We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but not very well organised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #94 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was travelling alone with my dog & emailed before booking to check whether she could come to breakfast with me, they said I could have breakfast in the bar area with the dog, other guests without dogs have breakfast in the restaurant.
When I rang to book I again checked breakfast in the bar was fine & happened often, I was assured it was. I checked in & said I wanted to arrange for breakfast in the bar, the girl on reception said a table would be set up for me in there.

Sunday morning, I come down for breakfast, go in the bar, no table set up, go to the restaurant to ask what has happened, they say no problem we'll set it up. They do set a table, but I then have to ask for a plate when they bring toast & twice had to ask for milk. However the breakfast was lovely, very well cooked & fresh. Worst point was the cleaner hoovering around us as I was eating & my dog sat cowering under the table!
Monday morning, go to the bar, no table set up, deja vu! Anyway, get my breakfast, had to ask for milk again & it was delivered in a gravy boat, which amused me highly! And yet again the cleaner appeared with her hoover.

I'm very disappointed in this as I felt as if I was a nuisance, despite checking in advance that this was ok. I have stayed in many other places with the dog & not had a problem & I have never had anyone clean around me before! As the request for breakfast in the bar was booked weeks in advance I feel the cleaner should have cleaned in there before breakfast was due to be served.

Also, small point but the cleaner should have spent less time hoovering while guests were eating & more time getting rid of the cobwebs as there were quite a few in my room.

The staff were friendly & the food was lovely & I'm sure that if I was eating in the restaurant I wouldn't have had a problem, but I wasn't the only guest staying with a dog & the same thing happened to them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1womanandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent value for money. We have stayed here on our trips to the Lakes 4 times now and have never been disappointed. Adam and the crew are very good, friendly attentive and always cheery, the food has never been disappointing and is always good value for money, and you get plenty of it. The rooms are always comfortable and well maintained, if I had one criticism it would be rooms 1&2 have laminate floor instead of carpet which I find noisy and cold.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the middle of the Hotel would be a bit quieter, such as 5 - 20.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here a couple of times now on trips up to Lakes, most recently just before Easter. I was travelling on my own this time and arriving late. Checking in was quick and easy and the room was small single but en-suite, comfortable and very clean. Everything expected was in good working order. Bar/ pub downstairs has been refurbished and a bit generic but good beers!
Menu looked good but I had eaten already so can't really comment on that. Breakfast though was very efficient with good staff, quick service and food that was very nice. Good selection as well for a breakfast menu.
All in all a bargain for the single room price I paid. If I need to stay in the area again I would definitely look here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped here through necessity but decided to stay and eat rather than travelling further. It was a great decision. The staff were friendly and the food was presented well with a great choice for all tastes. We were a little apprehensive and had vowed not to eat there due to the reviews we read on here but, boy were we glad we did... Wild Mushroom pasta and the Poached Salmon were wonderful with tasty starters too. Would definately call in there again, this time planned, if we were in the area! A+

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband, daughter 4 years and dog 13 years in a family room. The hotel is basic but room was clean and a good size. Excellent location for walking. We climbed helvellyn from the front door. Food was ok and after a long days walking was better than cooking!! The staff were friendly and my daughter entertained the residents with her singing!! Lucky them. We had perfect weather but sorry it can't guarantee that in the lakes!! Would def recommend if you want clean, friendly and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynerich7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

On Family Holiday we were Looking forward to a lovley meal at the kings head which was recommended by a leaflet.
On arrival to the kings head the location was beautiful and looked very appealing.
On the other hand the staff were very incompetant which delayed ordering drinks. On review of th. Menu the food sounded really yummy and satisfying. But on delivery of food to the table it was not satisfactory. The ham was dryed out with no flavour, the salmon was nice but with very little sauce and the Burger was over cooked. Very upset with the quality of food.
Unfortunatly We wont be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimdale91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stopped by here for lunch on our drive back to Yorkshire. The building itself has a lot of character and charm, and the inside has a good atmosphere and a lot of seating. There is a good choice on the menu.
I had a mozzarella and basil toasted baguette which was very nice (perhaps could have done with a little spread of pesto inside to help enhance the flavour) and my partner had a gorgeous pasta dish. We both had sticky toffee pudding for dessert which was outstanding. The staff were attentive and competent and overall it was a very good experience so thank you to the staff and I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank aroman_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
185 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £70 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing