We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault any part of our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarn Hows Guest House
Ranked #78 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this B&B very last minute, seizing the chance for a two day get away mid January. Normally we like to stay 2 nights but work commitments prohibited this. I am aware that most guest houses prefer not to commit to one night too advance of a weekend stay and I respect this as they may lose out on guests who wish to stay for two nights. As it was last minute and off peak season they were happy to accommodate us. Graham and Janet introduced themselves and seemed very friendly and accommodating. As our room was already available we were allowed to check in at 12 noon and had a choice of rooms. We found the room very clean, fresh and pleasantly decorated. The en-suite toilet and shower were adequate for our needs. The bed was most comfortable and very welcoming after a long day up the mountain. We had a great night sleep and found the guest house very quiet and adequately heated when waking up. Breakfast is served in a window between 8 and 9:30, however they can make exception for early risers. It consisted of a full English with good quality Cumberland sausage, hash browns and bacon without any fat. Vegetarian full English looked just as good and there are also lighter choices on offer. The guest house is situated only 7 to 10 minutes walk from the clock tower in the town centre where there a a whole host of pubs and bars. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We had Room 3 overlooking the front street on the 1st floor. Very spacious and a nice big bay windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

nothing was to much trouble, we had a 2 night stay to bring in the new year, our room was excellent, right at the front , breakfast was fab setting us up for the day. nothing was to much trouble, and a bonus having private parking, would def stay again excellent location.
FANTASTIC NEW YEAR WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE

Room Tip: room at the front has a fantastic big window so good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed on the 4 Jan 2014, my first time to Keswick, must say I picked a dam good place to stay. The location only a 5 minute walk to the town centre some great places to eat and drink. I stayed 3 nights and the owners were lovely, certainly know how to make you feel welcome. Rooms were nice, everywhere was really clean and the breakfast well you be a fool to miss it trust me. The only bad thing is really I only went for 3 nights. I can see why they have regular guests that come back, ill be one of them.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviddev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent one night here and could not ask for a better stay. We were welcomed with a very friendly greeting. The owners (whos names I cannot remember) could not do more to help throughout our short stay. Excellent breakfast with a good selection. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a cosy, friendly B&B in the centre of Keswick.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theno1dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed only one night but our room, while rather small was very clean(including ensuite) and breakfast was simply yummy with a very good variety.
The owners were friendly and very professional and they have a wonderful welcoming home.
Tarn Hows is very close to town and has a carpark area outback. It was so easy to take a stroll into town and also down to the river. Keswick is a gorgeous place to visit and this B & B is in a spoton position.
We recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a great B&B, less than 5 minutes walk into town with private parking and award winning breakfast's - seriously the full English is the best I've had. Inside the the owners are very nice genuine people and only too happy to help. Inside the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented en-suite rooms. Almost reluctant to write a good review in case it gets too popular and we can't get in, enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed one night at the Tarn Hows recently as part of a road trip. Couldn't fault the place at all. Perfect located, very well decorated throughout and spotlessly maintained. A large choice was available from the to-order breakfast menu, with plenty of well cooked options as well as lighter choices. The owners should be very proud of a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.9 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#67 of 189 in Keswick
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
#4 of 6 in Braithwaite
288 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn Hows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn Hows Guest House

Address: 3-5 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £82 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn Hows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarn Hows is a traditional Victorian residence situated in a quiet location only a few minutes walk from the town centre, lake and all amenities. Keswick is the perfect base for your Lake District stay, and if you enjoy freshly- cooked local produce, comfortable, stylish and elegant accommodation with excellent service and hospitality, then Tarn Hows Guest House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tarn Hows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarn Hows Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing