We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenbank Country House
Ranked #143 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked a last minute visit over the weekend, travelling with friends. We arrived quite late (well after 8pm), but this didn't seem to be an issue.

Our room was lovely and warm (Room 2) and quiet!! Plenty of hot water for a bath and very comfortable bed. Huge windows that open for fresh air and lovely views. Breakfast was relaxed and the service from our lovely young waitress (the owner's daughter) was excellent. Aside from the fact that she was adorable, she was also quick, polite and unobtrusive. Food was great and the fresh berries a stand-out.

My only issue? The rooms were very bright without black-out curtains. For 99% of people looking to stay here, however, this won't be a problem. It's only that I was jet-lagged and wide awake at 4am!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blw_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Greenbank Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

We have just come back from a 3 day break at Greenbanks and like all other 5 star reviewers my husband and I cannot praise this place highly enough. From the lovely, warm welcome on our arrival to the stunning views from our bedroom (Room 2) our 2 day stay here could not be better. We have been coming to Borrowdale for, in my case 15 years and in my husband's case over 20 years. We previously stayed in a hotel but found that the standards there had fallen considerably whilst their prices had risen. We booked Greenbanks and we will be going there in the future as it is such a great place and incredible value for money. I look forward to staying at Janet's lovely house again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My sister rented this house for a long weekend at the beginning of December to celebrate her birthday. It was fabulous. Views of snow capped mountains and Derwent Water (depending on your room), beautiful, would love to wake up to that view everyday. The house itself is lovely. I was in room 10 (downstairs) huge and most comfortable bed (so comfortable i took a photo of the matress label so i can try and get one at home). Only slight complaint is that the shower over tha bath is hand held, so you have to sit in the bath to shower, would only take a longer hose, a hook on the wall and a curtain and it would be perfect however it didnt spoil anything for me, it was still a lovely hot and pwerful shower.
We cooked in the large and well equipped kitchen and didnt eat out although there is the hotel a short walk away if you dont want to cook and plenty of restaurants and take aways in Keswick.
Many a fabulous walk on the doorstep or of course you can drive out to many more walks.
The house is suprisingly warm for its large size with high ceilings and the open fires in the two lounges added to the coziness. The dining room is huge and we had no trouble seating 16 (i think) of us.

I didnt personally meet the owner but im told she was very friendly and helpful.

if you cant live without wifi or mobile signal you might be lost, no wifi and only a minor signal if you used your phone in the upstairs bedroom at the front. But when you go into Keswick plenty of signal.

Id would love to go again and cant recommend Greenbank enough

Room Tip: Upstairs front for the best view i think
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear22c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have just returned home after staying five nights at the Greenbank hotel. We were met at the door by Janet, who immediately offered us coffee and biscuits in one of the two lounges, which had a real log fire,TV, books and a folder full of ideas of where to eat for your evening meal. Janet is so knowledgeable about the area and offered no end of advice on were to eat and walk,(In our case take photo's). When we were taken to our room, she must take so much pleasure in watching the reaction of the visitors when they see the view for the first time. The bedroom was perfect, wonderfully decorated, spotlessly clean with every thing we could possibly need. The bed was so comfy and with the added bonus of a bath with a hand held shower for your hair, just what you need after a days walking. The breakfast is served in the most beautiful dinning room I seen in a long time, plenty of choice in cereal,yogurt, fresh fruit and fruit juice, the cooked breakfast is bacon,egg,sausage,mushrooms and tomatoes with as much toast as you want,Wonderful! With walks literally from the doorstep, most pubs and hotels serving good quality food for your evening meal and Keswick just ten minuets away if you really need to shop!!! This hotel is just perfect. Janet, you should be very proud of yourself for owning and running such a wonderful place, it's a credit to you. See you next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 with views over the lake on one side and the mountains on the other, which ever...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollythe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned after spending a night here. I was so peaceful being surrounded by mountains. The room was very clean and the lady who owns it was very friendly. The guest house doesn't have a restaurant, so we ate at the Borrowdale Hotel, which was on the main road just next to the entrance to Greenbank. If you want to get away and don't want anybody to find you.. go here. We couldn't get a phone signal, which was all the better. We will definately go back again. So glad we found this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

having stayed here before we knew that this would be a perfect place to stay if we could get a booking at short notice as we had only decided to travel that day and just hoped to find somewhere nice to stay,and so we where delighted to find they had a vacancy for the night.as before we were greeted by freindly owner and a nice proper cup of tea and biscuits.room was really nice with great views.would definately recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

What an brilliant place! Me and my girlfriend just wanted somewhere relaxing to escape and what a brilliant find! An excellent place, with great food; brilliant, helpful and friendly service, rooms with an absolutely stunning view. We would love to stay again! We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgmtnluk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
3.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
989 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank Country House

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbank Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenbank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Country House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing