We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarn Hows Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
125
34
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
34
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreb bparking round the backprivate parkingfull englishoff road parkingwelcoming ownerswithin easy walking distancenew ownersexcellent breakfastquality beddinglovely guesthousequiet locationwarm welcomewalking weekendbase to explorenight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for one night for my wife's birthday We really enjoyed are stay as the room and owners really made us comfortable, a great breakfast was had the n a short walk into town.
We will be booking again soon for a full weekend.

Paul and Deborah

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Found this lovely guest house by accident. What a find. Jan was so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms though small were excellent and very clean. It was comfortable, near to the town and restaurants and gave us everthing we wanted. The breakfast was really good. I would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Having not visited Tarn Hows since the days of Gill and Trevor, we were delighted to find that Janet and Graham have maintained the very high standards set. They were very friendly and helpful, and provided an excellent breakfast! We'll continue to use and recommend Tarn Hows to any family and friends visiting Keswick.

Room Tip: All rooms are well furnished and spotless. A couple of rooms have private , detached bathrooms, so don't forget to book ensuite if it is important to you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked this stay at relatively short notice and were pleased that we could be accomodated for one night rather than the seemingly obligatory minimum two nights at weekend as demanded by other establishments. The Tarn Hows is well placed being only a short walk from the town centre and having the bonus of off road parking.

On arrival we were made very welcome and shown to our room upstairs at the front of the house. It was wall designed,equipped and very comfortable.

To summarise the big plus points about the Tarn Howes..

1)Very welcoming hosts
2)Comfortable rooms
3)Very high standard of housekeeping and cleanliness
4)Great location
5)Off street parking
6) A strong contender for no 1 spot for best breakfast I have ever had !

The breakfast dining room was beautifully prepared with great attnetion to detail.

Other points to not are that free wifi is available and there is a guest computer in reception if you havent brought a suitable device.

Rather than using booking agencies,its perfectly possible to ring and book direct.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ring and book direct
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Janet and Graham gave us a warm welcome. Very clean. Breakfasts really good and plenty of it. Recommend to anyone. The views are excellent from the bedrooms. Toiletries, towlels, tea and coffee are allavailable in your rooms. The flat screen the are ace. Must sample the local beers and sports bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews