We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #39 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I'm a keen fell walker, and have been visiting Keswick for many years. I've stayed in several guest houses during that period, but Badgers Wood is without doubt the best of all. It's always spotlessly clean, it's comfortable, and the location is ideal if you want to be close to all Keswick's amenities. The hosts (Anne & Andy), as well as being friendly and helpful, will always show an interest in what you're doing, whatever your reason for visiting Keswick. The breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice, so if you're staying for a while, you won't get bored with the food. All in all it's a great place to stay, and I can't speak too highly of it. If I'm planning on spending some time in Keswick, I will now always check on availability at Badgers Wood. Thanks once again guys!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a single room, ask for "Birch" as it has excellent views of the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Badgers Wood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This B& B has it all and my four nights here are one among the top experiences on my seven week stay in Britain. Ann & Andrew are lovely hosts, warm and welcoming; I felt like I was their personal guest all though! They gave me valuable advice for a beautiful walk in the region and were eager to hear about my trips so that they could advice other travelers too. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. The room was spotless, cozy and had lovely views of the mountains. Oh, and everything smelt just wonderful here - I bugged Ann for the secret, she told me it was a regular supermarket freshener. Maybe it needs the Ann effect to work in my house ;) I fell in love with the Lake District and if I come back here, I'm heading straight for Badgers Wood!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkshataRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Another great stay at Badgers Wood, If you stay here you will not be disappointed,
Friendly guest house, very clean and breakfasts great.
Great location very local to town centre.
We will definitely be back
Cheers for a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just returned from a 4 nights stay at Badgers Wood. We stayed in a double room situated at the front of the house, which has amazing views of the mountains. The B&B is spotless clean and Andrew and Anne are great hosts providing us with loads of advise for exploring the region. The B&B is well located: 2 mn walk from the centre of Keswick. Anne cooks a lovely breakfast using local produce...special notes for the great poached eggs (even if not on the menu!). We will come back to Badgers wood in our next visit to the Lake District!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank mariehelenearnaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a great 2 night stay at this B&B. Very convenient location with breathtaking views at the front. All 4 of us really enjoyed our stay (one of our party was a returnee). Andrew and Anne were friendly and great hosts. The rooms were very comfortable, and we all enjoyed our different breakfast choices. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

From beginning to end, our stay was impeccable! Our time in Keswick started with Andrew meeting us at the bus station and escorting us to the B&B. He eagerly assisted with our luggage. Our son had just thrown up on the bus, and Andrew laundered his dirty shirt and cleaned his backpack. So, in our crisis, our needs were perfectly met.

The room and bathroom could not have been cleaner. Andrew gave us a quick explanation of how everything worked. We needed it, being from the USA. Our room had a marvelous view. Over the roofs of other buildings, we could see the lake and the mountains. Below, we could see the sidewalk and enjoyed watching locals walk their dogs.

The location was perfect. An easy 5 minute walk to the center of town and to the bus station. And Andrew had plenty of advice for where to go on hiking adventures. He knows the area very well. The B&B also has numerous guide books that you can borrow for planning. Andrew was kind enough to make copies of what we needed to make our way around.

Our breakfast was made to order, timely, piping hot and very delicious.

** Very important: We were 3 people on this trip. In reviewing the website, it appeared that no rooms would accommodate us. I emailed anyway and found that they could convert a double to a triple. Also, they have a single room, well-priced, for a single traveler.

Room Tip: Email or call if you need a triple.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetonLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My bed was very comfortable, my room was warm and clean, the shower worked perfectly, there were super views (when the mist lifted!). Anne and Andrew were very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfasts were great, although I would have liked porridge (but to be fair I didn't ask). Although the lovely town of Keswick was just down the road the house seemed very peaceful. I think Anne and Andrew are very experienced at running a guest house, they made us feel very much at home. I would definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#147 of 189 in Keswick
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#44 of 189 in Keswick
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#17 of 189 in Keswick
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#43 of 189 in Keswick
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badgers Wood Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing