We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apathetic, disaffected staff. Noisy ventilator throughout the night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #81 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Miserable staff who did nothing to welcome us. Had to ask for the fire to be lit in the lounge. The rooms were cramped and room 6 was situated near a very noisy ventilator of some sort which made a loud noise every 15 minutes or so through the night. When mentioned to the receptionist the next day she was only mildly concerned. The meal was of mediocre quality (overcooked sea bass and also pork). Service at breakfast was slow. Very disappointed in the whole stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matilda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stopped here for lunch. The menu was an odd mixture so opted for the meal deal of 2 courses for £12. We chose fish and chips and a pudding. The fish still had it's skin on so I could only eat the top half of the fish so there was a lot of waste. The chips had been cooked in well used oil and that was all you got. If you wanted veg or salad you had to order extra. I did not realise this so the meal was also very bland, I would have expected at least a little bit of salad or at the very least some peas! The pudding was nice but the damage had already been done. Needless to say we will give this a miss next time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelineflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We really had a great time and enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After our walks around we sat in the lounge and were enjoying the beautiful fire which creates a cosy atmosphere in the whole hotel. For dinner we had a brilliant risotto, that was the best we had ever had. Thanks!!! We would love to came back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cioocela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel is in a very beautiful location and probably a dream for walker, fairly quiet despite being next to the road. The building is full of charm and character, however we felt the decor was in need of update. Some of the furniture and fittings have been well used and are showing their age. We stayed in a very small room above reception which was cramped with too much furniture. The floor sloped considerably and the ceiling is so low I found it extremely difficult to sleep being claustrophobic. The shower room was very small too; the shower itself had black mould over most of the sealant. The general cleanliness of the bedroom was not great. We were also disappointed that a similar menu was served in the three eating area, and the menu is less thank exiting. Having said that the breakfast as a good choice and was of good quality. All together the experience was underwhelming and not good value for money. I was expecting for more for £90 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isandygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I booked this hotel as a last minute getaway on a Friday evening for Sat & Sun. The person I spoke to on the phone was very helpful & offered me a discount on a double room for two nights at £150. When I came to pay the bill it was for £160.
Avoid Room 5 which I think was originally a large cupboard.
I couldn't stand up in the shower (complete with black mould) & the first time I turned the hot tap on it fell apart & couldn't be turned off. It was finally turned off by one of the staff using a kitchen knife but we subsequently had no hot water in the 'bathroom' for the duration of our stay.
Due to some seriously wonky floorboards at the top of the stairs we experienced the initially amusing effect of our bed bouncing up & down everytime somebody walked past the room.
The novelty soon wore off.
On the plus side the staff were helpful & friendly apart from the surly receptionist who smirked when I complained about the bouncing bed & offered no apology or compensation for our lack of sleep (or hot water). There seemed to be no-one in particular in charge, reception being manned by whoever was in earshot at the time.
I won't mention the bizarre style clash of the bar as it's already been extensively covered by other guests on this site....
We ordered chicken, chips & GRAVY in a basket from the bar menu, more out of curiosity than anything.
It was actually served in a bowl in a basket, which was a bit of a let down.
The lounge & restaurant were quite charming but it's a shame that a building of character has been spoiled by insensitive refurbishment.
All in all a bit of a let down, two nights were enough & despite the reduced rate we will not be returning.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank GlossopBaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Staff very helpfull and polite
We were in room 9,size was about average for this type of inn but shower room very small.
Room could do with a feather dustering around ceiling, and edges and corners of carpets need a good vac.
There are 3 eating areas,we chose the restaurant as it looked so inviting. My food ( a steak) was very good as was starter and sweet,my wife chose the lamb which was very tough, she said it was the worst lamb chop she had ever attempted to eat, i think that on this occassion she was just unlucky.
My wife and i try lots of different hotels on a fairly regular basis,2 weeks ago we stayed at the Knockinaam Lodge (in Churchills room, read about it) in South West Scotland.This is a Michellin Star job, very nice but at £320 per night DB&B not cheap, the Kings Head was £70 B&B , it is nowhere near as luxurious as Knockinaam, but keeping everything in perspective, i thought it was exellent value for money and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Kings Head - Thirlspot
We were going to camp for the weekend, but as the lakes like to throw at you the weather was a bit damp on the friday, so I got a last minute booking at the Kings Head. I was able to select which room and was pleased with it and we could take out dog. The bar area had been refurbished to a high standard, the food was excellent and served very quickly. The staff were outstanding and they seemed to work long shifts. The breakfast was just as good. The only downside was the residents lounge was very out of place, pinky coloured walls and old furniture and strange piped music in the resteraunt. We did camp on the second night but ate in the pub. The Beer garden is delightful and full of lovely flowers. We were able to have breakfast in the resteraunt on Sunday, which was good after a good nights sleep in our tent and it was reasonable at £7.95. We would definately return. Please note if you want to get the local Stagecoach 555 bus outside it is VERY expensive as we were going to use it to goto Grasmere (two stops) and they wanted £15.70 return!! Is this the most expensive journey in the country?? We refused to pay and took the car instead. No wonder the buses have hardly any locals or UK pepole on them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#18 of 22 in Keswick
491 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#21 of 22 in Keswick
200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing