We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badgers Wood Guest House
Ranked #71 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

From starting the booking process to the moment we left, Anne and Andrew couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Our ensuite room (Rowan) was spotless, very comfortable and had great views of the fells. At breakfast time there were options to suit all tastes and appetites, and the food was delicious. From the B&B it is a short walk to the main street, where you can find dozens of pubs, restaurants and cafes. We didn't have a car and were able to access plenty of walks/hikes from the town. Our experience at Badgers Wood has made us keen to return to Keswick and the hospitality of Anne and Andrew in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent English B&B. Andrew and Ann are gracious hosts as is very typical in England. Andrew has an excellent grasp on hikes in the Lake District. When making a reservation ask for the room named LARCH, it is the only street-side room with a nice bay window. Thursday morning is very noisy w/trash-garbage containers being rolled in the alley beside the B&B. Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before. Breakfast opens at 8:30 am and all need to be seated by 8:45 am. The B&B is located a short uphill climb on Stanger Street. Washcloths were in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for the room named LARCH
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badgerswood, Owner at Badgers Wood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The room you occupied does have good views of the fells, as do our other rooms at both the back and front of the house. We are fortunate that the garbage is collect from our street around 8.00 a.m. in the morning while our guests are already up and about preparing for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Keswick and our stay at Badgers Wood. Location was great, accommodation was comfortable and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Will be recommending to our friends

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had many good discussion with our host and he was very helpful regarding our future travel plans. He also had great knowledge of the local areas which helped us in our sightseeing planning as we were only staying in Keswick for a short time.
The accommodation and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 99Arnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent location and excellent hosts. We have visited the Keswick area lot over the years but this was our first stay at Badgers Wood. It will not be our last. Andrew and Anne are friendly,very helpful and genuinely interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfasts were very good with plenty to choose from. Our room was comfortable ,nicely decorated and the bathroom immaculate. The views of Grisedale Pike and Skiddaw stunning. We arrived about noon, which was an hour earlier than our expected time but Andrew quickly allocated us our off street parking spot so we could go and get a coffee in town. While it is only a few minutes walk into town, if you go up Stanger Street to the top turn right and take the first path down on the left you are in Fitz park. Best of both worlds. We will be very disappointed if we cannot stay at Badgers Wood on our future visits to Keswick. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SueandSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Badgers Wood, location was great, scenery fantastic (Grassmere etc can be seen down the road and Skidaw over the top of the hill and down to the cricket pitch). Room very comfortable and clean. Andrew and Anne were very welcoming and served a good breakfast. Andrew insisted he carry our suitcase up to the top floor, it takes both of us to carry it. Would definitely come back again, really liked Keswick, and maybe do some walking next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aspen which was clean, comfortable with a nice light en-suite and good views to the dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Badgers Wood. We each had a single room, both of which were small, but very comfortable and clean. The owners, Anne & Andrew were friendly and helpful with everything, providing us with fans and lighter blankets because the weather was unusually warm for Keswick and the B&B does not have any air conditioning (too hot is rarely an issue in Keswick). The breakfasts were good and you have a nice selection to choose from. The B&B is located up a steep hill and there are plenty of stairs so keep that in mind if you have mobility problems. For a nice picnic spot, follow the Stanger St. to the top, turn right and take the first path down to the lovely River Greta and Fitz Park. We loved our visit to Keswick and Badgers Wood and hope to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johelenSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#105 of 196 in Keswick
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Ellergill
Ellergill
#104 of 196 in Keswick
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#40 of 196 in Keswick
177 reviews
0 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#7 of 196 in Keswick
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 196 in Keswick
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgers Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgers Wood Guest House

Address: 30 Stanger Street | Lake District, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Badgers Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with free private parking (one car space per room) await you in this restored Lakeland home with its charm and character. In a quiet side street 2 minutes walk from Keswick market square, shops, restaurants and bus station. Fully refurbished en-suite rooms with good mountain views. Reliable free wi-fi available in all bedrooms. The Automobile Association of Great Britain (The 'AA')rated us as 'Highly Commended' placing us into the top 10% of their guest house accommodation in the UK. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badgers Wood Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing