We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two brilliant staff members do not a hotel make!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #85 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Two brilliant staff members do not a hotel make!”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This was a nostalgic trip from my home in France to visit family in the region. The location of the Kings Head is stunning and very convenient for North and South Lakes. A historic building in the main sympathetically used, although the new modern bar is a bit odd!
On checking in I was directed to my single room which I had been warned was small - no problem in the miniature size but a mouldy shower and stains on the wall where a previous guest had obviously had a great time swatting flies/mosquitos led me to ask for a change. The second room (room 1) was adequate for a single traveller - clean,(except the shower again!) room to unpack and great water pressure in the shower (soooo important). However the plug sockets were broken and probably dangerous.
I had dinner in the restaurant - nice room, ok-ish food, spot on service from a young South African. Her colleague who I understand is from Romania, were the highspots of my stay - patient, incredibly hard working under difficult circumstances (one of their colleagues walked out without warning leaving them to cope with a full hotel alone!)and commited. Breakfasts were superb. The rest of the food was mediocre - I think I had Sunday lunch on the same day as a previous reviewer and found it really poor - overcooked, badly presented and tasteless.
All in all a bit of a disappointment - I have also now discovered I left a small item in my room and was coldly told on the phone that the minimum postal charge to return it is ten pounds! Why?? O and someone ought to dim the corridor lights so that the rooms are dark at night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyandpeterchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    181
    113
    50
    47
See reviews for
85
299
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

You may think Im being overly harsh and just one of those people that likes to rant but this is not the case. I visited the Kings Head with family for Sunday lunch. We waited for ages for our food and when it did finally arrive service was certainly minus a smile. Although the chicken was ok, the yorkshire puddings were burnt to a crisp. To follow this came a rather synthetic lemon meringue pie. This really wasn't very nice. The 'meringue' was grey and gooie, it reminded me of filler.

I am a student so am well use to buying budget meals and although the meal was not expensive it did not represent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keswick hotels

merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

beneath room 17 is the bar and the beer coolers which is situated behind the bar. the coolers, unless on the timer can be on all night, vibrating through the floor which they were on our stay, even when they are switched off there is a constant whirring noise. so dont stay in this room! other than that the hotel was value for money at that price.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Booked weekend stay including special meal on Saturday night - this also included free wine-you could drink as much as you wanted - several types on offer. Quite funny as we later witnessed quite a few of the older generation who were a little giddy.
Rooms are old & quite small with floor boards very creaky - but you have to remember it is over 300 years old.
We found the staff very friendly & helpful they were from eastern europe & USA.
Would certainly return to this hotel felt it was great value - had a great fire place very cosy in winter months!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWINDON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. There were only 7 people in the hotel.
The rooms were clean and of an average size .Beds were good and the bathrooms were a good size.
Our evening dinners were of an excellent quality, 3 courses for £15.00 pp.Good wine list, good kept real ales .Fantastic breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilgwade555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We wanted somewhere quiet, that's what we expected from their website and exactly what we got. A fantastic remote location, but still on the main road, (which we never heard), and only 5-6 miles south of Keswick town centre.

Ample parking, quick efficient booking in, a lovely family room big enough for a family of 4 including two large messy teenagers and one family dog.

The majority of the hotel is traditional in decoration and feel - and that's it's charm - it's lovely and welcoming. Then there is the contrast of the contemporary styled bar which was equally comforable and welcoming.

The restaurant has beautiful views, we only had breakfast in there and chose to dine one night in the bar, and the second night in the additional dining area near the bar. The food at each meal was excellent with a great choices from the menu, steak menu and bar meals - something to suit all our tastes.

Our sons occupied some of their time playing pool, but on the whole we all spent time chilling out, which this is the perfect setting for.

The staff were prompt, efficient and friendly at all times, it was a lovely break in one of our favourite places.

It's always a real treat to find a lovely hotel that will allow the dog to stay. There were several areas that he would be allowed into, and these were shown to us. However, after a day of lake walking our dog just slept in our room while we went down to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midlanders_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bletchley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We found this hotel by mistake a few years ago and decided to go back for our anniversary(not just because they have Gosset champagne)but because the service and staff our always very high quality.The food is always to a very high standard the sea bass with lobster sauce was fantastic.The room we had both times was a four poster with a beautifull veiw and clean with a lovely roll top bath.The creaking floor boards just add to the charater of this old coaching inn .The only trouble with it is if you would like to go out for a drink the nearest place is Grasmere is the nearest and a 10 minute drive but if like us you dont mind staying in for fantastic food and a drink it is ideal .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
174 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing