We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunsford Guest House
Ranked #39 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So welcoming!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Deb and Keith run a wonderful B&B. Deb prepared tea for us upon our arrival and gave us advice about hikes and bus service to other areas of the Lake District. Breakfast was delicious, freshly prepared to our liking. Deb apologized about our small room, but no matter. It was clean and pretty, and was no less than we needed. Stanger Street is very convenient to shopping, bus service, restaurants, and hiking. No need to stay anywhere else! Cindy D.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
131
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Dunsford guest house,all I can say it was a pleasure from start to finish.The owners Deb and Keith are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

We requested a certain room which we were given and it was excellent very clean, Deb also made us coffee with a piece of cake which we thought was a really nice touch thanks.

Breakfast is between 8:30 - 9:00 but I think if you wanted an earlier one it could be arranged.
The breakfast was one of the best breakfast's that we have had,also there is a great selection of fruit and cereals.

If you are after a very clean guest house,ideally situated within walking distance of the town centre and where nothing is too much trouble from the owners,then you will not go wrong at the Dunsford.

Once again thank you for a very enjoyable stay this weekend Rick + Denise x

Room Tip: Grasmere is a nice room on the front elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was all good. The whole B&B was clean, warm and welcoming. We only met Deb (one of the owners) but she was totally helpful and it was a joy to stay here.

Breakfast was excellent, just what was needed in advance of a days walking. Well done Deb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our 4th visit in 3 years at Dunsford and we thought it was about time we wrote a review although we really wanted to keep it a secret ! Debbie and Keith are fantastic hosts and cannot do enough for their guests. The rooms are comfortable and scrupulously clean and full of little treats, you will find little bowls of sweets and biscuits, fruit and water in the room. The breakfasts are superb with the usual choices available, the quality and standard of food is exceptional.
A stay here offers a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vilnuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a lovely Bed and Breakfast, close to shops and restaurants. The people really look after you and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is really nice.
The rooms are very clean and beds very comfortable.
We stay here every time we go to Keswick if its available.
I would definately recommend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This B&B has received fabulous reviews and from our experience I think it's because the owners go to great lengths to ensure their guests receive that little bit extra then they would elsewhere. Four of us stayed just one night but the wonderful experience will stay with us for a long time. We were given a warm welcome by Debbie and the first thing that struck me was her friendliness followed by the clean and fresh smelling rooms. We were given drinks, cake and biscuits on arrival and encouraged to sit and relax after our long drive to Keswick - where else would you get that!! The en-suite bedrooms have more little treats then you expect to receive and the breakfasts are freshly cooked and quality ingredients used.
It really is a little gem perfectly situated near the high street for shops and also near picturesque farmland and country pubs.
Thanks for a lovely stay and for our birthday presents Debbie, my brother and I enjoyed our chocolate treats on our way to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheelawheelaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

During a difficult time for our family we decided to get away for a few days and travel to the lakes, we used Keswick as our base and traveled around from there, we stayed at this guest house after reading the reviews in this site and we are delighted we did! The hosts are amazing people who are only too happy to help, nothing was too much trouble, the room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious, the high standards at this guest house are noticeable as soon as you walk through the door, we will definatly be staying here again and again, thank you Deb and Keith for your kindness during this difficult period and we hope your guest house is a big success for your family. Hopefully see you soon Steve & Ange

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#40 of 173 in Keswick
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#49 of 173 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#42 of 173 in Keswick
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#74 of 173 in Keswick
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#140 of 173 in Keswick
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsford Guest House

Property: Dunsford Guest House
Address: 16 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsford Guest House Hotel Keswick
Dunsford Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing