We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend and very romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #94 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked the hotel for our 5th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We had room 4 with the 4-poster bed and great views over the hills. The room and bathroom were big enough and the old fashioned shower and roll top bath finished the authentic touch. The only thing (as mentioned in previous comments) was the noise of the traffic on the main road. This cannot be helped and keeping the windows closed reduced the noise, but I’m not sure whether double glazing would be right for the look of the old windows.
The staff were great and very attentive, with great food and breakfast with plenty to choose from. Our first evening was spent in the restaurant as it was our anniversary, so the quiet atmosphere and candle light was cosy and romantic. We arrived there quite late on the Friday night so we were booked in for our meal at 8.45pm and they were still offering us desert at 9.45pm which was quite good of them. The second night we spent in the bar sampling the local ales and ordered our food from the same menu as the night before.
The room was very clean and made up each day. Regarding previous comments stating it was tired and dirty, I have been in 2 star to 5 star hotels and this was absolutely fine. It is not supposed to be some high class hotel. It keeps within its traditions of a coaching inn (for passers by wanting a roof and a bed for the night) with its old panelling and large fire place in the entrance area, but a modern restaurant and bar. It has a specialty local produce shop within the bar area and a large open space with a seating area to the front to take in the views. I would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway as it is right in the heart of the lakes with access to Grasmere, Ambleside, Keswick and the mountains.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for 4 poster room as it is away from the bar area and it has a large bedroom and bat...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhcp_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

food pretty good, nice views, nice garden. If you book the four poster room it has a big victorian bath. Otherwise i am told shower room very small. Good location for local walks.
down side - very tired and in need of big refurbishment, not very clean, main road outside VERY noisy from 6am. No local charm or cosy bar etc.
Would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenDenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our family of four were on holiday in the Lakes and we were feeling peckish and wanted a spot of Lunch. As we were driving along the A591 we spotted the Hotel/Restaurant and bar. We were warmly greeted with a smile by a member of staff from behind the bar. We enquired if we could bring our well behaved family pet cockapoo with us into the bar. We were answered greeted with "of course you may".

We ordered fours meals of Scampi and fries and Buffalo wings and Chicken and chips and gravy. These were served promptly and were piping hot and extremely tasty. The waiting on team was very attentive and polite.

The toilets were clean and in good working order. I always think you can tell how clean the place is by the way they reflect the toilets.

The bar area is bright and airy and well decorated. It had a lovely farm shop area with locally produced gifts.

We were asked how our meal was whilst dining and checked again when we went to pay. You could not fault the facilities, food or staff. We were all delighted we’d found such a little gem in the lakes!

If it’s a lovely day or evening they have large tables and chairs outside to enjoy drinks and food. The hotel/pub is surrounded by stunning scenery of Lakeland fells. Make sure you bring your camera – you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homerdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed for 5 nights but I wouldn't go back again ONLY because it was so close to the main Windermere to Keswick road. Food was good but the £14 for two courses was limited to starter and main, rather than main and dessert, which even the staff thought was daft. You order your food at the bar so don't expect someone to ask if you want anything else, you can ask them and they'll oblige, but they won't ask you first.
The staff were polite, helpful and their English was ok, just wish they didn't start hoovering at the same time as breakfast.
All the rooms overlook the main road with one rather creeky corridor serving the rooms. The rooms could do with a makeover and I lost count of the number of times my head collided with the light fitting in our room. The bathroom was pretty small but the shower was good and strong.
For a hotel set in an area renowned for walking, cycling etc, disappointed that there was not even any basic washing or drying facilities so our wet smelly muddy cycling kit got washed and slow dried in the bathroom, which stunk the bathroom out.
The Jennings beer served in the bar is excellent particularly the Sneck Lifter and the Steak & Kidney pudding is enough for two people, not sure why they served extra veg' with each main course as the portions were always on the large size. Have to agree with someone else's comment re steak, if you want medium, ask for well done, think if you ask for rare, the chef will cook it over a match !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had two evening meals THE KINGS HEAD and both were excellent with good service. It 's in a lovely setting an convenient to stop at if you've had a day out.
The main bar has been "gastro pubbed" so no more locals to listen to, which is a bit disappointing and the dining room needs updating but the food is so good it doesn't really matter. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HOLLY18Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

we ordered from the steak menu 2 courses for £13.95 good value i thought! Not however when it is the cheapest, nastiest cut of sirloin i have ever seen, and as a chef i've seen a few, both steaks we asked for medium and both were rare, cold and chewy!
The waitress spoke little english, never asked us if we were ok, would we like sweets a drink or even offer a spoon to eat our soup with!
All small things but adds up to annoyed customers who will not be back.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank lollanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Four of us stayed here for a week ending 19th June, we all where pleased with the hotel, bear in mind it was built 1649, rooms where comfortable with new shower and all facilities we would expect, clean linen each day with tea and coffee and mint cake in the bedroom.

The outstanding part of the break was the food, the quality and quantity was outstanding and we have nothing but praise for the young team who run the hotel they where top class.

We recommend this hotel it is a relaxing outlet.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which is the end room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
184 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing