We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #86 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It is a great place to stay with fantastic views the food is also very good except the breakfast seem a little on the small side n tea and coffee is poor . The alcoholic drinks are a fair price too . The let down is traffic going by at five in the morning ! But if you can sleep through that your stay will be great !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeduguid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the lovely views and food that the King's Head offers.
We try to cater for everyone at breakfast with a menu which offers smaller (poached eggs with Cumbrian Ham) and larger options (full cooked breakfast) as well as a wide range of buffet items to accompany the cooked options. Pots of breakfast tea are made to order and we use ground filter coffee from a reputable coffee merchant in Cumbria.
The King's Head is perfectly situated between Keswick and Grasmere, most traffic passes between 8am and 6pm. I'm sorry that your sleep was desturbed, however hope that this didn't take away from your stay with us and that you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    181
    113
    50
    47
See reviews for
85
299
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We have eaten here before but this is our first stay.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and our room although a little small was very well presented
and very clean. Excellent power shower, lovely and hot too !!
We had our evening meal in the bar area and found it good value for money and very tasty with a good choice on offer. The accomodation is full of charm and character and the views from both our room and the breakfast room were truly wonderful.
The only down side was our bed ...... think a new mattress would improve the stay, could feel some springs sticking through. Don't forget the hotel is on a busy main road and no double glazing!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and wonderful views at the King's Head and that you described your meal as "good value for money and very tasty". I will check the mattress and take necessary steps straight away.
Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This hotel is not actually in Keswick, but in a place called Thirlspot, just north of Thirlmere on the A591. We stayed here over Easter on an Easy Break package. The hotel is an old coaching inn and has has plenty of character with low beams and panelled walls. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the room above the entrance which was a reasonable size and very warm, but the big problem was the lack of space in the en suite. The shower was very good but there was no room between the WC and the basin which made life very difficult.....! It appears many of the rooms are like this. To be fair this was the only problem we had. The views from the breakfast room up the valley were superb. The choice of items for breakfast was considerable and the quality of the food was very good. We had dinner each night and despite the fact that we were on an all-inclusive package there were no restictions on the choice from the menu and the meals were superb. The hotel is in a great location for low and high level walks. The snow made for an interesting adventure but it also added to the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Watch out for the tiny en suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoggy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review following your stay at the King's Head.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the period features of the coaching inn. Unfortunately the small en-suites come as part and parcel of the 17th century building!

We hope you will return to enjoy the beautiful views once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

On the hole the staff were very polite and friendly. (There let down was there responds to the poor food). The accommodation was good for the price paid; the position of the Kings Head was very good with regards walking as if you did not want to drive you could just set of and have plenty of varying walks at your feet.

The down side for me was against what I had researched with regards the food, it was not to be the three times I dinner there. The first meal The vegetables were very hard not as in Al dente but as in blanched. The second meal I thought was safe and went for the spiced hot pot .. But no it came on a hot plate but the tin dish and the hot pot were look warm. (For me I can eat anything and did) that’s not the point for most the meal was not as ordered HOT POT!!! Or spiced We ate out on the Saturday a very good curry The forth night We ate in again for convenience the first meal we wanted they did not have RAN OUT ok that happens. The meal we did have was ok In summery the food was overpriced and below normal pub standards.

Room Tip: Did not have a complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Ian
Thank you for your comments following your visit to the King's Head.
I'm disappointed to read that some aspects of your meals were substandard. We continually strive to improve our menus and dishes and your feedback is very valuable to us. We will certainly use it to improve our product.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the situation of the Inn and the many lovely walks from the door. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed two nights with a late rooms discount offer. This lovely period building with panelled walls and real fires is cosy and welcoming. The staff were very nice and accomodating. Our room was at the far right of the building above the bar and was comfortable. My only quibble was that there was a very small bathroom with not enough leg room for the loo. After a hard days walk we needed showers before eating but there was no hot water. We were told later that a new hot water boiler is due to be installed and improvements made to the rooms starting at room 1 (we were in 12) If the water is left running it eventually got warm.
We ate in the bar on the first night. Food was tasty but very small portions more fine dining style andwe felt overpriced, if you are looking for a hearty meal after a long day on the fells this is probably not going to satisfy.
Breakfast was good but not spectacular, it did keep us fueled up for the day so can't complain.
On reflection it was reasonable value for the reduced rate we had but I would have been dissapointed paying the advertised rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Alan

Thank you for your lovely review. We like that you describe the King's Head as "cosy and welcoming" and that you enjoyed the real fires.

In response to your comment regarding the food portions; we offer small, medium and large portions on our lunch and dinner bar menu. I'm not sure which dish you ordered, however I can assure you that dishes like steak and kidney pie or fish & chips are large, hearty portions.

I’m pleased that you found your stay good value and hope that you return to The King’s Head soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I brought my husband here for his birthday weekend staying for 4nights and the fact we could bring our dog and she could come everywhere in the hotel with us was fantastic, the weather was terrible which of course is nobody's fault the snow was really bad.
When we arrived we checked in only to get to our room and find it hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupant leaving, we went back to reception and this was soon sorted. Our room was fine in size but the first night when we went back to our room it was absolutely freezing the radiator was barely warm, however we went to bed, after an hour and me having socks and a jumper on in bed I could take no more I went down to the reception and asked if there was a heater we could have as the room was absolutely freezing, one of the bar men came and bled our radiator but this didn't help, they did give us a heater which after a while did heat the room up considerably, had we have not been given this we would have definitely have asked for a refund and would have gone home early, speaking to other guests during our stay they all complained at how cold there rooms were too!!!!
Also we could o ly ever get hot water first thing in a morning and you had to leave it to run for at least 5mins for it to get really hot, personally after being out walking all day I would like to have been able to have a shower when we got back in the evening but there was never any hot water then, our ensuite was a good size but also freezing which didn't make for a pleasant experience each time you had a shower or needed the toilet, the food at the hotel was gorgeous we had a good selection at breakfast every morning and we chose to dine in the bar every evening every meal we had was delicious, the staff were all very friendly and helpful which is very rate these days they couldn't do enough for people and work very hard.
I must really insist that the owner look into the heating and hot water issues during the winter months as something really needs doing about it, it's a great hotel apart from being sooooo cold!!!!!!
I'd definitely come back but would wait until the summer months when it is warmer outside so then hopefully not tooooo cold inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, a snow weekend, walking and chilling. A great base close to the fells, Keswick n Grasmere. Food very nice, breakfasts good with plenty of choice. Room 4 is a four poster which is a great size and one of the few rooms with a deep bath. On the front so great views, albeit the road is busy with traffic noise. Staff very friendly n helpful certainly recommend it.
The place is a pub n restaurant too and has been recently refurbished and new management. Bar area has lost the traditional charm it used to have which was sad as it is rather contemporary now, however is still welcoming and worth a visit. No more roaring log fires but a good place to visit in the good weather!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
174 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing