We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best food we've had in the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #81 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Short trip to the Lake District, staying at the Lodge down the road which recommended The Kings Head. The food was exceptional, lovely quirky feel and great service from Adam and the team. And refreshing to see how good value it was, we would have happily paid more. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were staying down the road at The Lodge in the Vale and called in for a few drinks and a snack one evening. We were made to feel very welcome and the bar staff were happy to chat.

The drink and food selection is varied with options ranging from a quick snack to a full three course meal however it is a little expensive; we had a cheese board and four drinks and left with a £22 bill!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent a lovely couple of days here. The Inn is full of character, our room (room 4 ) was well furnished and decorated and very cosy.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ate here both evenings and the food was great, there was also a good selection of ales.
We are looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houtingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stopped here by chance for a late lunch on a rainy and grey Monday. Quite a large menu of choices for lunch, and good polite staff who brought our food quickly. We had soup and sandwich combination, fresh bread and good fillings, though the soup was a bit too peppery. Very comfortable seating with three large lounge areas to choose from. Toilets very modern and clean. A good setting by the road past Thirlmere and a good choice of place to stop when in the area, with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here Saturday evening. Friendly staff. Clean with very good service. Had the steak meal was excellent. We had 10% discount since we were staying at The lodge in the vale. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

stopped here quite unplanned , but it proved to be very fortuitous we were desperate to find somewhere that looked promising for lunch, then found we had stumbled upon a true gem, great menu choice best chips eve n beautiful buildings with a contemporary interior food arrived quickly and piping hot served by friendly and welcoming staff all areas were immaculate and well decorated will be returning that way soon and will probably book a room next time entirely based on our experience in the restaurant.

Room Tip: all rooms recently renovated although some facing the road will have traffic noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooke206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Dropped in here on our way to Ambleside, will definitely be our first stop on future visits to this beautiful area. Had a lovely lunch, which was very reasonable, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#18 of 22 in Keswick
491 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#21 of 22 in Keswick
200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing