We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #84 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed two nights with a late rooms discount offer. This lovely period building with panelled walls and real fires is cosy and welcoming. The staff were very nice and accomodating. Our room was at the far right of the building above the bar and was comfortable. My only quibble was that there was a very small bathroom with not enough leg room for the loo. After a hard days walk we needed showers before eating but there was no hot water. We were told later that a new hot water boiler is due to be installed and improvements made to the rooms starting at room 1 (we were in 12) If the water is left running it eventually got warm.
We ate in the bar on the first night. Food was tasty but very small portions more fine dining style andwe felt overpriced, if you are looking for a hearty meal after a long day on the fells this is probably not going to satisfy.
Breakfast was good but not spectacular, it did keep us fueled up for the day so can't complain.
On reflection it was reasonable value for the reduced rate we had but I would have been dissapointed paying the advertised rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Alan

Thank you for your lovely review. We like that you describe the King's Head as "cosy and welcoming" and that you enjoyed the real fires.

In response to your comment regarding the food portions; we offer small, medium and large portions on our lunch and dinner bar menu. I'm not sure which dish you ordered, however I can assure you that dishes like steak and kidney pie or fish & chips are large, hearty portions.

I’m pleased that you found your stay good value and hope that you return to The King’s Head soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    179
    110
    49
    47
See reviews for
85
293
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I brought my husband here for his birthday weekend staying for 4nights and the fact we could bring our dog and she could come everywhere in the hotel with us was fantastic, the weather was terrible which of course is nobody's fault the snow was really bad.
When we arrived we checked in only to get to our room and find it hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupant leaving, we went back to reception and this was soon sorted. Our room was fine in size but the first night when we went back to our room it was absolutely freezing the radiator was barely warm, however we went to bed, after an hour and me having socks and a jumper on in bed I could take no more I went down to the reception and asked if there was a heater we could have as the room was absolutely freezing, one of the bar men came and bled our radiator but this didn't help, they did give us a heater which after a while did heat the room up considerably, had we have not been given this we would have definitely have asked for a refund and would have gone home early, speaking to other guests during our stay they all complained at how cold there rooms were too!!!!
Also we could o ly ever get hot water first thing in a morning and you had to leave it to run for at least 5mins for it to get really hot, personally after being out walking all day I would like to have been able to have a shower when we got back in the evening but there was never any hot water then, our ensuite was a good size but also freezing which didn't make for a pleasant experience each time you had a shower or needed the toilet, the food at the hotel was gorgeous we had a good selection at breakfast every morning and we chose to dine in the bar every evening every meal we had was delicious, the staff were all very friendly and helpful which is very rate these days they couldn't do enough for people and work very hard.
I must really insist that the owner look into the heating and hot water issues during the winter months as something really needs doing about it, it's a great hotel apart from being sooooo cold!!!!!!
I'd definitely come back but would wait until the summer months when it is warmer outside so then hopefully not tooooo cold inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, a snow weekend, walking and chilling. A great base close to the fells, Keswick n Grasmere. Food very nice, breakfasts good with plenty of choice. Room 4 is a four poster which is a great size and one of the few rooms with a deep bath. On the front so great views, albeit the road is busy with traffic noise. Staff very friendly n helpful certainly recommend it.
The place is a pub n restaurant too and has been recently refurbished and new management. Bar area has lost the traditional charm it used to have which was sad as it is rather contemporary now, however is still welcoming and worth a visit. No more roaring log fires but a good place to visit in the good weather!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A belated review - stayed 5 days over christmas 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very freindly, helpful and welcoming staff, excellent accommodation. Great base for going walking and on main bus route. Breakfasts were ok, only had one evening meal which was fine (although 'chips' only just made it into the plural!) and the beer was excellent. On the whole I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, sun or no sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Steve
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The King's Head over the Christmas period. We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation "excellent" and that the staff were "helpful and welcoming". We hope that you will enjoy sunshine on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Spent 4 day break in this delightful hotel. Delightful experience with good food, wines and excellent service from staff who were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was very comfortable and clean. We were lucky with the weather - managed a sail on Ullswater and visited so many small villages and towns. Unfortunately cannot walk at the moment so missed out on what I'm sure would have been a great experience. Will be back again!

Room Tip: Most rooms face the main road but are quiet in the evening. Lovely views from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the King's. Hopefully you'll be mobile again soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We have found that the kings head at thirlspot is a lovely place to go after exploring the wonders of the lakes. The staff cannot do enough for you,especially christian & anke! We called in most days for a couple of hours for a drink (or 2).The fires are always roaring, the hospitality always welcoming & the local food and ales always fulfilling. They are very dog friendly and treated our westie like a king! If you are in thirlmere or just passing through........make the time to call in ,....you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgailbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We try to go that extra mile to keep our customers happy! We hope that you visit the Lakes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were on our way down from Keswick to Windermere and popped in for a sport of lunch. We had the basket meal of Cumberland sausage and chips which was served promptly and was a reasonable price. The beer was on good form and again did not break the bank. There was a good wine selection. I'd certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We are glad to hear that we proved to be a good choice of place to "stop off" and that you enjoyed both the food and drinks. Hopefully you'll pop in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing