We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, nice room and we liked that we could choose NOT to pay for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenbank Country House
Ranked #146 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Greenbank is one of the few B&B guest houses that provides a Room Only rate. We took this option and had simple cheap breakfast elsewhere.
The room was large, well appointed and very comfortable. The guest house is in a gorgeous location outside town overlooking Borrowdale valley. We loved it. The lounge areas are spacious and our host Janet had lots of great hike recommendations. In fact we borrowed a walking book and did about 4 of the local walks.
One star off due to the ensuite bathroom - which has a good bath with a handshower - but with carpeted floors, and no shower screen or protection the carpet got wet every time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a very good B&B in a superb and beautiful location, perfectly positioned for walks around the Keswick and Derwent water areas. We stayed in room 2 which has great views of Derwent Water and the surrounding hills. The room was well appointed and comfortable. We received a warm and friendly welcome and the service throughout our stay was very good. The breakfast was excellent - best I have had for a long time. Would highly recommend and will definitely return

Room Tip: Go for room 2 - slightly larger and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a good B&B. It didn't stick out as exceptional but it had very nice views and polite staff. Our room (number 8) had a bathroom with shower even though when we booked the room we were told it wasn't ensuite. Our Tariff was 110 pounds for a double bed for both fri and sat night. We booked this B&B because it was cheaper than many in the area. It was a very good location for us to walk in Buttermere and the surrounding area. We liked that the B&B was in a smaller town outside of Keswick, so it had the peaceful country feel instead of the bustling feel of Keswick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We chose this because of the location to Keswick. It's about 7 minutes away by car. Beautiful location, views wonderful, great walks on the doorstep. We received a warm and accommodating welcome. The room was spotless, bed comfortable, breakfast tasty and plentiful. Free internet. No mobile signal but that suited us great. There is a payphone though. Our room was cleaned, tidied and replenished every day. We even extended our stay because it was so good. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rickydoodah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a good B&B in a lovely location. Well located for walking around the Lake District, especially Derwent Water. This B&B offers a cheaper alternative to some of the more expensive hotels in the area. The service is good, friendly and breakfast is tasty. My only complain is that our shower was a bit poor - not very good pressure and really short. Ideally you'd need a car to get to the B&B. Best to book somewhere for dinner in nearby Keswick (about 7 minutes by car), as most places stop serving food about 8pm. Alternatively the Borrowdale hotel 5 minute walk away does do bar food. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rf80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I spent one evening here, on a business trip. The room was rather small, and modest, but everything was clean, and worked perfectly.
The decor throughout the guest house was cosy and warm.
The breakfast was one of the best I have had; lovingly prepared by the slightly eccentric but extremely friendly, and very welcoming landlady.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon-Sorted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing six nights at Greenbank. We had wall to wall (or should that be mountain to mountain) sunshine which showed Derwent Water and the garden to stunning effect. The house itself is lovely and with two lounges available plus a separate dining room, the communal areas were more spacious than some hotels I've stayed in.

We had a sizeable room with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was good. The cooked breakfast was tasty and we liked the availablity of the fresh fruit and yogurt.

The reason for our trip was to spend time with some of our family who had rented the self-catering apartment. This too was well appointed and would offer a more flexible option to those who may find the 8.30-9.00 breakfast time in the B & B somewhat restrictive (especially if you were in need of lie-ins).

Just two slight niggles (which weren't enough for me not to rate Greenbank as excellent). The first is that the toiletries are slightly lacking. For example there was no shampoo or conditioner. Some may say that this isn't expected in a B & B but I think increasingly it is so.

The second was that the TV in the room was quite small and we found it difficult to work the digibox to get any programmes. Again some may say "what are you doing watching television with all that natural beauty outside?" but my husband likes tennis and wanted to watch the French Open in our room. This proved impossible because when he did manage to find the correct channel the screen was too small to see adequately.

We really enjoyed our stay and Janet was a perfect hostess from our perspective; friendly, helpful but not too intrusive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmemBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank Country House

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbank Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenbank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Country House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing