We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #90 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My Wife and I stayed here on 24th July 2012 and the hotel in our view is one of the most delightful places we have stayed in the Lake District ( and believe me we have stayed in many over the years) i cant comment on the other rooms but the one we stayed in was fantastic as a forty something male the 40 inch samsung lcd wall mounted T.V did it for me alone, but my wife who is very fussy about cleanliness etc was more than impressed by the clean crisp white sheets on the bed, the spotless bathroom (some negative comments mention its size and angle of sink/toilet) but please remember this is a very old building but the owner has done wonders with its interior to make it as comftable as possible and the showers power/ temperature was perfect for us, All in all we gave the room 10 out of 10.
Our evening was spent downstairs in the bar dining room their my wife enjoyed some of the best scampi she has ever tasted and I chose the locally bred beef burger again very resonably priced and absolutley delicious, pints of very well kept Cockerhoop went down a treat and the wife enjoyed a very nice bottle of Anterra pinot grigio once again 10 out of 10.
Eagerly awaiting our Breakfast in the restaraunt the following morning we were once again treated to more of the same delicious food & great service from the staff employed at the Kings Head Yet again 10 out 10
I felt i had to write this reveiw as soon as i got home as the Kings Head really did make our stay that little bit more special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robshaw2994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the King's Head and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    174
    108
    46
    47
See reviews for
81
277
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

My Fiance & I stayed here for one night and am glad that it was only 1 night!

Good points:
The food- not much choice but very yummy and I'd say well worth the price.
The area- very quiet even on what could be classed as a main road
The staff- very attentive

Bad points:
The room- as soon as we walked in it smelt of mould/ damp material, the window was cracked and the wind was coming through to make the room cold. We ended up placing a blanket over the window as an extra curtain to keep out the draft.
The view- Our scenic view was the hills if you looked out of the window at a certain angle, unless the beer garden is classed as scenic.
The bathroom- towels small and thin, the towel rail warms up but not enough to take a chill out of the room, the shower had one temperature (scalding)
The breakfast- took a while to be given drinks and toast (no sooner had I buttered it had my breakfast arrived), the only part of the breakfast which was hot was the sausage.

The rooms are tidy but just feels as if its been recently taken over and they are slowly doing it up.
By having nicer towels, coffee and toiletries it may get closer to the price we paid. But we did walk out feeling very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernBird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My 7 year old son and I stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. We had been going to go camping but, based on the poor summer weather, took the decision to book here the week beforehand.

Our room was brilliant, offering the individuality of old, independent(ish) establishments that you just don't get in modern, chain hotels; together with the *features* required by a 7 year old and his dad - a TV with Kids channels and a kettle.

For me also, the ability to open/close a traditional sash window to regulate temperature in the room, as opposed to messing with air conditioning, was refreshing in more than one sense of the world. This, together with the quality of the mattress, led to 2 excellent night's sleep - something I very rarely get away from home.

The only minor criticism I have is that the breakfast was very adult oriented - there was plenty of choice, but not much a 7 year old would eat (the cereal choice was bran flakes or corn flakes). A few minor additions to the menu (frosties, scrambled egg) and this hotel would be perfect.

We will definitely revisit though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The King's Head soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Kings Head in July. Having stayed before (albeit several years ago) I was excited to take my family (wife & 2 year old) there at short notice.

The positives:

Excellent value for money
Top marks for the staff - friendly, accomodating & efficient
Superb breakfast
Nice pint of Cockerhoop
The meals are consistent value with other Lake District inns (despite previous comments by other moaners)

Negatives:

The website is not clear when booking - a child is free (under 3) when not using a bed but you are unable to book this on the website and needed several calls to clarify

The shower room and toilet were generally clean but some attention needs to be paid to some deeper cleaning in the out of reach places (wife's comments)!

The toilet was very small so unless you were Jimmy Krankie you had to sit at an angle to avoid the sink.

That said. minor issues and unlike some Victor Meldrews we would recoomend and will be back. Keep up the good beer - so much of Jennings ale can be spoilt and flat by neglect but not so here.

Pass my thanks onto the staff for making this so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimboleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was our 1st time in this hotel and wont be our last. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff couldnt do enough for us and the evening meal was excellent. At breakfast, there was plenty of choice. The bedrooms were immaculate, the chocolate mintcake on our pillows was a nice touch. We would not hesitate to visit here again and looking forward to our next visit. Thank you once again for a lovely stay from Jan and Gary, Liverpool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Jan and Gary
Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back to King's Head for a break again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights DB&B at the Kings Head. Our room was small and the en-suite crampted but comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening dinners were excellent with a wide menu choice.
However, the breakfasts were not so good. Althought a very good menu choice, the food was often only warm or had been standing for some time.
The hotel is very pleasant and we certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your enjoyable stay at the King's Head. It's good to hear that you really enjoyed your dinners; however your breakfast should've been to the same standard. We will look into this matter and rectify anything that is found to be substandard. We hope to welcome you back to The King’s Head soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We found this hotel through the visitor centre in Keswick, one quick phone call and we were booked. We checked in and were told they had given us a slightly better room than the one we had just booked. The room turned out to be delightful, nicely decorated with a 4 poster bed and a huge soaking tub. The road was quiet and we had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was a selection of cereals, yoghurt and fruit and a choice of hot breakfasts from a menu.
Loved this little hotel staff were helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
It's great to hear that you loved your stay in the superior room at the King's Head. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#62 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing