We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greystoke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystoke House
Ranked #111 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

A comfy, cosy, convenient place to stop. We've been several times and will definitely go back. Breakfast is delicious, owners are pleasant and obliging. Many of the B and B's ask you to put your dog in the car during breakfast and frown upon you eating/drinking in your room - not greystoke! A much more 'home from home' experience. Worst thing is parking but that is common to all accomodation in the area! 10 out of 10 from us again, just what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    17
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
49
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Very clean and good size room but bathroom was a cupboard- the smallest I've ever seen. Also the mattress was very uncomfortable - one of those old, cheap ones that you might expect in a student's digs. It woke us up throughout the night sticking it's coils into us!

Location was great and we both really enjoyed the breakfast. I can understand a previous reviewer's comment about the strictness though- the people at the next table to us got told off for not selecting their eggs properly!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess_Jane_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was a return visit to Greystoke House for us. Really welcoming and enjoyable. Super breakfast. Dog friendly. Complimentary tea and coffee in the rooms along with biscuits for us and the dog! Corkscrew and wine glasses provided too. Thermos flasks filled free of charge. Keswick is a super place to stay. We will return!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here last year and came back for two nights with our dog recently. The price is excellent value for money, and we haven't found a more dog friendly place. Our dog was sick on the first night and Mark assisted us in getting her to the vets the next day and was very understanding about any mess the dog had made. I love the book in the room recommending dog friendly places to eat in town and the beds were very comfy- nice big pillows and a proper duvet! The shower was amazingly powerful and so refreshing. Our only little gripe was the wi fi code didn't work and the tv was too high up to watch comfortably. The stay was just as good if not better than last year and we will definetly return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was our second stay at Greystoke House and we really enjoyed it again. Its so close to the centre of Keswick and is very good value for money. The breakfasts are excellent. Thanks to Helen for finding my husband a phone charger, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights as part of a group of nine. Had no trouble finding the street but parking could be a problem seen as you are only a few minutes away from the lovely town centre of Keswick :).
The rooms were all lovely and cosy, well equipped with drink making facilities and everything else you would expect. The en suites were small but how much time do you spend in the bathroom? At the end of the day all you need is a lovely hot shower and that certainly wasnt a problem. Best showers :)). The beds were also big and comfortable.
Breakfast was lovely, well cooked and very hot. You had to choose what you wanted the night before so there was no hanging around in the morning. The service was excellent.
We would definitely stay here again, Derwent water is only a 10 minute walk away through the back footpaths and Seathwaite (start of Scafell walk only 25 min drive away).
The only thing that could have made the trip sour was that we arrived in two groups. I arrived in first group and we went for a walk and told the owner second group probably arriving in next hour. He said he was taking his dogs out for a 90 minute walk!! Fortunately we were back before they arrived and so let them in to store their bags in our room. Not really an issue as we got back from our walk just a little surprising.
All in all would recommend for a weekend away, lovely place, lovely quiet street.

Room Tip: Book early, double rooms 2 and 5 at front of house; 1 and 4 at the back; 3 and 6 single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamb_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in August with our dog, we were made to feel very welcome, the room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was great. What more could you ask for. . . .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GooleJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#69 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#71 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#87 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#89 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystoke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystoke House

Property: Greystoke House
Address: 9 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a non-smoking, dog friendly Bed & Breakfast, situated in a quiet location within walking distance of Keswick town centre. Greystoke House is ideally located to visit a variety of local attractions including the Theatre by the Lake, Keswick museum and The Cars of the Stars, and provides the perfect base for walking and exploring this beautiful area of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greystoke House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing