We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now our first choice when visiting Keswick area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #38 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Now our first choice when visiting Keswick area”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent location and excellent hosts. We have visited the Keswick area lot over the years but this was our first stay at Badgers Wood. It will not be our last. Andrew and Anne are friendly,very helpful and genuinely interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfasts were very good with plenty to choose from. Our room was comfortable ,nicely decorated and the bathroom immaculate. The views of Grisedale Pike and Skiddaw stunning. We arrived about noon, which was an hour earlier than our expected time but Andrew quickly allocated us our off street parking spot so we could go and get a coffee in town. While it is only a few minutes walk into town, if you go up Stanger Street to the top turn right and take the first path down on the left you are in Fitz park. Best of both worlds. We will be very disappointed if we cannot stay at Badgers Wood on our future visits to Keswick. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
135
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Badgers Wood, location was great, scenery fantastic (Grassmere etc can be seen down the road and Skidaw over the top of the hill and down to the cricket pitch). Room very comfortable and clean. Andrew and Anne were very welcoming and served a good breakfast. Andrew insisted he carry our suitcase up to the top floor, it takes both of us to carry it. Would definitely come back again, really liked Keswick, and maybe do some walking next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aspen which was clean, comfortable with a nice light en-suite and good views to the dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa fe
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Badgers Wood. We each had a single room, both of which were small, but very comfortable and clean. The owners, Anne & Andrew were friendly and helpful with everything, providing us with fans and lighter blankets because the weather was unusually warm for Keswick and the B&B does not have any air conditioning (too hot is rarely an issue in Keswick). The breakfasts were good and you have a nice selection to choose from. The B&B is located up a steep hill and there are plenty of stairs so keep that in mind if you have mobility problems. For a nice picnic spot, follow the Stanger St. to the top, turn right and take the first path down to the lovely River Greta and Fitz Park. We loved our visit to Keswick and Badgers Wood and hope to return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johelenSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location in Keswick. Andrew & Anne very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean and spacious. Our only issue was we only stayed for 2 nights! Will definitely return for longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nanidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I chose this B and B because Rick Steve recommended it. Andrew and Anne were very efficient and friendly with their email correspondence. From the moment we knocked on the door we were welcomed warmly and shown up to our beautiful room. Andrew insisted on carrying our bags up the stairs. We were a bit worried about parking in a congested street, but Andrew found us off-street parking, so no problems there. I have special dietary needs which they met with no problem. Andrew and Anne could not do enough to make us comfortable; we soon felt as if we were staying with friends. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated; the bed was comfortable and the plumbing good. The location was good: close to the shops and near enough for easy walks to the lake. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I chose this B&B because it was one of Rick Steve's recommendations. The hosts Anne and Andrew always responded quickly to emails I sent for advice on planning my visit to the Lake District. The B&B is located on a quiet street just 5 minutes from the train station. My single room was small but had a little alcove with a chair in it that made it feel bigger. Very clean, comfortable bed, hearty breakfasts. Did not get to meet Anne but Andrew could not have been more welcoming or helpful with information on the buses. If I ever get back to the Lake District I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadoinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badgerswood, Owner at Badgers Wood Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Anne was disappointed not to have seen you as your early morning departures to catch local buses took place at the same time as she was preparing our other guests breakfasts We do rather enjoy assisting our guests with travel or sightseeing plans to make their time with us as productive as possible. The two two smaller en-suite single rooms we have are so popular, being fully booked up to 3 months in advance, which provide the solo traveller with best value accommodation when compared with the expensive cost of a double bedroom for single person occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Terrific B &B. Very kind and helpful hosts. Great breakfasts. Very glad we decided to stay there. Would do it again in a heartbeat. Room was very well equipped. Great wireless internet service. We had a great time in Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodwins95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#81 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#26 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#122 of 175 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Property: Badgers Wood Guest House
Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badgers Wood Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing