We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay - home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunsford Guest House
Ranked #46 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

on arriving at the Dunsford, Deb gave us coffee and biscuits in the dining room, which is a lovely touch and kept us going until our meal in the evening. The whole place was immaculate and smelt lovely! There were fresh flowers throughout and little sweets and fresh fruit in the room. (This came in handy when we went walking!). The breakfast was superb and set us up well for a day of walking. Thanks Deb for making us feel so welcome, we will definately return. I have no hesitation in recommending the guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was our 3rd visit and yet again we were made to feel welcome from the minute the text arrived 3hrs before our arrival, wishing us a safe journey.
We were treated to coffee and cakes on arrival before retiring to our newly refurbished room.
Breakfast was wonderful and if you're looking for a comfortable relaxing place to stay close to all the amenities of Keswick and the surrounding Lake District, the Dunsford cannot be beaten!
Thanks again to Deb and Keith.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at the Dunsford Guest House in Keswick on Easter Sunday as a stop over before travelling down to Liverpool to celebrate my birthday in full Beetles style.

We had never visited the Lake District before and were glad we chose the Dunsford. On arrival we drove up a very busy street and thought that we would never get parked anywhere near the place (we had forgotten that it does state that there is parking at the rear), when driving back down we were approached by a gentleman (found out it was Ken), he directed us to the parking bays and told us that he would see us in the house.

When we arrived at the house we were met by Deb who showed us to our immaculate room at the top of the house. The room, although a bit small, was tastefully furnished and had everything required for a good overnight stay. The welcome tray was overflowing with cookies and biscuits; there was also a small basket of chocolate Easter Eggs and bottled mineral water which had been tastefully chosen from the Highlands in Scotland. 

Breakfast was an absolute treat, I would go as far to say that it was the best breakfast I have ever had in either a hotel or guest house. Nothing was too much trouble and even although it seemed that all the guests had arrived for breakfast at the same time, there was no waiting time at all. Everything was freshly cooked to our taste and coffee and toast plentiful.

When we checked out Deb and Ken both wished us a lovely trip to Liverpool and presented me with a birthday card and small gift. What a pair.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK – YOUR HOME FROM HOME GUEST HOUSE IS THE BEST

Room Tip: Wished we had asked for the room with the Bay Window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenahonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you want a place that is clean, comfortable, friendly, great food, excellent location and amazing value, look no further as you will not find better.
Deb and Keith are charming and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We have stayed a few times now and will only go back this this B&B.
I can't think of anything else you could ask for, as it is right next to the town, yet on a quite street and has private parking.
The only think that will dissappoint you is the day you have to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great location for the bus station and places to eat. Deb was brilliant she made us so welcome. We stayed in Grasmere room. It is a lovely room with fantastic light, somewhere you can just relax and forget about the outside world. Breakfasts were great and lots of fresh fruit. The area is great for walking and a good bus service for the area. We are already planning our next visit! Gill and Adrian Dance

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dance2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I booked to stay here for 2 nights in march for my husbands birthday. We we were having such a good time we decided to stay for an extra night! The place was immaculate and Deb couldn't do enough for you. It is in an excellent location and we would highly recommend to anyone. Deb even sorted a birthday card and a couple of bottles for my husbands birthday. Such a nice gesture. We will definitely be back! Thank you .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We went to Dunsford for my birthday and had a great time, the B&B is really well placed for pubs and restaurants which is ideal after a day walking. Deb and Keith were lovely and Deb was happy to recommend restaurants and book them for us if required and the room was comfortable and quiet. Full sized kettles too which was good for flasks although Deb was more than happy to fill these for us. Breakfast was very good, lovely selection of fruit and excellent veggie choices. We had such a great time we have already booked to go back in April.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaPStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Beckside Guesthouse
Beckside Guesthouse
#49 of 189 in Keswick
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
658 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsford Guest House

Address: 16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £73 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Dunsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsford Guest House Hotel Keswick
Dunsford Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing