We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunsford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunsford Guest House
Ranked #37 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

During a difficult time for our family we decided to get away for a few days and travel to the lakes, we used Keswick as our base and traveled around from there, we stayed at this guest house after reading the reviews in this site and we are delighted we did! The hosts are amazing people who are only too happy to help, nothing was too much trouble, the room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious, the high standards at this guest house are noticeable as soon as you walk through the door, we will definatly be staying here again and again, thank you Deb and Keith for your kindness during this difficult period and we hope your guest house is a big success for your family. Hopefully see you soon Steve & Ange

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
121
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

As with most things, it's not the facilities that make the B&B, it's the hosts. Deb, Keith, and their daughter Charlotte were wonderfully friendly. Deb gave me perfect local shortcuts to get up Latrigg Fell (despite the blowing rain) and we chatted quite a bit about Keswick in general. Just wonderfully friendly people. Dunsford House is perfectly located (with a small car park around back!) just 2 minutes' walk from the Moot Hall and the heart of Keswick. When we go back, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tri-Cities, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Even though we were only staying one night in Keswick, Deb and Keith made us feel extremely welcomed. We arrived earlier than they expected and they had just stepped out--but their wonderful daughter, Charlotte, checked us in, showed us our room and gave us directions and recommendations of where to eat and what to see on our short stay in Keswick.
Our room was very nice with a queen size bed, desk, chair, TV and sink basin in room. Toilet, small shower stall and room were all very clean.
The location is ideal-- on a charming quiet side street, but close to everything. Flower pots and benches in the front. Easy parking in the back.
Wonderful breakfast room with a good English fry and amazing fruit and granola for breakfast.
When we return to the Lakes district, we would definitely stay here again-- thank you Deb, Keith and Charlotte for welcoming us so gracefully.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 23louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night 15th July while walking the Cumbria Way. Deb couldn't have been more kind and welcoming. She'd thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable.
It was ideally situated too just a short walk from the centre of Keswick. The breakfast was excellent, every type of fresh fruit to try and the full English breakfast cooked to perfection. We just wished we'd booked in for longer and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just got home after a fantastic 3 nights at the Dunsford Guest House. Can honestly say that everything was perfect! The house is ideally situated in the centre of Keswick, yet located in a quiet street. Deb and Keith are perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was as good as any 5-star hotel I've stayed in and the room was excellent with all the personal touches you could ever need. All in all, an amazing home from home and it was a shame to have to leave as we felt like friends of the family, rather than guests! Thanks for everything Deb and Keith, we'll be back very soon x

Room Tip: Any as all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights. On our arrival we were greeted by Deb, who couldn't have been more helpful. Even though we were early the room was ready and Deb took us up. The room was immaculate and well furnished. The location is ideal, near to the town centre, with off street parking at the rear. The breakfast was first class, with a vast array of cereals, fruit, juices and yoghurt, followed by a fine full English. We will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed with friends on a short walking break. We checked in after completing a fairly hard walk. Debbie was most welcoming and friendly, and gave us much needed pots of tea and cakes in the dining room. Our room (Grasmere) was immaculate, large, comfortable and well furnished. Dunsford has the advantage of having its own parking, which can be a real problem in Keswick. Although it is so central, it's in a very quiet street. Our room was in the front, we slept with the windows open, and we weren't disturbed by any noise at all. The breakfasts were excellent, with a great choice of fresh fruits and yogurt for anyone who prefers something lighter. If you're thinking of staying in Keswick, don't look any further. The Dunsford will give you everything you want to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Grasmere is a large room, with two tub chairs and a coffee table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Beckside Guesthouse
Beckside Guesthouse
#44 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#86 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#41 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#107 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsford Guest House

Property: Dunsford Guest House
Address: 16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Dunsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsford Guest House Hotel Keswick
Dunsford Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing