We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay-- perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunsford Guest House
Ranked #40 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Even though we were only staying one night in Keswick, Deb and Keith made us feel extremely welcomed. We arrived earlier than they expected and they had just stepped out--but their wonderful daughter, Charlotte, checked us in, showed us our room and gave us directions and recommendations of where to eat and what to see on our short stay in Keswick.
Our room was very nice with a queen size bed, desk, chair, TV and sink basin in room. Toilet, small shower stall and room were all very clean.
The location is ideal-- on a charming quiet side street, but close to everything. Flower pots and benches in the front. Easy parking in the back.
Wonderful breakfast room with a good English fry and amazing fruit and granola for breakfast.
When we return to the Lakes district, we would definitely stay here again-- thank you Deb, Keith and Charlotte for welcoming us so gracefully.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night 15th July while walking the Cumbria Way. Deb couldn't have been more kind and welcoming. She'd thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable.
It was ideally situated too just a short walk from the centre of Keswick. The breakfast was excellent, every type of fresh fruit to try and the full English breakfast cooked to perfection. We just wished we'd booked in for longer and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just got home after a fantastic 3 nights at the Dunsford Guest House. Can honestly say that everything was perfect! The house is ideally situated in the centre of Keswick, yet located in a quiet street. Deb and Keith are perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was as good as any 5-star hotel I've stayed in and the room was excellent with all the personal touches you could ever need. All in all, an amazing home from home and it was a shame to have to leave as we felt like friends of the family, rather than guests! Thanks for everything Deb and Keith, we'll be back very soon x

Room Tip: Any as all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights. On our arrival we were greeted by Deb, who couldn't have been more helpful. Even though we were early the room was ready and Deb took us up. The room was immaculate and well furnished. The location is ideal, near to the town centre, with off street parking at the rear. The breakfast was first class, with a vast array of cereals, fruit, juices and yoghurt, followed by a fine full English. We will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed with friends on a short walking break. We checked in after completing a fairly hard walk. Debbie was most welcoming and friendly, and gave us much needed pots of tea and cakes in the dining room. Our room (Grasmere) was immaculate, large, comfortable and well furnished. Dunsford has the advantage of having its own parking, which can be a real problem in Keswick. Although it is so central, it's in a very quiet street. Our room was in the front, we slept with the windows open, and we weren't disturbed by any noise at all. The breakfasts were excellent, with a great choice of fresh fruits and yogurt for anyone who prefers something lighter. If you're thinking of staying in Keswick, don't look any further. The Dunsford will give you everything you want to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Grasmere is a large room, with two tub chairs and a coffee table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Yes, the hosts were friendly, as everyone mentions. But that's not enough. Charming town, stunning lake and peaks, so well located, on a street with other B&Bs. Rick Steve's recommends this one. What I have issue with is the breakfast. Runny, milky eggs. The usual beans out a can are usual here--so what? The sausage was clearly not local, but a replica of others we had, as was the hash browns, shaped the same everywhere else, out of a frezzer box. The brown button mushrooms were unspectacular. Only the fruit was nice-- peeled grapefruit and mixed berries (frozen, but fine in this case). All I can say about this place is one word: ordinary. This is compared to the half dozen other B&Bs we stayed in around England on our three week trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbencleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb-dunsford, Owner at Dunsford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

We are surprised to receive a review from you for the following reasons.
You state that you stayed July 2012, having checked our records we have to recollection that you stayed at that time. Also the pictures that you attached are out of date, we took over Dunsford are out of date, we took over Dunsford on the 1st October 2010 at which time we immediately removed the toilet pedestal mats from the bathroom as well as the kitchen roll and holders from the dressing tables. We also removed the teddy bears from the bedrooms as we felt they were not hygienic (this can still be seen lying on the pillows on one of your photos). Furthermore, our presentation of breakfast certainly differs from your picture. The sausage shown is not of the type we use, ours are made locally not out of a packet. Also the crockery is not the pattern used by us. The picture of the front of the house shows a dark wooden bench – this was taken away by the previous owners when they moved out. Additionally the picture of the car park at the rear of the house quite clearly shows a yellow Fiat – which was owned by the previous owners.

In short we feel that if you stayed in July it was in 2010 and not in 2012 as you have stated. We felt that we needed to reply to this review as we found it so upsetting. Deb and I work so hard to maintain our own high standards as echoed in previous reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Myself and my husband stayed one night at dunsford guest house. The first thing I noticed was the lovely smell as we arrived through the door. Debbie was very warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. She showed us to our room and asked if we would like tea or coffee or help with any directions to restaurants etc. Debbie made us more than welcome and made us feel at home. We mentioned to Debbie we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary. Arriving back at our room Debbie and Keith had left us a anniversary card, a bottle of wine, and bottle of beer. We were very touched by their generosity and thoughtfulness. A nice touch which was greatly appreciated. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding with a great choice of fresh fruit. Overall, we would highly recommend dunsford guest house. Me and my husband have made a pact to visit Keswick every year for our anniversary! And we will be visiting Debbie and Keith again for sure. If only every b&b had lovely owners like Debbie and Keith.

Mr and Mrs Southam xx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccaellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Beckside Guesthouse
Beckside Guesthouse
#50 of 189 in Keswick
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
414 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsford Guest House

Address: 16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £74 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsford Guest House Hotel Keswick
Dunsford Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing