We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Head Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
205
204
126
54
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
204
126
54
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak and kidney puddingroll top bathfour posterlake districtate hereevening mealcumberland sausagelovely mealreal alekipperslog firelovely locationone night stayboth nightsenjoyable staysingle rooma lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Dropped in here on our way to Ambleside, will definitely be our first stop on future visits to this beautiful area. Had a lovely lunch, which was very reasonable, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Thirlspot, just outside Keswick, on the A591 towards Ambleside. Looks like a terrace of white cottages knocked into one. Downstairs very nice, dining room, lounge, bar, and shop selling local items and souvenirs. Stands on its own in country surroundings with a farm next door. Pleasant sitting area outside. Thirlmere lake nearby in walking distance. Keswick is a bus/car ride away; bus stops right outside. I think I was the only English person staying there and I got the last room, Americans, Australians and a big group of Irish ramblers, the staff were all Romanian. All pleasant and spoke good English, but they just didn't have an English mode de vie. The real ale was good 4 choices. The menu was quite varied and they offer a 3 course for £16.95 - which was very tasty. had to laugh as the soup was French Onion. (Excellent). The salmon was fresh and Béarnise sauce again excellent, and followed by the best sticky toffee pud I've had.
The room was 16 right at the end so it took 10 mins to draw some hot water, the door rattled loudly every time someone opened another door along the corridor, as this one faces the corridor. The window was cracked and drafty, and there was damp above it. Apart from that it was OK, TV and coffee etc.
The dining room is really nicely decorated and furnished; with lovely views. Good diverse choice for breakfast, Arbroath smokies, bacon & egg, Cumbrian traditional: honeyroast ham poached eggs and apricot chutney + veggy option. Toast and coffee/tea. No fruit juice or cereal though.
Overall it was an enjoyable stop mainly for value and the food.
It was very busy for meals around 7pm and the servers and kitchen coped impressively well, stop serving 8.30.

Part of the lake district inns chain.

tel: 017687 72393
email: stay@lakedistrictinns,co,uk

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We've stopped here a few times now after going fell walking.
The staff are very pleasant and professional.
The food is tasty with good portions. Excellent chips! (if you like them large)
The beer is Marstons/Jennings and is well kept.
The beer garden out front is a pleasant place to sit.
Dogs allowed in the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

As we arrived rather late for lunch 3.00 pm in fact. We were not expecting too much. What a surprise the food was freshly cooked very tasty and good portion size. Sticky toffee pud was yummy definitely worth a stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONYDIVER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a meal in here one night, whilst camping at the campsite next door, I have also previously visited it at the end of a walk. Nice old coach house that looks like it has been recently renovated inside.

The food was good, I had the steak which I thought was excellent value as they do it as a deal with either one or two additional courses. My friend had a bar meal, chicken and chips, this was also excellent value, she got what appeared to be a bottomless basket of chips.

They have Jennings beer which has always been well kept when I have visited here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ultrarun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews