We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #91 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 February 2008

A long awaited 2 day break, and the Kings Head, Thilrmere was the perfect place to relax after an exhilerating day in the great outdoors (we had sunshine!!) ..... 'oldy worldy' environment with a touch of modern in the bar area, wonderful open fires, delicious food, comfy bed (!), hot powerful shower, and friendly, helpful staff, who work exceedingly hard to accomodate everyone's needs. We were the only one's there on our first visit, everyone else were regulars. The king's Head is now on our retirement list!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O2Bretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2008

Given a good forecast for the Lakes, we arrived to dull and drizzly, but the welcome we received made up for the weather. Although our room was smallish, we had all the 'conveniences' we needed, and it was cosy to return to after an excellent dinner in the formal dining room, (there were bar meals available, but as it was our first visit, we opted for the three course menu). And it was lovely to enjoy a drink by the blazing fire on such a wet night. We awoke to glorious sunshine which transformed not only the Hotel, but the whole area, and although only staying 1 night, returned after a morning visiting Grasmere and wallowing in Wordsworth, to a very nice lunch, and returned home very satisfied with our short stay which will not be our last. We can recommend the Kings Head Hotel to anyone who enjoys good food, oldy worldy surroundings, (although the bar is new it doesn't detract), and attentive staff. Thank you all for making our stay so pleasant.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Jennywren82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We returned to the Kings Head after thirty years to find that it was just what we had remembered, a quiet, slighty eccentric country Inn.

The staff were polite , helpful and pleasant throughout our 4 day stay.
The standard of service at times was a little amateur but I sometime think this is not such a bad thing ( as long as in not too glaringly amateur ) its a site better than the corporate hotels meaningless 'have a nice day......we hope you enjoyed your stay' sort of talk. The result of too many costomer care seminars!!

The breakfasts were well cooked and well presented, a perfectly adequate start to the day.

Dinners, from the set St Johns restaurant menu, taken in the bar dining room were excellent. The sevice was as you wanted it quick if you didn't want to linger but more leasurely if that was your mood.

The bedroom was small but that is the character of an old place. If you want lots of space go somewhere more modern.

The only real critsism would be the bathroom, that although perfectly OK, lacked a bath although having said that the shower was very good

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

This was our 6th visit to this charming hotel and standards have definatly improved since our last visit. The staff were good and the rooms clean and comfortable. The St Johns restaurant is well worth a visit. We are both vegetarians and the chef made a big effort with our meals. The hotel is in a stunning location and is an ideal base for touring the Lake District. We will definatly return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DENISE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

The first thing you`ll discover about this place is it seems to be run by the staff.There`s no one in any kind of authority at all ,so it is a bit of a place where there is no one to direct the staff and therefore everything is a bit all together messy.
Food ....Avoid the cooked breakfast.Bacon is well undercooked as also the eggs..As in keeping with this, the toast needs a turn up of the toaster dial.If you want marmade at all you`ll either need to ask for it or on the third day of our stay the waitress will come round and dispensed it out of a large catering tub and dollop it into a dish.Also the tea is cold.Best bet order the kippers.Evening food is as stated by another reviewer of the bar variety ,good but overpriced.
Room.....Very small.It is a old building so that`s got to be expected .You`ll have to beware though if you have large legs that it will be near impossible to sit on the wc as it is so close to the shower cubicle.Gents when you go for a wee best do it sideaways as it saves you the bother of getting stuck if you go to the usual central position.Single beds were too small and I`m only 5 foot eight.
Bar ....As stated in other reviews it`s been fitted out by Ikea.Not in keeping with rest of old building.
Staff.....Enough said.In general they seem pleasant but with no chief.Last day I went down at eight to pack car and chef was locked out of the dining room as waitress/receptionist had slept in.I suggested he dial up o as to get her out her bed! This same girl had to check me out and serve breakfast at same time.Touch of the Fawlty Towers .
Liked the nice coal fire at night and the Jennings beer is fine.We paid £60 and that price is about right.Weekend prices are far too pricey for standard of hotel.
So to sum up ,needs a manager to manage but I get the impresion that that`s how the owners of this Lakeland chain want it run but it`s really not on.Pay your money and take your chances but don`t pay their top dollar price.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaartenCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Stayed: December 2006
8  Thank sophie.26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
189 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
476 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
556 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing