We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing anniversary celebration!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #94 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We and our friends regularly meet half way between Lincolnshire and Fife for family holidays. With a rare opportunity of a child-free weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversaries we asked around for recommendations and unfortunately the King's Head at Thirlmere was decided upon. Our initial impression on arrival was of a cosy coaching inn. However, things went downhill from then on. Rooms were cold, windows draughty, beds uncomfortable, decor extremely shabby (to say the least - there were cracks in the walls with chewing gum stuck in!!), mildew on curtains, rooms serviced poorly and late in the day; trays, linen and rubbish on the landing at 5pm, the list goes on. Worst of all, on complaining the duty manager offered a 10% reduction. Initially we were over-charged (twice for a bottle of wine) and when the final bill was presented things didn't add up so we checked. The bill showed 10% off and each item was correct but mysteriously £20 was added (not itemised) onto the total. The same happened to our friends' bill. Our bill was £300 per couple, not a cheap weekend away. We were so unhappy I attempted many times to contact Mr Sweeny (the owner) to complain. Mr Sweeny was never available and never returned my calls.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel! There is a MacDonald hotel nearby and with their special deals was no more exp...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahS_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

Should have read the 1st November review but we had been there before (about 2 years ago) and stayed there once several years ago and on both occasions it was good. We also ordered the Steak Menu which was truly awful!
It was a cold day so we thought a bowl of soup would be nice to start with - the soup of the day was duck which consisted of shredded duck chucked into a tepid liquid which also contained rock hard bits of tinned vegetables accompanied by a bit of cold bread and two hard lumps of butter. When the plates were cleared we said the soup was not very warm but this provoked no reaction so presumably this is the norm.
We had ordered one pork chop and one ham steak for main course but were told that there were no chops so we settled for 2 ham steaks. The ham was reheated (although to use the word "heated" is over generous - rather it had been placed in the vicinity of heat for a second or two) and accompanied by 3 onion rings a mushroom and a tomato. Some strange potato based things were also served in a little bucket - the menu suggested they were hand cut chips but they bore absolutely no resemblance either in appearance or taste to any chip known to man!
When I came to pay the bill I said the meal was very poor but again it was clear that they really couldn't give a toss.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lakeland130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed six nights in the King's Head Hotel during November 2012. I found the hotel via a 'late deals' site - a great deal at £30 per night on a Bed and Breakfast basis.

Apart from being a bit on the small side, the room was ideal. Good-sized flat screen TV mounted on the wall, comfortable bed, en-suite shower room, very clean and tidy, nice and warm, plenty towels and plenty tea and coffee.

Breakfast was superb! A good selection of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc. as well as a choice from full cooked breakfast, full cooked veggie breakfast, kippers, etc.

I also dined in the hotel ordering a three-course meal from the steak menu. The food was excellent and very good value.

Throughout my stay the room was kept very clean and tidy, with regular top-ups of tea and coffee as well as replacement towels as required.

I was worried that the hotel had no drying facilities for wet walking clothes. However, the heating in the rooms was so good that everything always dried out well for the following day.

The hotel itself is a fantastic old building. It has lots of atmosphere with a great wee residents lounge with wood-burning stove. My only criticism is that the public bar has no atmosphere. It has been "modernised" and now feels out of place with the rest of the hotel.

All the staff I encountered were friendly.

The hotel is ideally placed for walking in the Lakes. Walk from the door of the hotel to the summit of Helvellyn. Keswick is also a short drive away (circa 5 miles) where there are loads of gear shops and a great selection of take away options.

There is also lots of parking which is free.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Looking forward already to using this hotel on my next trip to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The King's Head Inn. It sounds like you enjoiyed every aspect of your stay! You will be glad to hear that we are starting a refurbishment project in the public bar area, which will be completed by the time of your next visit in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I had pre-booked this hotel on v the internet bed and breakfast i was up in the Lakes taking photos. There is plenty of parking spaces. The buiding i was told dated back to the 17th century. The staff are very freindly there is a cosy residents lounge near the reception although the fire kept going out. The rooms are quite small but ok ,with tea and coffee making on hand, a large TV and on suite shower and toilet. I didnt have dinner but most of the residents did and all i asked said they enjoyed it,the breakfast is excellent the cumberland sausage is the best sausage i have ever had. The only slight down side as i like a drink the Guinness was £3.45p a pint to expensive,you can get one in Burnley for £2.09. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobrolybbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the King's Head. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the Cumberland sausage was a hit! Our bar prices are relative to our competitors and the area and vary from place to place. Great to hear you'll be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel was recommended locally. As they had a steak menu, we ordered off there. Ham and sirloin. The ham was reheated and totally indelible, this meal was returned. A sirloin steak meal was offered as a replacement. The meat was so tough we had to leave it and the onions were burnt. Come on guys the local hotels recommend you, you are letting them down. A very poor meal. No baby changing facilities in the bar toilets.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank NikkiJoynson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for your comments following your visit. I am very disappointed to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your experience. Our steak menu is very popular and very rarely do we have adverse remarks regarding the quality of the meat. We will look into this matter with our butcher as a matter of urgency. If you would like to contact us directly, we would be happy to offer you a voucher should you wish to visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

A very enjoyable lunch. Great menu everything from soup to steak and reasonably priced too. Evening and Sunday lunchtime menus looked good too. Friendly staff and pleasant surroundings. A welcome stop on our journey home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we're pleased that we offered a welcome break on your long journey. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Good value for the price, booked via late rooms only 2 days before, very few hotels accept a dog, note the £15 charge.
Warm welcome, given room 4 which contained a four poster, turned out to be very comfortable, the towels were arranged as swans on the bed.The view from the window over the hills by Thirlmere was outstanding. The room was warm, nice radiator. Good sized TV with plenty of channels. The hotel is old with plenty of character, enjoyed the undulating creaking floors and low beams and the fire in the lounge.
The bathroom was well presented with claw foot bath and plenty of hot water, interesting noisy pipes, more character.
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel although the menu looked good, the breafast choice was varied we tried the full english with tea and toast and sat in the window and enjoyed the view of Skiddaw.
Overall very good, the dog enjoyed it too, will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4, its over the dining room and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandtomtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

We are pleased to hear that you and your dog thoroughly enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to The King's Head in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
183 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing