We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #89 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The kings head was amazing. We stayed in room 4 which had a four poster double bed and a great view of the moors. The bathroom was lovely and had a free standing bath with claws. Highly reccomended

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkleymoorbatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
We are glad to hear that you had such a lovely break at the King's Head. Hopefully we will see you in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    175
    108
    46
    47
See reviews for
81
279
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have visited the Kings Head Hotel a few times and have been impressed everytime. The staff are very friendly & helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Eaten a couple of times & really enjoyed it. They have a good choice of beers on draught. Nothing bad to say about the spot, give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoy coming over to the King's Head from Cockermouth and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frizington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I stayed and visited here on many occasions it's warm and friendly and very romantic. Since my husbands death I visit here all the time it's wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a four poster bed well worth the small increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsRLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Front Office Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoy spending time at The King's Head and hope to welcome you back for a visit soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked a night here as a romantic valentines break in Feb this year. We thought we had got a good deal using a local voucher site, which stated that we were getting the room half price. As it turned out, I assume due to it being off season, the full price of the room was less than that stated on the voucher, so we weren't actually getting it half price so this was false advertising, and made us feel a bit cheated.
When booking, we requested that we take a dog. We were told this would be an extra £10. Upon arrival we were then told this would be £15, we only paid £10 in the end, but only because my wife argued about it, as there was no record of us even requesting a dog on the booking.
The room itself was fine, clean etc. The bathroom was exceptionally small though. We had a lovely walk in the snow, then came back and decided to take our evening meal in the hotel due to the bad weather. We had been told nothing on arrival about the different dinner options, only where to go for breakfast, so we headed in to the main bar and dining area, which was the only place we could east as far as we knew, as we had not been given any other information. On the wall was advertised 3 courses for £20, which was conveniently laid out in small sections in the menu or so we thought. We ordered and ate our 3 courses, which were nice, but not outstanding, but no real problems at this point. We then sat in the lounge area before heading to bed.
In the night around 3am, my wife woke with terrible stomach pains, and thought she was suffering a miscarriage due to her being 12 weeks pregnant at this time. She was in the bathroom for hours, and had to go back into the bathroom a few more times before the morning. This turned out not to be a miscarriage thankfully, and we are unsure what the cause was, but in our opinion it could have been what she ate, the meal in the hotel was the only meal we had eaten since breakfast and the illness occurred exactly 8 hours later, though we are unable to exclude another cause such as a stomach bug. Luckily she was fine again by morning.
The next morning when checking out, we were charged separately for our 3 courses, and when we queried this due to the offer on the wall, we were told we had been sat in the wrong place to qualify for this, and that the offer referred to a different dining room, which a) we knew nothing about, and b) why was it advertised where we were sitting if it didn't apply to that place?! We complained about all of the factors mentioned above, except my wife’s illness, which we put down to one of those things. But the staff were not interested and we were given a leaflet and told to write and complain as there was nothing they could do. My wife duly did so, though the address for complaints to be sent to was the very hotel we had stayed in! We felt that we had been over-charged and mis-informed at every opportunity and are very disappointed and feel thoroughly ripped off!
To date my wife has written two letters of complaint, the first of which we had no response from, my wife received a phone call following the second letter, but it was not to apologise, she felt it was an aggressive and upsetting call and we are disappointed that a business which has been running for 25 years has not learnt better customer service skills by now.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. Special offer vouchers were advertised on the bay radio website at £45 per room per night for two adults for B&B. The full rate is £90 per night B&B for two adults. On check out, you had a lengthy conversation with our supervisor, Alex Parvulescu. She explained explicitly that you will not find a cheaper rate than the rate you paid for your stay. Rates on our website are quoted per person per night, which could have been confused with a room rate. We charge £15 per dog per stay; however we offered you a special rate of £10, which is the rate that you paid on check out. No mention was made to Alex at the time of check out regarding food poisoning or that you became ill in the night, which is strange, if it was as serious and intense as you suggest in your review? Food poisoning is a very serious allegation to make against an establishment and this should have been confirmed by a doctor. We have a board in the bar area which advertises special offers in St John’s Restaurant at £20 for three courses. This is a special menu which is served in our main restaurant area. If guests are interested and wish to make use of the offer, they will enquire before just ordering any three courses off the full BAR MENU and then questioning it the next morning. This has never been questioned in the past two years in which the board has been there. I believe that there is an explanation for each of your concerns raised and that there was no valid reason for you to complain or feel “ripped off”. You spoke to a senior member of staff at check out and were unreasonable and unwilling to listen to what she had to say, which meant she couldn’t discuss or resolve any of your issues for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and were very happy with it. All very fresh, well presented and tasted yummy. My husband had black pudding with poached egg, I had a pork and red onion pie and our child had a burger from kids menu. Thy have lots of interesting option for lunches and small bites. Would come again. Nice service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blueboar1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the King's Head and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stopped here for lunch and I found a hair in my sandwich and they got the other sandwich wrong - it came with dry pieces of chicken in brown bread, all very uninspiring and we asked for a refund - they do not seem surprised and happily gave us our money back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire_Freckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are very disappointed to hear of your unfortunate experience. I wouldn’t say that our staff aren’t surprised, they have been trained to acknowledge when it is appropriate to authorise a refund. If you wish to get in touch, we would like to offer you a voucher for a meal for two at the King’s Head or any of our other establishments. We hope you will avail of this offer and enjoy your experience at the King’s Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Where to begin!
Bed was the smallest thing I have ever slept in! If you are over 5 foot 8 - you will be uncomfortable.
Shower was terrible. It was so hot I couldn't bare it. My skin was lobster red! (And i like a hot shower!!!)
Dog next door barked ALL OF THE TIME! (This isn't the hotel's fault... but it would put me off staying there again).
The hotel is on a main road (which the pictures didnt show) - so its not the peaceful location we were hoping for.
Hottest day of the year so far and they run out of ice! Next day there is still no ice. When we asked why they hadn't gone and bought some, the barman replied "because he didn't have a car"... this is just not an excuse!
Food was average at best!
Attention to detail was missing! I would not stay there again or recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
we were most concerned to read your comments and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Kings Head.
All our beds are either a standard 4" 6' or 5" -with high quality fully sprung mattresses, and laundry supplied quality dressings - The Kings Head is a 17th century Inn and some bedrooms are smaller than others thus we cannot get 5" (6' larger than standard) in all our rooms I am assuming that the room you stayed in(I dont know who you are and you did not make your complaints to us during your stay) had a standard 4" 6' double bed. - That is of course unless you stayed in one of our two single rooms which have 3" standard hotel beds.We were sorry to hear that you were not comfortable.
All our showers are hotel standard Mira units fully thermostically adjustable - our houskeeper has not reported any of the thermostatic controls as not working so I am at a loss as to why you were unable to adjust the temperature range which goes from fully cold to hot - again I have no record of this aspect of your complaint whilst you were on the premises - did you just not understand the control ? this could have been easily rectified by a simple phone call to reception. for assistance.
The dog next door is a sheep dog(as you know we are in a rural location) kept in kennels by the farmer - again had you told us via a call to reception we could have spoken to the farmer at the time and I am sure he would have been more than willing to calm his dog - the kennels are away from the farm house.
You imply that we are falsifying our location as being on the main scenic A591 through the Lake District National Park - We positivly promote this as it has been voted the most scenic drive in the UK - it is also a mainly tourist route (the M6 taking all the heavy traffic to the West of the Lake District ) and as such the traffic is minimal during the evening and night time - I am sorry if you were unhappy with our location - most people are delighted with it and the stunning surrounding scenary.
Our ice machine was indeed faulty at the time you stayed - for this I apologise- this has since been rectified - I am positive that the barman (knowing his personality) did not mean to be rude he was just trying to explain a difficult situation.
I am suprised you found our food to be " average at best" (not the normal comment we get) we always welcome constructive critiscism as it helps to improve standards - perhaps if you are taking the time and trouble to write a review you could be more specific in your comments to allow us to address your complaint- General critiscism without any substantive facts is unhelpful and cannot be used by is to bring to the attention of staff who are serving you any true shotcomings.
I am sad to read you would not recommend us but uist be somwhat philisophical about this- as you did nopt allow us to address your comments maybe this was just not the right hotel for you?
If you wish to make yourself known to me I would be delighted to discuss your comments - maybe even invite you back to demonstrate why so many of our guests love the Kings Head and return time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing