We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, friendly and tranquil place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenbank Country House
Ranked #133 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A beautiful, friendly and tranquil place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

What an brilliant place! Me and my girlfriend just wanted somewhere relaxing to escape and what a brilliant find! An excellent place, with great food; brilliant, helpful and friendly service, rooms with an absolutely stunning view. We would love to stay again! We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgmtnluk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We are just back from a weekend at Greenbank, we had room 2 which I think was the best as the room was dual aspect views over the garden and the lake. Lovely large and bright comfortable rooms. A warm welcome from Janet, and a welcome tray of tea and biscuits, great breakfast, really good quality food, we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 over looking the front and side garden... great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we recently had a weekend visit to Greenbank and even though the weather was'nt up to much, the Greenbank was. lovely comfortable rooms and excellent service as usual. many thanks to Janet for her warm and courteous welcome which made us feel really at ease. only wish we could have stayed longer. a special thank you to Sophie (8 yrs old) for her impromtu dancing class at breakfast and for inviting us to her school fete on Sunday.
Greenbank offers homely accomodation and excellent breakfast, great rooms and the "Honesty" bar was something i'd never come across before.
the place is ideally situated in the middle of Borrowdale, with good connections to Keswick via a frequent bus service and even though they don't do evening meals, we still had a great time as it gave us chance to visit a few of our fave haunts in Keswick.
this is one hotel i've stayed at before and will definitely use again.
thank you Janet and thank you Sophie, can't wait to see you again.

Room Tip: room one has views up and across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gooderham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a terrific time and once we arrived the area was just breath taking. The host had a fire lit in the lounge and tea was served upon our arrival (it was tea time, you know). The rooms were good and the house was a beautiful Victorian style place. You could walk to the neighbouring hotel for dinner and the breakfast was terrific. The drive there was spectacular and though the narrow roads gave us a bit of a challenge, it was worth it. Now that we know of this little gem, we will look at doing some walking on the neighbouring hills the next time we visit. We will be recommending this one to our family and friends should they come to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2havefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I can only echo the previous two reviews; it's one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at! We couldn't fault it, everything was just right. Furthermore, the location is excellent as all the usual attractions of the Lake District are an easy drive. It's also very quiet, being set back some ay from the road. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tregarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My friend and I decided to enjoy the long weekend in August by going to the Lake District for a few days. Its a longer drive than we anticipted from London (6 hours), but well worth the visit. The scenery from the B&B is spectacular with rolling paddocks, nestled in between the surrounding mountains.

I'm really glad we booked this B&B as they were so nice to us. They stayed up later on the Friday in anticipation of us arriving and when we realised we were going to be later in than expected, they left a key out for us. Breakfast was a comprehensive English style with eggs, bacon, toast, beans etc - neither us were able to eat it all, so great for those hungry walkers. We walked down the lane to a local hotel for some drinks and food in the evening.

The room was in the house and so had the high ceilings and windows out to the lakeside. Everything was clean and tidy. The bathroom was all fine. I found it unusual shower and you had to hold the showerhead while you were in the bath.

Neither of us were strong walkers but we gave it a go on one of the local walks. There are quite a few close by and you can choose to do mountains or lakeside.

We had a car so were able to drive easily to windermere to have a look - we were very glad not to stay near there as it was absolutely packed with tourists etc. Keswick was our closest town and had lots of local things to check out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancastrian
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I have just spent 4 brilliant days (not including the weather !) at Greenbank. Janet ~ the owner ~ & her family made me so welcome ( a pot of tea & biscuits as soon as I arrived ) The house is situated in stunning gardens & woodland. Being away from the road makes it very peaceful, so nice to hear the owls calling to each other every night. The views from the windows of Catbells & Maiden Moor were breathtaking. All the rooms....from the delightful lounges with their log fires, the elegant dining room to the spacious bedrooms, were extremely comfortable. A lovely, lovely house ! The breakfasts were scrumptious...fresh fruit of all descriptions, all flavours of yoghurt, cereals, orange juice, fresh coffee, bacon, eggs, mushroom, tomatoes, sausage & beans !!!! Lots of walking needed after that. I didn't use my car as Greenbank is situated in a good position for fell walks or river-side walks & just a 20 min. bus ride to Keswick. Plenty of near-by places to eat in the evening ~ try 'Mary Mount' for an excellent meal. I have stayed here before with family but felt just as comfortable being alone as everyone was so friendly & helpful. A delight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
397 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
972 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glaramara
Glaramara
#1 of 3 in Seatoller
174 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank Country House

Property: Greenbank Country House
Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbank Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenbank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Country House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing