We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and immaculate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #37 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and immaculate”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I chose this B and B because Rick Steve recommended it. Andrew and Anne were very efficient and friendly with their email correspondence. From the moment we knocked on the door we were welcomed warmly and shown up to our beautiful room. Andrew insisted on carrying our bags up the stairs. We were a bit worried about parking in a congested street, but Andrew found us off-street parking, so no problems there. I have special dietary needs which they met with no problem. Andrew and Anne could not do enough to make us comfortable; we soon felt as if we were staying with friends. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated; the bed was comfortable and the plumbing good. The location was good: close to the shops and near enough for easy walks to the lake. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
138
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I chose this B&B because it was one of Rick Steve's recommendations. The hosts Anne and Andrew always responded quickly to emails I sent for advice on planning my visit to the Lake District. The B&B is located on a quiet street just 5 minutes from the train station. My single room was small but had a little alcove with a chair in it that made it feel bigger. Very clean, comfortable bed, hearty breakfasts. Did not get to meet Anne but Andrew could not have been more welcoming or helpful with information on the buses. If I ever get back to the Lake District I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadoinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badgerswood, Owner at Badgers Wood Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Anne was disappointed not to have seen you as your early morning departures to catch local buses took place at the same time as she was preparing our other guests breakfasts We do rather enjoy assisting our guests with travel or sightseeing plans to make their time with us as productive as possible. The two two smaller en-suite single rooms we have are so popular, being fully booked up to 3 months in advance, which provide the solo traveller with best value accommodation when compared with the expensive cost of a double bedroom for single person occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Terrific B &B. Very kind and helpful hosts. Great breakfasts. Very glad we decided to stay there. Would do it again in a heartbeat. Room was very well equipped. Great wireless internet service. We had a great time in Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodwins95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I'm a keen fell walker, and have been visiting Keswick for many years. I've stayed in several guest houses during that period, but Badgers Wood is without doubt the best of all. It's always spotlessly clean, it's comfortable, and the location is ideal if you want to be close to all Keswick's amenities. The hosts (Anne & Andy), as well as being friendly and helpful, will always show an interest in what you're doing, whatever your reason for visiting Keswick. The breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice, so if you're staying for a while, you won't get bored with the food. All in all it's a great place to stay, and I can't speak too highly of it. If I'm planning on spending some time in Keswick, I will now always check on availability at Badgers Wood. Thanks once again guys!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a single room, ask for "Birch" as it has excellent views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This B& B has it all and my four nights here are one among the top experiences on my seven week stay in Britain. Ann & Andrew are lovely hosts, warm and welcoming; I felt like I was their personal guest all though! They gave me valuable advice for a beautiful walk in the region and were eager to hear about my trips so that they could advice other travelers too. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. The room was spotless, cozy and had lovely views of the mountains. Oh, and everything smelt just wonderful here - I bugged Ann for the secret, she told me it was a regular supermarket freshener. Maybe it needs the Ann effect to work in my house ;) I fell in love with the Lake District and if I come back here, I'm heading straight for Badgers Wood!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Another great stay at Badgers Wood, If you stay here you will not be disappointed,
Friendly guest house, very clean and breakfasts great.
Great location very local to town centre.
We will definitely be back
Cheers for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 nights stay at Badgers Wood. We stayed in a double room situated at the front of the house, which has amazing views of the mountains. The B&B is spotless clean and Andrew and Anne are great hosts providing us with loads of advise for exploring the region. The B&B is well located: 2 mn walk from the centre of Keswick. Anne cooks a lovely breakfast using local produce...special notes for the great poached eggs (even if not on the menu!). We will come back to Badgers wood in our next visit to the Lake District!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mariehelenearnaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#29 of 175 in Keswick
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#125 of 175 in Keswick
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#82 of 175 in Keswick
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Property: Badgers Wood Guest House
Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badgers Wood Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing