We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
210
205
128
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
205
128
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak and kidney puddingroll top bathfour posterlake districtate hereevening mealcumberland sausagelovely mealreal alekipperslog firelovely locationone night stayboth nightsenjoyable staysingle rooma lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed this.the main road is very close so be warned traffic noise can be an issue but not a massive one.my shower area was damp and needed redoing but that really was my only quibble good staff and a nice hotel with nice views and good parking and food and you dont really expect modern so it kind of fits its tired and worn but i wouldnt pay more than 80 a night for a double tbh

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedupleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay at the King's Head. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Unfortunately, I only stayed at The Kings Head for one night but will definitely go back for a longer stay. What a lovely old coaching inn, situated in a stunningly beautiful location. The inn is full of character, and has a welcoming atmosphere with very reasonable rates and superb cuisine, also very reasonably priced with large portions, My ensuite room was delightful - and spotlessly clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room, also spotless, has great views of the surrounding countryside, and the breakfast was very good with plenty of choices available. I can thoroughly recommend The Kings Head and its superb staff. Here is one very satisfied customer who will most definitely be back for another (longer) visit. Thanks so much to all at The Kings Head who have made my stay such a pleasure - very well done.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the King's Head. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience and that you plan on coming back for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just got back from a nights stay at the Kings head hotel. The place is brilliant! on check in we were shown to a very comfortable room. Our friend booked a single and was given a double which she loved. Room was not the biggest, however we are looking at a 17th centuary coaching Inn. Room was clean and tidy with a great view. The staff were polite and proffesional. had a great value evening meal topped off with a few pints of nice real ale! Breakfast was just right and we didn't feel preasured into hurrying up. All round a terrific nights stay and i would highly recommend. The only down fall was the weather! great place at a great price.

Room Tip: Mind your head on the stairs!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming your party back to the King's Head for a visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Visited twice this weekend.... First was a flying visit for a quick beer in the lovely beer garden which faces west and is a sun trap. Good selection of beers and wines.
We returned on the Sunday for a roast dinner. Three excellent courses for £14.95. Healthy portions, superb lamb and beef and one of the best sticky toffee
puddings I've ever had.
Noted the Italian amarone at a superb £19 bottle but drive home meant we couldn't indulge.
We'll return for a stay and hopefully a bottle of fine Italian red. Overall... A nice spot, friendly staff and great food with an Italian influenc.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Aups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback after your meal at the King's Head Inn. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon, maybe for an overnight stay which will give you the chance to try the wine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hotel itself is lovely , an old coaching in which could be amazing.
The one thing that struck me was lack of organisation. I personally had no booking issues but whilst waiting in the lounge heard 3 separate booking cock ups. We didn't stop for food mainly because of the lack of atmosphere and didn't get told anything about dining in etc as you would expect. Breakfast had very good choice served in the restaurant and was very nice. My room was a small single that had a strange smell but overall nice. A number of the staff were huffing and puffing and just looked miserable however the men behind the bar were friendly and chatty . So on a whole plus points and minus. All I can say is at the moment or when I stayed average but has the potential to be amazing just needs love and time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews