. In summary, Paul is clearly very passionate about bushcraft and the local area (he even took time to show the children how to use a flint and steel to light a fire, which was not part of the activity!) His enthusiasm and encouragement meant we were challenged by the activity whilst always feeling in control! Needless to say the children had a great time (and the adults did too!)

Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
openboater2, Manager at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Jenny, what a lovely review to read - thank you. Paul thoroughly enjoyed his time on the water with you all so thank you for booking with us. Keep us posted of your news, and i hope the fire lighting in the garden goes well! Any pictures of this would be greatly received - just pop them on our facebook page or email them to us! Very best wishes. Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked a trip with Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft as a family adventure. We have two children aged 11 and 6 years. They we very well catered for and was very suitable for both ages, as well as ourselves. Claire kindly arranged for Paul to be in the canoe with the girls, as my daughter was the youngest and I was a little apprehensive. Paul was great and we later swapped canoes, while out on the water, and helped out the other group members!!! The kids voted it as the best day ever, so a great memory for them to have.
Paul was great with all the children in the group and also took time out to show them all how to use a steel and flint, which we then went and purchased for ourselves!!!
A great day out and would strongly recommend it for all ages and abilities. Thanks to Claire and Paul at Keswick canoe and bushcraft, one to remember.

Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
openboater2, Manager at Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments and review Sarah. It was great to meet you all, and hopefully we'll see you all again sometime! You can update us on what adventures you've all been on! Thanks again. Best wishes. Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft also viewed

 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Keswick Canoe and Bushcraft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing